Subject and Course Guides: Anthropology: McDowell Scholarship Resources

Describing Your Goals

These resources are intended to help you describe your academic and personal goals for applying for scholarships available through the Charles T. McDowell Center for Global Studies. Many of these resources are geared towards job seekers, but you will use similar skills to articulate your purpose in applying for the scholarship.

Describe specifically what you want to accomplish during your time abroad. What skills do you already have that will help you accomplish these goals? What skills do you hope to develop? What tangible outcomes will you work to achieve during your time abroad (language acquisition, work on a creative project, cultural fluency, etc)?

The Relevance of Humanities to the 21st Century Workplace by Michael Edmondson
ISBN: 9781951527020
Publication Date: 2019-12-30
The Relevance of the Humanities to the 21st Century Workplace provides a blueprint for higher education faculty, boards, presidents, senior leaders, parents, students, recent graduates, and other stakeholders to connect their educational experience to their future vocation.
The Anthropology Graduate's Guide by Carol J. Ellick; Joe E. Watkins
ISBN: 9781032281148
Publication Date: 2023-07-28
Includes an overview of anthropology as a discipline, professional qualifications and key skills, an outline of key jobs and future careers, and guidance on job application materials and interviews, as well as discussions of professional communication styles. Ultimately, the stories, scenarios, and activities presented in this book will show a reader how to use knowledge, skills, and abilities learned in the classroom in a career setting.
Career Tools for Anthropology by Jennifer Studebaker (Editor); Elizabeth K. Briody (Editor); Zahra Malik (Editor); Riall W. Nolan (Editor)
ISBN: 9798991219808
Publication Date: 2024-08-15
"What can you do with a degree in anthropology?" This workbook answers that question and guides you through the possibilities of anthropology in the workplace. Written with students, graduates, and instructors in mind, readers will learn how to assess their own skills, how to communicate the value of anthropology, and how to craft their own career path. Each tool provides a guide on a career topic, such as basic skills like Crafting a Cover Letter to complex challenges like Reducing Polarization. This workbook features 39 peer-review tools and exercises mapped along a career journey. Put your anthropology to work!
The Employable Sociologist by Martha A. Martinez
ISBN: 9783031413223
Publication Date: 2023-10-15
This book addresses a gap in and outside academia: how to help Sociology undergraduates develop skills for career success while maintaining a sociologically rigorous approach. Matching sociological theories, methods, and knowledge with contemporary capitalistic managerial and work practices, it shows how sociology undergraduates are not only employable but have marketable advantages over graduates of other disciplines.
You're Hired! by Cheryl Joseph
ISBN: 9781787149458
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Featuring conversations with more than thirty sociology majors on their career trajectories, responses from employers on why they hire sociology majors, and practical career advice, You're Hired! Putting Your Sociology Major to Work offers readers a comprehensive account of the opportunities a sociology major provides.

Personal Statements

Helping Your Students Write Personal Statements by Stephen Lassonde
ISBN: 9781032596044
Publication Date: 2024-04-01
This practical book is a timely and comprehensive guide designed for college advisors and instructors who are supporting and coaching students into successful internships, fellowships, graduate programs, and professional schools. This book emphasizes the most important part of any application, the personal statement: how to prepare to write it, how to draft it, how to revise it--and why to invest time in the process of developing it.
Who Do You Think You Are? by Stephen M. Smith; Shaun Fanning
ISBN: 9781119384748
Publication Date: 2017-10-18
Give your kids their greatest chance at success Who Do You Think You Are? helps parents, school counselors, and administrators get teens thinking about--and interested in--their future careers. Success in college and beyond relies on thorough prior preparation; by identifying interests and passions early on, young people are better able to plan for the career they want by mapping out the academic path to support it.
Letters to Students by Drew Bogner; Robert Allyn Scott
ISBN: 1475873727
Publication Date: 2024-07-06
Through a series of letters to college students, two former university presidents speak to the rich and varied purposes of college and how it prepares one to live a full and successful life.Letters to Students discusses the meaning of higher education for the individual and society, offering advice on navigating the college experience, on life and work, careers, the meaning of success, the role of creativity, leadership, citizenship, compassion, and leaving a legacy.

LinkedIn Learning collection- Personal Statements
This collection of videos is curated from the LinkedIn Learning library. All UTA students, faculty, and staff have access to LinkedIn Learning. Just use your UTA credentials to log in.

Additional Resources

Writing on the Job by Martha B. Coven
ISBN: 9780691229966
Publication Date: 2022-05-31
Based on her course at the Princeton University School of Public and International Affairs, Martha Coven presents a crisp, brief, up-to-date introduction to clear and compelling writing for future professionals. Coven covers the basics of developing a professional style and writing and revising first and successive drafts. She then covers common types of professional writing, including correspondence, memos, proposals, plans, and reports, critical feedback and cover letters.

Syracuse University- Asking for Letters of Recommendation
Detailed advice for asking for letters of recommendation in a university setting.
Harvard Summer School- How to Ask for a Letter of Recommendation
Even though the audience for this blog post is high school students, the same advice applies when you are in college. Pay special attention to step 3 which outlines the content of a written request for a letter of recommendation.

LinkedIn Learning Course- Writing a Resume

The video linked below is the first video from the LinkedIn Learning course "Writing a Resume." All UTA students, staff, and faculty have access to the LinkedIn learning library- just log in with your UTA credentials. This is one of several courses that can help you polish your resume and other application materials. You don't have to watch the whole course, just open the contents menu to pick the sections that are relevant for you.