Brings together Grove Art Online and other Oxford art resources so that entries and images can be searched in one location. NOTE: Only 5 simultaneous users allowed.
ADA in Details by
Integrate your designs with compliant access interpretations ADA in Details provides a visual interpretation of the 2010 Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Standards for a convenient, go-to reference of pertinent scoping, technical requirements, and sourcing information. Architects, designers, and everyone else involved in the built environment can turn to this authoritative resource to understand accessibility compliance for places of public accommodation, commercial facilities, and public buildings. Every detail is presented with both a clear explanation and illustrations that synthesize federal regulations and the 2016 California Building Code (CBC). A reference of this scope presenting visual detail examples and specifications for both newly constructed and existing facilities enables you to: Get up to speed on accessibility standards and requirements Differentiate the CBC from the ADA Standards with color contrasting text and graphics for immediate clarification Keep a solutions guide at your fingertips for accessible routes, site features, architectural elements, restrooms, and more Quickly find requirements for specialty areas of accessibility, including assembly areas, kitchens, storage spaces, hospitality and recreational facilities, as well as dwelling units Integrate accessibility into any space with ADA in Details. provides a visual interpretation of the 2010 Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Standards for a convenient, go-to reference of pertinent scoping, technical requirements, and sourcing information. Architects, designers, and everyone else involved in the built environment can turn to this authoritative resource to understand accessibility compliance for places of public accommodation, commercial facilities, and public buildingsEvery detail is presented with both a clear explanation and illustrations that synthesize federal regulations and the 2016 California Building Code (CBC). A reference of this scope presenting visual detail examples and specifications for both newly constructed and existing facilities enables you to:
Architectural Graphic Standards by
ARCHITECTURAL GRAPHIC STANDARDS THE LANDMARK UPDATE OF THE MOST RECOGNIZED STUDENT RESOURCE IN ARCHITECTURE The Student Edition of the iconic Architectural Graphic Standards has been a rite of passage for architecture, building, and engineering students for more than eighty years. Thoughtfully distilled from the Twelfth Edition of Architectural Graphic Standards and reorganized to meet the specific needs of today's students, this fully updated Student Edition shows you how to take a design idea through the entire planning and documentation process. This potent resource stays with you through your academic experience and into your first years as a professional with thousands of useful illustrations and hundreds of architectural elements conveniently placed at your fingertips. Presented in a format closely resembling an architect's actual workflow, this Twelfth Edition student handbook features: Completely new material on resiliency in buildings A versatile treatment written for the design studio setting and aligned with the most current curricular trends, including new and updated coverage on topics related to sustainability, digital fabrication, and building information modeling (BIM) A proven pedagogy that saves students time and ensures young professionals avoid the most common pitfalls Develop a state-of-the-art mastery of design best practices with Architectural Graphic Standards, Twelfth Edition, Student Edition.
Building Codes Illustrated by
BUILDING CODES ILLUSTRATED STAY INFORMED OF THE LATEST UPDATES TO THE INTERNATIONAL BUILDING CODE WITH THE LEADING VISUAL REFERENCE In the newly revised Seventh Edition of Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2021 International Building Code®, architectural drawing expert Francis D.K. Ching and well known architect Steven R. Winkel deliver a beautifully illustrated and intuitively written handbook for the 2021 International Building Code (IBC). The authors provide brand new chapters on plumbing fixture counts, elevators, special construction, and existing buildings while updating the remainder of the material to align with recent changes to the IBC. Easy to navigate and perfect as a quick-reference guide to the IBC, Building Codes Illustrated is a valuable visual resource for emerging professionals. The book also includes: Thorough introductions to navigating the Code, use and occupancy, special uses and occupancies, and building heights and areas Full explorations of the types of construction, fire resistive construction, interior finishes, fire-protection systems, and means of egress Practical discussions of accessibility, interior environment, exterior walls, roof assemblies, and structural provisions In-depth examinations of special inspections and tests, soils and foundations, building materials and systems, and elevators Perfect for students of architecture, interior design, construction, and engineering, the latest edition of Building Codes Illustrated is also ideal for professionals in these fields seeking an up-to-date reference on the 2021 International Building Code.
LEED Reference Guide for Building Design and Construction, V4 by A comprehensive index of articles published worldwide since 1934 on architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design.
Brings together Grove Art Online and other Oxford art resources so that entries and images can be searched in one location. NOTE: Only 5 simultaneous users allowed.
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure). Details to establish the full-tunnel connection can be found here.
America's News diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. The database contains 1,250 sources from 53 states and territories and has 10 source types. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Covers all aspects of the human impact on the environment. It includes scholarly, government & general interest titles relating to global climate change, green building, renewable energy, pollution and recycling.
Sweets is the building product source for the design and construction professional: Architects, Contractors, Subcontractors, Designers, Engineers, Facility Managers and Building Owners.
