Subject and Course Guides: Anthropology: African American

African American Communities
It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure) and details to establish the full-tunnel connection.
A diverse range of primary source material is showcased in this collection that focuses on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community.
African American Heritage
This resource has left the TexShare program, effective 6/1/2025.
ProQuest® African American Heritage is a groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research.

It provides users a dedicated resource that not only brings together records critical to African American family research; but also connects them to a community of research experts, whose mentoring and assistance can frequently be the difference between research success and futility.

There were more than 480,000 free blacks living in the United States and territories at the time of the 1860 Census. Explore the 1860 U.S. Federal Census in the ProQuest African American Heritage database to learn more!
Music Online: African American Music Reference
Includes full text from major reference works chronicling the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music.
African American Historical Serials Collection
The culmination of more than 10 years of organizing and collecting materials, the African American Historical Serials Collection is a centralized and accessible resource of formerly fragmentary, widely-dispersed and endangered materials originating from various institutions and sources—including some that had not
previously participated in preservation projects.
Now compiled and accessible to researchers in one digital collection, this unique resource documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.
African American Newspapers (Parts I-XIV)
A collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion.
African American Newspapers in the South, 1870-1926
Accessible Archives’ new African American Newspapers in the South, 1870-1926 documents the African American press in the South from Reconstruction through the Jim Crow period. Written by African Americans for African Americans, the first-hand reporting, editorials, and features kept readers abreast of current domestic and international events, often focusing on racial issues. The editors didn’t shy away from exposing racial discrimination and violence, including the emotionally laden topic of lynching. Yet, the newspapers also covered lighter fare, reporting on civic and religious events, politics, foreign affairs, local gossip, and more.
Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice
Designed for both teaching and research, this resource brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world covering an extensive time period from 1490. Close attention has been given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law - HeinOnline
This collection brings together a multitude of legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. It includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Publication of the Afro-Latin/American Research Association (PALARA)
The Publication of the Afro-Latin/American Research Association (PALARA) is a multi-disciplinary journal that publishes research and creative works relevant to African Diaspora Studies in the Americas. Currently, the journal is a partnership between the University of Texas at Arlington and Mount Holyoke College.
PALARA is the journal of the Afro-Latin/American Research Association (ALARA). ALARA is a dynamic organization of individual scholars working in the field of Afro-Latin American Studies. A majority of the membership are college/university professors trained in Latin American studies (literature, linguistics, sociology, political science, cultural studies, communication studies, history, etc.) whose research and/or teaching interests focus on cultural production and materiality of Africa descendants in North, Central and South America, the Caribbean basin and Equatorial Guinea (West Africa).

Our Choking Times
Our Choking Times began in 1970 as the African-American students' newspaper for The Ohio State University. It was published until 1982 when its name changed to Spectrum and then Dimensions. Dimensions was published until the mid-1990s. Our Choking Times sought to provide a community forum and address frustrations of Black students across the university. The first issue’s manifesto set the tone for the paper’s activist ethos, holding Ohio State accountable for its lack of black professors and students, its lip service to diversity, and later, its investment in companies doing business with apartheid-era South Africa. Beyond its critical commentary, Our Choking Times offered a much-needed communal media space as the only publication written by Black students for Black students. The paper published poetry and cartoons, as well as music, theatre and literary criticism.