Subject and Course Guides: Theatre Arts: Home

Morgan's Recommended Resources

Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts places millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database includes over 500 journals, with more than 400 available in full text. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience. Periodical database for serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full-text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers. Additional titles are added to the collection as back files are digitized. Subject areas include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Folklore, History, History of Science Technology, Language Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Public Policy Administration, Science, Slavic Studies, Sociology, Statistics.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Project Muse offers full text articles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from quality journal titles provided by scholarly publishers. This database covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Browse the list of available journals and view tables of contents.
Play Index This link opens in a new window
Covers classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights.
Play Index covers one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues from playwrights such as Shakespeare, Aeschylus and Euripides, Moliere and many more. Content includes information on approximately 31,000 plays and over 600 monologues published individually or in collections dating from 1949 to present.
Performance Design Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Contains books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos.

Theater on Film

Digital Theater +
Digital Theater+ provides users with high quality films of leading theater productions, interviews with the creative teams, detailed analysis of play texts, andh stimulating and relevant support for key plays.
Theater in Video
Theatre in Video contains hundreds of titles of the world's leading playwrights, actors, and directors, including all 37 of the legendary BBC Shakespeare productions. Film documentaries, online in streaming video, and live performances cover pre-eminent names in the theatre: Henrik Ibsen, Eugene O'Neill, Arthur Miller, Samuel Beckett, Konstantin Stanislavsky, Tennessee Williams, and many more.
Opera in Video
Opera in Video covers the full range of operatic composition from the Baroque to the Twentieth Century and presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas. Selections recorded represent the world’s best performers, conductors and opera houses. Specially developed controlled vocabularies let users browse by composer, genre, performer, ensemble, time period, and role.

National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
National Theatre Collection: Volumes I & II bring the stage to life through access to high-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.

Theatre Arts

Your Personal Librarian

Office Hours

Morgan's Recommended Resources

Theater on Film

Related Research Guides