Art + Art History

Oxford Art Online is a gateway to Oxford art resources allowing users to search and browse the extensive collection of entries and images all in one location.  Oxford Art Online includes the following: Grove Art Online a scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-western visual art. The Oxford Companion to Western Art contains articles on topics of contemporary interest, including art movements, theory, and criticism. The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics which surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society. The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms provides 1,800 entries on art terms, critical periods, and styles in the visual arts.

NOTE: Only 5 simultaneous users allowed.

Art Index provides indexing for more than 600 periodicals and 13,000 dissertations published throughout the world covering all subject areas related the arts, as well as 200,000 reproductions of works of art within publications. Resources are primarily available in English with some available in foreign languages, including Spanish, German, and French. In addition to scholarly and commercial articles, this database contains citations for bibliographies, biographies, conference reports, exhibitions, obituaries, reviews, and more. Some resources published from 1997 to present provide PDF full-text access. Subjects covered include art history and criticism, architecture and architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles, and much more. This is an ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers. Updated regularly.

NOTE: Only 4 simultaneous users allowed.

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) is a specialist bibliography dedicated to the study of modern and contemporary art, photography, and design. It provides indexing and abstracts of literature published from the late 1960's to the present, including journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. ABM covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry and illustration, and ethnic art, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. Updated regularly.

Project Muse offers full text articles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from quality journal titles provided by scholarly publishers. This database covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Browse the list of available journals and view tables of contents.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), accessed through Web of Science (Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge), contains bibliographic information and citations from more than 1,470 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as individually selected, relevant items from more than 6,800 major science and social science journals. The database includes indexing of original research articles, reviews, editorials, chronologies, and abstracts, as well as references to poems, short stories, plays, music scores, book excerpts, bibliographies, filmographies, and performances. Disciplines covered include: archaeology; architecture; art; Asian studies; classics; dance; folklore; history; language; linguistics; literary reviews; literature; music; philosophy; poetry; radio, television, and film; religion; and theater. Updated regularly.