Subject and Course Guides: Anthropology: Hispanic/Latin American

American West
Contains primary sources on the history of the American West, from 1722 to 1939, from the Newberry Library's Graff Collection of Western Americana. Includes manuscripts, broadsides, ephemeral materials, maps, and rare printed works.
American West provides extensive coverage on the history of the American West, including Texas history, from 1722 to 1939, with the heaviest concentration from 1830 to 1939. The database contains materials from the Newberry Library's Graff Collection of Western Americana on topics related to Native Americans, pioneers and homesteaders, mining, the Mormon Exodus, agriculture, transportation, outlaws, the environment, and border issues. Materials, most unique to this collection, include original manuscripts, ephemeral material (e.g., trade cards, wanted posters, photos, claim certificates, news-sheets, etc.), maps, and rare printed works. All textual materials are full-text searchable and can be viewed as transcripts or facsimiles (i.e., original format). Most maps are in color and have zooming functionality.

NOTE: Users can register for a personal account to store searches, create image slideshows, and build a library of documents.
Border and Migration Studies Online
A collection of primary documents, books and videos that provide historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas.
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
5/19/25 - This resource is leaving the TexShare program and access to this resource will be ending on 8/31/2025.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico meets the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Informe Académico provides quality reference material—not simply translations of English-language materials—on a powerful, easy-to-use interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Compilation of nearly 400 Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. This collection offers a diversity of unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers and grassroots figures.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities. This index support researchers in Latin American studies and includes key words in English, Spanish and Portuguese, allowing searches from these three languages.
LACLI - Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, and Iberian studies
LACLI is a tool to find websites that provide access to a great variety of resources such as audiovisual materials, books, data, ephemera, government documents, oral histories, periodicals, reference works, visual materials, web archives and more.
Latin America in Video
The collection contains nearly 400 films and are presented in their original language with abstracts and indexing in Spanish, Portuguese, and English.
Latin American Women Writers
Latin American Women Writers is a searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America.
In addition to prose, poetry, and drama by women writers in Latin America, this collection includes essays by Latin American feminists and revolutionaries. This is a work in progress that will contain 100,000 pages of prose, poetry, and essays along with 300 plays when complete.
Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers
Presents manuscript, book, and newspaper content in the areas of Hispanic American civil rights, religion, and women’s rights ranging from the eighteenth through the twentieth century. The database features over 250,000 pages of manuscript content, over 100 newspaper titles, and over 400 books. The collection draws its content from the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project” that seeks to gather lost or rare documents and publications pertinent to Hispanic history and culture. Formerly called Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2.
Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration
This digital archive collection gives rich insight into the efforts of the Executive Branch of U.S. government to reach out to the burgeoning Latino population during the last 2 years of the Carter Administration. In the summer of 1979, the Carter Administration created the White House Office of Hispanic Affairs in order to address issues of critical importance to the Latino community. The coming decade of the 1980s was being hailed as “the Decade of the Hispanic,” and many were looking to the president and Congress to show more respect for Latinos and their manifold contributions to the United States.
Major topics covered in this collection include inflation, bilingual education, police brutality, political unrest in Latin America, Haitian refugees, and immigration (legal and otherwise), Puerto Rican self-determination, and the U.S. Navy’s use of Vieques Island. Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration also documents some of the most important Latino organizations of the time, including LULAC, TELACU, La Raza, the Puerto Rican Legal Defense and Education Fund, the Mexican American Legal Defense and Education Fund, and the American G.I. Forum.
Latino Literature
Latino Literature covers poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish from Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
Latino Literature covers poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish from Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States. Almost a third of the database is made up of previously unpublished or rare materials. Also included are supplementary resources, such as playbills and performance material, poetry readings, book presentation flyers, book covers, and photographs
Mexico in History
Explore over four centuries of Mexico's history, from the beginning of Spanish colonisation c.1500 up to the turbulent years of the Mexican Revolution. The documents within this extensive resource cover a wealth of research interests, including Indigenous linguistic studies, records of the Mexican Inquisition, church and mission documents and sermons, administrative and land records, and a variety of manuscript and photographic records of the Revolution.