Architecture

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design and decoration, and historic preservation. This database indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Additionally, it includes obituary citations. Updated weekly.

JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full-text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers. Additional titles are added to the collection as back files are digitized. Subject areas include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Folklore, History, History of Science Technology, Language Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Public Policy Administration, Science, Slavic Studies, Sociology, Statistics.

Oxford Art Online is a gateway to Oxford art resources allowing users to search and browse the extensive collection of entries and images all in one location.  Oxford Art Online includes the following: Grove Art Online a scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-western visual art. The Oxford Companion to Western Art contains articles on topics of contemporary interest, including art movements, theory, and criticism. The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics which surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society. The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms provides 1,800 entries on art terms, critical periods, and styles in the visual arts.

NOTE: Only 5 simultaneous users allowed.

ARTstor is a nonprofit, digital library comprised of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. The database encompasses artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. It is designed to be used by art historians, as well as researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images. The database can be searched by keyword, or, through the advanced search, by creator, title, location, repository, subject, material, style or period, work type, culture, description, technique, and/or number. A suite of software tools also allow users to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Updated regularly.