Subject and Course Guides: Anthropology: Women and Gender

North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
This database includes diaries, journals, and letters written by women visiting or living in North America between the years 1700 and 1950.
This work in progress, when completed, will be the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled and include the personal experiences of 1,500 women from all social classes.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
There are over 17,000 records in the database currently, and more than five hundred records are added every four months. We index the most current year for which full journal volumes are available along with backlog years, and we are now working both on 2005-2006 and on the remaining publications from 1990 through 2004.
Women & Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Brings together books, images, primary sources, biographical information and statistics for in-depth access to research on women's studies.
This database is a repository of primary and secondary documents in the field of U.S. Women's History. Included are a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. Women's History, advertisements, book chapters, diaries, images, legal documents, letters, organizational notes, transcripts of speeches, along with scholarly interpretations.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Gender: Identity & Social Change This link opens in a new window
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations, and the struggle for women’s rights, from the 19th century to the present.
Explore records from men’s and women’s organizations, advice literature and etiquette books to reveal developing gender roles and relations. Gain an insight into changing societal expectations about gender roles through personal diaries and correspondence and explore the life and careers of key figures and pioneers in gender history.
Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online 1543-1945 This link opens in a new window
A collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights
A collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The collection consists of 265 periodicals and 4471 monographs from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand. The ASCII text is searchable by keyword and Boolean operators, and records are linked to the corresponding full-text page images.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
The database offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe. Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues provides access to current full text and pertinent backfile content covering topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.