Art + Art History

ARTstor is a nonprofit, digital library comprised of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. The database encompasses artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. It is designed to be used by art historians, as well as researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images. The database can be searched by keyword, or, through the advanced search, by creator, title, location, repository, subject, material, style or period, work type, culture, description, technique, and/or number. A suite of software tools also allow users to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Updated regularly.

NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides extensive access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals previously included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, theses, audiovisual media, directories, monographs and government documents.

Designed for professional educators, this specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals includes more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965.

The American Psychological Association's abstracts of scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Indexing and abstracting of articles from nearly 10,000 journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Links to full text in the PsycARTICLES database as well as other full-text EBSCOhost databases.

Oxford Art Online is a gateway to Oxford art resources allowing users to search and browse the extensive collection of entries and images all in one location.  Oxford Art Online includes the following: Grove Art Online a scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-western visual art. The Oxford Companion to Western Art contains articles on topics of contemporary interest, including art movements, theory, and criticism. The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics which surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society. The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms provides 1,800 entries on art terms, critical periods, and styles in the visual arts.

NOTE: Only 5 simultaneous users allowed.

Art Index provides indexing for more than 600 periodicals and 13,000 dissertations published throughout the world covering all subject areas related the arts, as well as 200,000 reproductions of works of art within publications. Resources are primarily available in English with some available in foreign languages, including Spanish, German, and French. In addition to scholarly and commercial articles, this database contains citations for bibliographies, biographies, conference reports, exhibitions, obituaries, reviews, and more. Some resources published from 1997 to present provide PDF full-text access. Subjects covered include art history and criticism, architecture and architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles, and much more. This is an ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers. Updated regularly.

NOTE: Only 4 simultaneous users allowed.