Subject and Course Guides: Anthropology: Find Specialized Resources

UTA has many resources for studying specific cultures and/or periods of time. Some of these resources will be primary sources written or created by those who have first-hand knowledge of the topic. Examples include ethnographies, oral histories, photographs, legal documents, diaries, and much more.

Other resources will be secondary sources. These were created to analyze, aggregate, or describe a subject after the fact. Examples include textbooks, documentaries, and retrospectives. Secondary sources will often use primary sources to support their argument or create a full account of a people, place, or event. The distinction between the two kinds of sources is not always clear. If you need assistance, just ask your instructor or contact a librarian to assist you.

Multicultural Resources

UTA Libraries Digital Collections
Collections include a wide range of primary sources, journalistic articles, photographs, maps, and more. Highlights include the Portal to Texas History, Tejano Voices, the Texas Disability Collection, and a digital gallery of over 100,000 images from the "Fort Worth Star-Telegram" newspaper.

Ethnographic Video Online
Upgraded to Anthropology Resource Library
Streaming video collection for the visual study of human culture and behavior, including works by world-famous pioneers in the field. It is global in scope with previously unpublished footage from anthropologists & ethnographers.
Streaming video collection for the visual study of human culture and behavior, including works by world-famous pioneers in the field. It is global in scope with previously unpublished footage from anthropologists & ethnographers.
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure) and details to establish the full-tunnel connection.
Delve into the cultural study of music and explore content from across the globe with this diverse and comprehensive collection. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
eHRAF World Cultures
The eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database of primary materials containing information on all aspects of cultural and social life, over a long period of time.
The eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains primary information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
eHRAF Archaeology
A cross-cultural database containing information on prehistory.
The eHRAF Archaeology is a cross-cultural database containing information on prehistory. This unique, annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text sources are subject-indexed to the paragraph level.
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.
These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Independent Voices is made possible by the funding support received from libraries and donors across the U.S., Canada and the U.K. Through their funding, these libraries and donors are demonstrating their commitment to open access digital collections.

Open Library of Humanities
The Open Library of Humanities is an award-winning open-access publisher of internationally leading academic scholarship. Our mission is to support and extend open access to scholarship in the humanities – for free, for everyone, for ever. Our goal is to liberate university research from commercial control. We believe that scholarship should be academic-led and community-owned. Subjects covered by OLH journals include archaeology, anthropology, gender studies, popular culture, linguistics, media studies, political science, and much more.

Resources for Special Topics

Border and Migration Studies Online
A collection of primary documents, books and videos that provide historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas.
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images.
Disability in the Modern World
This collection includes primary sources, supporting materials, archives, documentaries, and interviews. The content is helpful for teaching and research - not only in the growing discipline of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas.
Family Studies Abstracts
Includes more than 53,500 bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Market Research & American Business, 1935-1965
It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure) and details to establish the full-tunnel connection.
Get a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst, market research pioneer and widely-recognised ‘father’ of Motivational Research.
Sex & Sexuality
This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
Scholarly online collection for researchers and students of adult comic books and graphic novels. This multi-part resource covers the full spectrum of this visual art form, from pre-comics code era works to modern sequential releases from artists the world over.