ULI Case Studies showcase innovative approaches and best practices in real estate and urban development. To login the site, please visit this page
The Routledge Companion to Critical Approaches to Contemporary Architecture by
The Routledge Companion to Critical Approaches to Contemporary Architecture convenes a wide array of critical voices from architecture, art history, urbanism, geography, anthropology, media and performance studies, computer science, bio-engineering, environmental studies, and sociology that help us understand the meaning and significance of global architecture of the twenty-first century. New chapters by 36 contributors illustrated with over 140 black-and-white images are assembled in six parts concerning both real and virtual spaces: design, materiality, alterity, technologies, cityscapes, and practice.
Net Zero Energy Building by
What do we mean by net zero energy? Zero operating energy? Zero energy costs? Zero emissions? There is no one answer: approaches to net zero building vary widely across the globe and are influenced by different environmental and cultural contexts. Net Zero Energy Building: Predicted and Unintended Consequencespresents a comprehensive overview of variations in 'net zero' building practices. Drawing on examples from countries such as the United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Japan, Hong Kong, and China, Ming Hu examines diverse approaches to net zero and reveals their intended and unintended consequences.　 Existing approaches often focus on operating energy: how to make buildings more efficient by reducing the energy consumed by climate control, lighting, and appliances. Hu goes beyond this by analyzing overall energy consumption and environmental impact across the entire life cycle of a building--ranging from the manufacture of building materials to transportation, renovation, and demolition. Is net zero building still achievable once we look at these factors? With clear implications for future practice, this is key reading for professionals in building design, architecture, and construction, as well as students on sustainable and green architecture courses.
The Architecture of Nothingness by
It is a common enough assumption that good buildings make us feel good just as poor ones can make us feel insecure, depressed or even threatened. We may instantly decide that we ¿like¿ one building more than another, in the same way that without thinking we choose one work of art or music over another. But what is going on when we make these instant decisions? The process is so complex that it remains an area rarely examined, often considered unfathomable, or for some mysterious, bordering even on the spiritual. Frank Lyons seeks to unpick the complex relationships that go to make up great works of architecture, to reveal a set of principles that are found to apply not only to architecture but also to art, music and culture in general. One of the major complications at the heart of culture is that because the arts are generated subjectively, it is assumed that the finished cultural artefact is also subjective. This is a myth that this book seeks to dispel. The arts are indeed created from the personal subjective space of an individual but what that individual has to say will only be shareable if expressed in coherent (objective) form. In a nutshell, the book reverses two generally accepted positions, that the arts are subjective and that meaning is objective and therefore shared. The reversal of these seemingly common sense, but mistaken positions enables two important issues to be resolved, firstly it explains how the arts communicate through objectivity and secondly how the meaning of an object of art is never shared but always remains private to the individual. The combination of these two positions ultimately helps us to understand that beauty is a subjective appreciation of an objectively arranged form. Furthermore, this understanding enables the author to explain how a sublimely arranged form can open us to the ineffab≤ to a field of NOTHINGNESS, or to what some might call the spiritual realm of our own being.
Unorthodox Ways to Think the City by
This book argues that architecture and the city and their processes can be better understood by drawing categories from disciplines that exceed the architectural and urban cultural context. It performs an open intellectual reading that traverses architecture and architectural theory, but also art theory and history, cartography, philosophy, literature and cultural studies, to unfold a series of ¿figures¿ that are ambiguously placed between the representation and the construction of space in architecture and the city. The paradigm and philosophy, the island and the city, the map and representation, the model and making and the questioning of form performed by dust, are explored beyond their definition, as processes that differently make space between architecture and the city and are proposed as unorthodox analytic techniques to decipher contemporary spatial complexity. The book analyses how these ¿figures¿ have been employed at different times and in different creative disciplines, beyond architecture and in relation to changing notions of space, and traces the role that they have played in the shift towards the dynamic that has taken place in contemporary theory and design research. What emerges is the idea of an ¿architecture of the city¿ that is not only physical but is largely defined by the way in which its physical spaces are regulated, lived and perceived, but also imagined and projected.
The ARTstor website content has been migrated to the JSTOR platform, as the ARTstor website retired on August 1, 2024.
A digital library of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences, encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures.
Provides access to numerous digital images from the collections of the New York Public Library.
A collection of digitized maps that provide detailed property and land-use records that depict the architecture of Texas towns and cities throughout the past one hundred years
It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure). Details to establish the full-tunnel connection can be found here.
A mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Works best with Firefox or Safari. There are known compatibility issues with Chrome when accessing off-campus or through campus WiFi.
Please note only five simultaneous users are allowed.
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
© 2016-23 The University of Texas at Arlington.
University of Texas Arlington Libraries
702 Planetarium Place · Arlington, TX 76019 · 817-272-3000