Subject and Course Guides: Anthropology: Home

Use this guide to find resources related to research in the field of anthropology. For resources related to specific demographic or cultural groups use the navigation menu on the left. Resources related to GIS and anthropology/archaeology can also be found using the menu. For one-on-one assistance related to research projects in anthropology, please make a virtual or in-person appointment.

Recommended Databases & Collections

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full-text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers. Additional titles are added to the collection as back files are digitized. Subject areas include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Folklore, History, History of Science Technology, Language Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Public Policy Administration, Science, Slavic Studies, Sociology, Statistics.
Anthropology Commons This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Commons is a repository of open primary sources critical to the study of anthropology and the history of the field. It includes approximately 8,000 pages from the Ruth Fulton Benedict Archive (held at the Vassar College Archive) which have been digitized, including notes from various field expeditions to the American Southwest in the 1930s.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
A comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
Anthropology Plus is a comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. As a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases, this database offers worldwide indexing of core and lesser-known periodicals from the early 19th century to present. It includes extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries. Updated quarterly.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications.
AnthroSource provides full-text access to journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), the world's largest organization of anthropologists. This includes full-text access for all current AAA peer-reviewed publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology. Updated regularly.
Anthropology Resource Library This link opens in a new window
Components of the Anthropology Resource Library include:
Anthropology Online
Anthropological Fieldwork Online
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I and II: Foundational Films
Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices
Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives
Ethnographic Video Online, Royal Anthropological Institute Teaching Edition
Contains multimedia resources for the study of anthropology, including the largest collection of ethnographic videos and previously unpublished archival field materials. Content is presented on a multimedia platform that reflects the integrated methods of field research, through linking and cross-searchability of text, audiovisual, and archival primary sources.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
An online search tool that provides information and instruction on research methods. It is aimed at university students, researchers, and faculty and is designed to answer methods questions that arise during the various steps of the research process, including the literature search, review, research design, data collection, analysis, and write up.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book”, the "Little Blue Book” series, two major works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

North Texas Archaeological Society Records
Archival documents including meeting minutes, letters, publications, guidebooks, site reports, and more related to local North Texas archaeological sites and interests. Materials are currently begin digitized. For access to the physical collection make a research appointment with UTA Special Collections.

Faculty Publications (Sociology & Anthropology)

Digital Feudalism by David Arditi
ISBN: 1804557692
Publication Date: 2023-04-06
Over the past two decades, corporations and venture capitalists have adjusted business models to change the digital world. As a result, the global economy has undergone a massive shift, changing the way we work, consume and pay for things. Under this new 'digital feudalism', we find precarious employment via digital platforms, we buy goods and services in perpetuity through subscriptions, and we pay for it all with debt. Digital Feudalism explores this new moment in capitalism, and how reliant global economies have become on these processes of consumption, work, and debt.
The Architecture of Hunting by Ashley Lemke
ISBN: 9781623499228
Publication Date: 2022-03-09
As one of the most significant economic innovations in prehistory, hunting architecture radically altered life and society for hunter-gatherers. The development of these structures indicates that foragers designed their environments, had a deep knowledge of animal behavior, and interacted with each other in complex ways that reach beyond previous assumptions. Combining underwater archaeology, terrestrial archaeology, and ethnographic and historical research, The Architecture of Hunting investigates the creation and use of hunting architecture by hunter-gatherers. Hunting architecture--including blinds, drive lanes, and fishing weirs--is a global phenomenon found across a broad spectrum of cultures, time, geography, and environments. Relying on similar behaviors in species such as caribou, bison, guanacos, antelope, and gazelles, cultures as diverse as Sami reindeer herders, the Inka, and ancient bison hunters on the North American plains have employed such structures, combined with strategically situated landforms, to ensure adequate food supplies while maintaining a nomadic way of life. Using examples of hunting architecture from across the globe and how they influence forager mobility, territoriality, property, leadership, and labor aggregation, Ashley Lemke explores this architecture as a form of human niche construction and considers the myriad ways such built structures affect hunter-gatherer lifeways. Bringing together diverse sources under the single category of "hunting architecture," The Architecture of Hunting serves as the new standard guide for anyone interested in hunter-gatherers and their built environment.
Biography of a Hacienda by Elizabeth Terese Newman
ISBN: 0816598959
Publication Date: 2014-04-17
Winner, James Deetz Book Award (Society for Historical Archaeology) Biography of a Hacienda is a many-voiced reconstruction of events leading up to the Mexican Revolution and the legacy that remains to the present day. Drawing on ethnohistorical, archaeological, and ethnographic data, Elizabeth Terese Newman creates a fascinating model of the interplay between the great events of the Revolution and the lives of everyday people. In 1910 the Mexican Revolution erupted out of a century of tension surrounding land ownership and control over labor. During the previous century, the elite ruling classes acquired ever-increasingly large tracts of land while peasants saw their subsistence and community independence vanish. Rural working conditions became so oppressive that many resorted to armed rebellion. After the war, new efforts were made to promote agrarian reform, and many of Mexico's rural poor were awarded the land they had farmed for generations. Weaving together fiction, memoir, and data from her fieldwork, Newman reconstructs life at the Hacienda San Miguel Acocotla, a site located near a remote village in the Valley of Atlixco, Puebla, Mexico. Exploring people's daily lives and how they affected the buildup to the Revolution and subsequent agrarian reforms, the author draws on nearly a decade of interdisciplinary study of the Hacienda Acocotla and its descendant community. Newman's archaeological research recovered information about the lives of indigenous people living and working there in the one hundred years leading up to the Mexican Revolution. Newman shows how women were central to starting the revolt, and she adds their voices to the master narrative. Biography of a Hacienda concludes with a thoughtful discussion of the contribution of the agrarian revolution to Mexico's history and whether it has succeeded or simply transformed rural Mexico into a new "global hacienda system."

