Subject and Course Guides: Theatre Arts: Find Resources

Background Information

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks (formerly named Gale Virtual Library or GVRL) provides a wealth of full-text reference and general subject books in a wide variety of subjects.
Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.
Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Full text access to titles from Oxford University Press. The collection includes subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference works in more than twenty subject areas. NOTE: Only 1 simultaneous user allowed.
Oxford Reference Online Premium brings together over 175 titles in the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. All of the reference titles can be searched at once. More than twenty subject areas are covered.

NOTE: Only 1 simultaneous user allowed.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
Artemis Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Artemis Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information.
You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary index covering more than 1,470 arts and humanities journals.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), accessed through Web of Science (Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge), contains bibliographic information and citations from more than 1,470 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as individually selected, relevant items from more than 6,800 major science and social science journals. The database includes indexing of original research articles, reviews, editorials, chronologies, and abstracts, as well as references to poems, short stories, plays, music scores, book excerpts, bibliographies, filmographies, and performances. Disciplines covered include: archaeology; architecture; art; Asian studies; classics; dance; folklore; history; language; linguistics; literary reviews; literature; music; philosophy; poetry; radio, television, and film; religion; and theater. Updated regularly.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to CUP journals to which the UTA Libraries subscribe
Dramatics This link opens in a new window
Dramatics magazine is geared towards high school theatre students and teachers, featuring new plays; practical articles on acting, directing, design, production, and other facets of theatre; and career-oriented profiles of working theatre professionals.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full-text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers. Additional titles are added to the collection as back files are digitized. Subject areas include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Folklore, History, History of Science Technology, Language Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Public Policy Administration, Science, Slavic Studies, Sociology, Statistics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The essential database for identifying scholarly and critical studies of literature and folklore around the world and from all time periods. It includes related fields, such as linguistics, film, and popular culture.
Provides access to citations from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts in addition to the historical aspects of printing and publishing. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from JSTOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
North American Indian Drama: Second Edition This link opens in a new window
North American Indian Drama contains 244 plays by 48 playwrights representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. Together, the plays demonstrate Native theater’s diversity of tribal traditions and approaches to drama—melding conventional dramatic form with ancient storytelling and ritual performance elements, experimenting with traditional ideas of time and narrative, or challenging Western dramatic structure.

ARTbibliographies Modern (1974 - Current) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of literature related to modern and contemporary art, photography, and design, including journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, and dissertations.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) is a specialist bibliography dedicated to the study of modern and contemporary art, photography, and design. It provides indexing and abstracts of literature published from the late 1960's to the present, including journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. ABM covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry and illustration, and ethnic art, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. Updated regularly.
Art Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for articles, art reproductions, biographies, conference reports, dissertations, exhibitions, reviews, and more. Some resources provide full-text access. NOTE: Only 4 simultaneous users allowed.
Art Index provides indexing for more than 600 periodicals and 13,000 dissertations published throughout the world covering all subject areas related the arts, as well as 200,000 reproductions of works of art within publications. Resources are primarily available in English with some available in foreign languages, including Spanish, German, and French. In addition to scholarly and commercial articles, this database contains citations for bibliographies, biographies, conference reports, exhibitions, obituaries, reviews, and more. Some resources published from 1997 to present provide PDF full-text access. Subjects covered include art history and criticism, architecture and architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles, and much more. This is an ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers. Updated regularly.

NOTE: Only 4 simultaneous users allowed.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor website content has been migrated to the JSTOR platform, as the ARTstor website retired on August 1, 2024.
A digital library of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences, encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures.
ARTstor is a nonprofit, digital library comprised of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. The database encompasses artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. It is designed to be used by art historians, as well as researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images. The database can be searched by keyword, or, through the advanced search, by creator, title, location, repository, subject, material, style or period, work type, culture, description, technique, and/or number. A suite of software tools also allow users to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Updated regularly.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1934 - Current) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of articles published worldwide since 1934 on architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design and decoration, and historic preservation. This database indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Additionally, it includes obituary citations. Updated weekly.
NYPL Digital Gallery This link opens in a new window
Provides access to numerous digital images from the collections of the New York Public Library.
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Performance Design Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Contains books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos.

Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience with selected titles available.
Film Platform Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of award-winning documentary films curated for academic audiences. Its exclusive collection of documentary films has been selected from prestigious film festivals and made by the best filmmakers from including many OSCAR®-nominated and OSCAR®-shortlisted documentaries.

Music Online: Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window
Music Online: Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. NOTE: Only 3 simultaneous users allowed.
Music Online: Jazz Music Library is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz. It includes thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums and genres from numerous legendary record labels. The artists range from past greats to musicians performing and recording today. Liner notes to all the albums are included. Content is added on a regular basis.

NOTE: Only 3 simultaneous users allowed.
Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window
Music Online: Listening is a multidisciplinary collection of audio content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Over 321,000 tracks of music can be downloaded. Primarily classical standard repretoire, with some jazz, popular, world music, and historical recordings. NOTE: Only 10 simultaneous users allowed.
NAXOS is a collection of all of the Naxos catalogues of recordings along with those from other leading independent labels. Users can stream a wide variety of classical, jazz, new age, and world music. The collection is benchmarked against the Music Library Association's Basic Music Library. It has simple and advanced searching, common (non-proprietary) software requirements and extensive background information such as complete liner notes.

NOTE: Only 10 simultaneous users allowed.

Request materials not owned by UTA Libraries

ILL (InterLibrary Loan)
Use ILL to get materials not owned by UTA Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Borrowing From Other Libraries
You have access to other libraries in Texas and elsewhere.
Distance Education & Disability Services
We will mail books and resources to you that are held in UTA Libraries.

Can't access library resources?

Connecting from Off-Campus
by Walter Betts Last Updated May 10, 2024 7745 views this year

Citation Linker

Find a specific journal article, journal or book by citation information.