Subject and Course Guides: Anthropology: Polling & Survey Data

Databases

These databases contain the results of various polls and surveys related to a wide variety of social and economic topics. This includes, but is not limited to, subjects such as:

Opinion polling about issues including race, religion, reproductive rights, politics, youth culture, drugs, alcohol, personal behavior, LGBTQ+ issues, civil rights, parenting, and much more
Racial/Ethnic identity
Religious identity
Gender identity
Election behavior
Consumer behavior

While these resources are easy to use once acquainted with them, it can be challenging to understand how to return the results that you want right away. If you need assistance using these resources, each one has a help or how-to section integrated into the platform. You can also make an appointment with a librarian for one-on-one help using these resources.

Though it is essential to understand where polling and survey data comes from how such data is gathered, for many undergraduate projects it's not necessary to use raw (uninterpreted) polling data. It can sometimes be difficult to know how to interpret and analyze raw data without years of training. In these cases, it is more effective to find a quality research article where a trained scholar analyzes the results of a particular poll or survey. A librarian can help you find these resources. If you are ever in doubt, it is always best to ask your instructor what kinds of sources would be best for your research.

iPoll

5/9/25 - We are actively aware that this database is inaccessible via off-campus. As a temporary resolution, please utilize full tunnel VPN for off-campus access. See information for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure) and details to establish the full-tunnel connection. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your understanding.
The largest archives of public opinion polls with over 500,000 questions and answers asked in the U.S. since 1935. Available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students of UT Arlington.

iPOLL is the largest archives of public opinion polls with over 500,000 questions and answers asked in the U.S. since 1935. Topics include: economic issues/policy; education; elections, political parties/figures; government institutions; health issues; international affairs; news media/coverage; personal characteristics, beliefs, and lifestyles; polls and polling; science & technology; social issues; and U.S. defense & foreign policy. Also included are several thousand polls taken in some 70 foreign countries with emphasis on Latin America.
SimplyAnalytics

It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure) and details to establish the full-tunnel connection.
A mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census back to 1980, and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), 2020 election data, and D&B's points-of-interest business file providing detailed information on over 5 million businesses. Additionally, users have access to the premium MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset with data on over 8,000 brands, psychographics, social media habits, daily activities, life events, and MOSAIC market segments. Users also have access to the CDC PLACES health dataset that includes 27 diverse health measures, such as Health Outcomes, Prevention, Risk Behaviors, and Health Status while the Community Lifestages dataset presents data based on Householder Age, Household Income and Household Family Status.. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created. Users may log in as a Guest, or create an account to save their work.
Works best with Firefox or Safari. There are known compatibility issues with Chrome when accessing off-campus or through campus WiFi.
Please note only five simultaneous users are allowed.

SimplyAnalytics (was SimplyMap) provides users the most current demographic, business, and marketing data available. It provides the following nation-wide data: Demographic Variables: Population, Age, Race, Income, Ancestry, Marital Status, Housing, Employment, Transportation, Families, and more. Historical census data: including 1980, 1990 & 2000, plus current year census estimates and 5 year projections. Business Variables: Detailed Consumer Expenditure, Business & Employee Counts by Industry (by NAICS Code), Consumer Price Index, Quality of Life & Consumer Profiles, and Market Segments. Life Stage Clusters are a neighborhood classification system based on the crucial factors (84 Possible Life Stages based upon: Age of Head of Households; Marital Status; and Household Income) that determine life's key decisions. EASI/Mediamark Research Inc. (MRI) Propensity Data: Produces current estimates of usage and consumption (propensity) for thousands of very specific and detailed products, including actual brand data, details of frequency of usage, and more; annually prepares estimates for about 3,000+ MRI categories of propensities using updated demographic estimates; and Propensity Data incorporates the following data: Automotive, Beverages, Sports, Ailments/Remedies, Apparel, Appliances, Attitudes/Lifestyles, Baby, Computers, Electronics, Family Restaurants, and Fast Food, Financial, Grocery, Insurance, Internet, Leisure, Media, Personal Care, Pets, Purchasing, Telephony, Travel. Health: Answers to frequently asked questions about disease, health status, doctor visits and more; Health Questions Age 18+ & under 18; and Death Causes Since there is some training required in order to understand a few concepts related to mapping, we highly recommend that you watch our 6 minute tutorial to get the most out of SimplyAnalytics. The tutorial can be accessed by clicking on the "Tutorial" link in the top right corner of SimplyAnalytics.

NOTE: Only 5 simultaneous users allowed.

Background Research Sources

Understanding Elections Through Statistics by Ole J. Forsberg
ISBN: 9781032684536

Publication Date: 2024-10-31

Elections are random events. From individuals deciding whether to vote, to individuals deciding who to vote for, to election authorities deciding what to count, the outcomes of competitive democratic elections are rarely known until election day... or beyond. Understanding Elections through Statistics explores this random phenomenon from three primary points of view: predicting the election outcome using opinion polls, testing the election outcome using government-reported data, and exploring election data to better understand the people. Written for those with only a brief introduction to statistics, this book takes you on a statistical journey from how polls are taken to how they can--and should--be used to estimate current popular opinion.
Survey Research and Sampling by Jan Eichhorn
ISBN: 9781526423801

Publication Date: 2022-05-30

This book is an ideal companion for students looking to undertake survey research. Anchored by lots of case studies of real research and expert interviews to strengthen your understanding, it provides guidance on: Selecting the best sampling method for your research Designing questionnaires to ensure you gather valuable data Collecting your data to represent populations well Piloting questionnaires to ensure quality research Part of The SAGE Quantitative Research Kit, this book will give you the know-how and confidence needed to succeed on your quantitative research journey
Beyond the horse race: How to read polls and why we should by Zogby, John
ISBN: 9781538197158

Publication Date: 2024

John Zogby, one of America's most prominent pollsters, offers readers a master class in understanding what polls can reveal about public opinion. Illustrating his arguments from key political races of the last 40 years, Zogby shares true stories about how polls have been misused and when they have been used well or badly.
Understanding Public Opinion Polls by Jelke Bethlehem
ISBN: 9781315154220

Publication Date: 2017-09-05

Polls are conducted every day all around the world for almost everything (especially during elections). But not every poll is a good one. A lot depends on the type of questions asked, how they are asked and whether the sample used is truly representative. And these are not the only aspects of a poll that should be checked. Written by a well-known author with over thirty years of experience, the book is built around a checklist for polls that describes the various aspects of polls to pay attention to if one intends to use its results. By comprehensively answering the questions in the checklist, a good idea of the quality of the poll is obtained.