Subject and Course Guides: Anthropology: ANTH 3300

Writing as an Anthropologist

Sapiens Anthropology Magazine
SAPIENS is a publication of the Wenner-Gren Foundation and published in partnership with the University of Chicago Press. This publication aims to bridge academic and public spaces through writing that is grounded in scholarship but accessible for general audiences.
Anthropology News
Anthropology News is the American Anthropological Association’s (AAA) award-winning member magazine, published through their website. Each issue is developed on a theme by the editor, who works directly with authors. We invite contributions through calls for pitches and personal invitations. Contributors can work in different settings, including business, nonprofits, academic institutions, and government.
Anthropology Now
UTA credentials may be required to access this resource. Anthropology Now is a unique, peer-reviewed publication for research-based articles, book, film and exhibit reviews, photo essays and commentaries that are less focused on discussion within the discipline and more inclusive in sharing anthropological knowledge and perspectives with the well-informed general reader.

Writing Anthropology by Carole McGranahan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781478009160

Publication Date: 2020-05-01

See essay #48 in particular- "The Anthropology of Being (Me) by Paul Tapsell. In Writing Anthropology, fifty-two anthropologists reflect on scholarly writing as both craft and commitment, offering insights into the myriad roles of anthropological writing, the beauty and the function of language, the joys and pains of writing, and encouragement to stay at it.

Autoethnography

When writing your blog or other reflections for this class you may find yourself engaging is something similar to "autoethnography." This is a subfield of ethnography that emphasizes the lived experience of the researcher and relates that experience to various social and cultural contexts.

You can read about how different researchers define autoethnography and common elements of this type of research in an article written by Derek M. Bolen found in The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods (2017). Access this article by clicking here. Your UTA credentials will be required for access.

You may also want to watch this interview with researcher Sherick Hughes discussing the value of this technique and what sets it apart from other forms of anthropology research. This resource and the one listed above are both from the database SAGE Research Methods. This database is highly recommended for learning about different research methods and includes case studies, researcher interviews, definitions, a research planning tool, and more. For a transcript and full accessibility options please click here to watch the video.

SAGE Research Methods

An online search tool that provides information and instruction on research methods. It is aimed at university students, researchers, and faculty and is designed to answer methods questions that arise during the various steps of the research process, including the literature search, review, research design, data collection, analysis, and write up.

SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book”, the "Little Blue Book” series, two major works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

Autoethnography Pedagogy and Practice by Kitrina Douglas (Editor); David Carless (Editor)
ISBN: 1032708611

Publication Date: 2025-04-18

Autoethnography Pedagogy and Practice supports and generates new insights into how autoethnography can be taught, supervised and practised by sharing the experiences and reflections of researchers from a wide range of fields and disciplines. An international cast of leading researchers provide practical examples of how autoethnography can be successfully introduced into health and human sciences curricula, showcasing examples of the power of autoethnography within and beyond academia. By privileging contributors' experiences within their own field of study as students, teachers, supervisors and researchers, this book explores how autoethnography can be introduced, nurtured and sustained in challenging academic environments. Each chapter considers three interrelated areas: Disciplinary Contexts, which examines autoethnography's impact across different fields; Relationships, which considers how to successfully manage relational and care dynamics from undergraduate through professor levels; and Ethics, which addresses the many ethical considerations that can arise across a wide range of contexts. Autoethnography Pedagogy and Practice is a book that encourages readers to engage in autoethnographic practice to create innovative, dialogical and collaborative texts that push the boundaries of polyvocality and diversity within their own disciplines. It will be of interest to researchers in Psychology, Medicine, Pharmacology, Allied Health, Nursing, Mental health, Sport and Exercise Science, Coaching, Sociology, Psychotherapy, Theatre Studies and Communication Studies.