Video Game Concerts: Unending consumption on video game platforms
In Dr. David Arditi's article he explores the way video games and music have gone from competitors to collaborators. Video games are a way for record labels to turn gamers into music fans and music is a way for video game companies to turn music fans into gamers.
Im/mobility in the transnational surrogacy market
By faculty member Dr. Heather Jacobson. Based on in-depth interviews and non-participant observation collected with various actors in four surrogacy markets (India, the U.S. Germany, and Ukraine), in this paper we examine the impact of the COVID-19 global pandemic on the infrastructure of the global surrogacy industry.
Work and the public understanding of science
By UTA faculty member Dr. Robert M. Kunovich. This study examines whether engaging in science work and work that is substantively complex (e.g. requiring independent thought and judgment) is related to interest in science, science knowledge, and confidence in the scientific community in the United States. It also examines whether the conditions of work mediate the relationship between education and these science-related outcomes.
How and Why We Should Move Beyond Natural Selection in Museums to Tackle Teleology
Should museums show visitors more about evolution than fossil evidence and examples of natural selection? In this article, Dr. Shelley Smith argues that they should and explains why.

Department of Sociology and Anthropology Faculty Research
All recent published research by UTA faculty in the Sociology and Anthropology Department.
Fast Capitalism
Journal devoted to analyzing the impact of information and communication technologies on self, society and culture in the 21st century. Bridges the social sciences and the humanities. Welcomes disciplinary and interdisciplinary work.
The Fight for 2 Percent- How residuals became a sticking point for striking actors
Streaming disrupted the entire entertainment industry, upending the DVD-purchasing, film-renting, moviegoing model of decades past. In this article, Dr. David Arditi explains why sharing 2% of revenue from films and shows on streaming platforms is a sticking point.
Challenging Assumptions About Surrogacy
This article co-written by Dr. Heather Jacobson examines assumptions about surrogacy and argues for a more nuanced approach to research on third-party pregnancy using empirical and ethnographic data.

Interlibrary Loan

Request materials not owned by UTA Libraries

ILL (InterLibrary Loan)
Use ILL to get materials not owned by UTA Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Borrowing From Other Libraries
You have access to other libraries in Texas and elsewhere.
Distance Education & Disability Services
We will mail books and resources to you that are held in UTA Libraries.

Can't access library resources?

Connecting from Off-Campus
by Walter Betts Last Updated May 10, 2024 9138 views this year