Subject and Course Guides: Anthropology: LGBTQ+

LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
LGBTQ+ Life is an indexing and abstracting resource covering world literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Includes links to some full text resources.
LGBTQ+ Life is a focused resource covering world literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. The database contains indexing and abstracts for more than 180 LGBT-specific core periodicals and more than 310 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. It includes current coverage of these sources, as well as deep backfiles for key publications - many back to the first published issue. Examples of publications indexed back to their inaugural issues include The Advocate (1967), Journal of Homosexuality (1974) and Harvard Gay and Lesbian Review (1994). It also contains articles mined from more than 40 priority periodicals as well as more than 6,500 select titles. LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle and regional publications, including Journal of Bisexuality, Gay Times,Lesbian News, Journal of Lesbian Studies, Washington Blade, Bay Area Reporter, Journal of Gender Studies, NWSA Journal, Women's Studies, etc.
LGBTQ+ Rights - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
This collection charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. Topics covered include the Defense of Marriage Act, the AIDS crisis, military service by gay and transgender service members, "bathroom bills," and more.
A separate sub-collection presents historical texts whose views some readers may find offensive today, showing the prejudicial beliefs that permeated society and helped formed the laws of their time.
Queer Pasts This link opens in a new window
Collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense, to embrace topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender and to include work on sexual and gender formations that are queer but not necessarily LGBT.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.
These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Independent Voices is made possible by the funding support received from libraries and donors across the U.S., Canada and the U.K. Through their funding, these libraries and donors are demonstrating their commitment to open access digital collections.