Subject and Course Guides: Anthropology: Native American/Indigenous

Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America
AILLA is a digital language archive of recordings, texts, and other multimedia materials in and about the Indigenous languages of Latin America. AILLA's mission is to preserve these materials and make them available to Indigenous Peoples, researchers, and other friends of these languages now and for generations to come.

American West

Contains primary sources on the history of the American West, from 1722 to 1939, from the Newberry Library's Graff Collection of Western Americana. Includes manuscripts, broadsides, ephemeral materials, maps, and rare printed works.

American West provides extensive coverage on the history of the American West, including Texas history, from 1722 to 1939, with the heaviest concentration from 1830 to 1939. The database contains materials from the Newberry Library's Graff Collection of Western Americana on topics related to Native Americans, pioneers and homesteaders, mining, the Mormon Exodus, agriculture, transportation, outlaws, the environment, and border issues. Materials, most unique to this collection, include original manuscripts, ephemeral material (e.g., trade cards, wanted posters, photos, claim certificates, news-sheets, etc.), maps, and rare printed works. All textual materials are full-text searchable and can be viewed as transcripts or facsimiles (i.e., original format). Most maps are in color and have zooming functionality.

NOTE: Users can register for a personal account to store searches, create image slideshows, and build a library of documents.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America

Citation database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, education, the gaming industry, religion, folklore, economic development, acculturation, mythology, missions, tribal governments, and ethnohistory.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. BIPNA contains more than 350,000 citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia. Dates of coverage for content range from the sixteenth century to the present. The database is an essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, linguists, theologians, and policy makers. BIPNA will appeal to anyone interested in exploring the contributions and lived experiences of North America's Indigenous peoples. Updated regularly.
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.

These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Independent Voices is made possible by the funding support received from libraries and donors across the U.S., Canada and the U.K. Through their funding, these libraries and donors are demonstrating their commitment to open access digital collections.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America

Contains primary and secondary sources on North and Central American Indian history and culture from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection. Includes manuscripts, maps, artwork, photographs, newspapers, and rare books.

American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans, from the early colonial period to the civil rights movement of the twentieth century. This database contains materials from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection, one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world. Materials in this database span from the early 16th century to the mid-20th century and include: manuscripts, artwork, speeches, petitions, diaries and travel journals, correspondences, linguistic and ethnographic studies, photographs, maps and atlases, rare printed books, and American Indian newspapers.

NOTE: Users can register for a personal account to store searches, create image slideshows, and create a document library.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America

It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure) and details to establish the full-tunnel connection.
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
Mexico in History

Explore over four centuries of Mexico's history, from the beginning of Spanish colonisation c.1500 up to the turbulent years of the Mexican Revolution. The documents within this extensive resource cover a wealth of research interests, including Indigenous linguistic studies, records of the Mexican Inquisition, church and mission documents and sermons, administrative and land records, and a variety of manuscript and photographic records of the Revolution.
North American Indian Drama: Second Edition

North American Indian Drama contains 244 plays by 48 playwrights representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. Together, the plays demonstrate Native theater’s diversity of tribal traditions and approaches to drama—melding conventional dramatic form with ancient storytelling and ritual performance elements, experimenting with traditional ideas of time and narrative, or challenging Western dramatic structure.