Subject and Course Guides: Public Health: Find Resources

Background Information

Accessing TOXNET information
Most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services. Additional links are listed to a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and related areas.
CDC Community Health Interventions Navigator
This is a database of interventions provided by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The Community Guide
The guide evaluates evidence and rates effectiveness of prevention programs and policies to help you improve public health and prevent disease in your community.
Community Toolbox
The Community Tool Box is a free, online resource for those working to build healthier communities and bring about social change. It provides training, toolkits and best practices for interventions, and other helpful information for health educators.
Institutes at NIH
NIH comprises 27 Institutes and Centers, each with a specific research agenda, often focusing on particular diseases or body systems.
National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO) Model Practices
NACCHO’s Model Practices Program nationally honors and recognizes outstanding local public health practice and shares the outstanding practices through the Model Practices Database. By submitting a practice, LHDs contribute to the overall improvement of public health through effective evidence-based practice methods.
more...less...
Model Practices are awarded to local health departments across the country for implementing programs that demonstrate exemplary and replicable outcomes in response to an identified public health need.
National Institutes of Health
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CDC is the nation's leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public's health.

Accessing the Article

If you don’t see a PDF of the article you want, click for "Full Text" to find it within all the Libraries' collections.

If we don’t have the article, click "Borrow this from another library" to have the article sent to you electronically. This option typically takes a few hours.

More information on requesting materials is down below.

Research Resources

Resources

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
PAIS - Public Affairs Information Service
Provides subject access to policy approaches in areas and issues of concern to governments, including economic, political, and social background information and statistics. The scope is international with access at global, regional, national, and local levels. PAIS International contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. The database includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 21 million MEDLINE citations and over 3 million additional life science journal article citations.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources, including links to molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions across the globe.
Abstracts and citations in ISI's Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Searches by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation; also for articles that cite an author or work. Along with an article's abstract, its cited references (bibliography) are listed for further searching.

Health.gov Dietary Guidelines
This is a joint publication from the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and the US Department of Agriculture (USDA).
Kaiser Family Foundation
Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. It develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations. We serve as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public.
Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP)
ODPHP encourages all Americans to lead healthy and active lives. It establishes and promotes national public health priorities, translating science into policy, guidance, and tools, and working to improve health literacy and equitable access to clear and actionable health information.
U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
CDC is the nation's leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public's health.
USDA FoodData Central
USDA’s comprehensive source of food composition data with multiple distinct data types
more...less...
https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/
World Health Organization
WHO supports countries as they coordinate the efforts of multiple sectors of the government and partners – including bi- and multilaterals, funds and foundations, civil society organizations and private sector – to attain their health objectives and support their national health policies and strategies. WHO also provides extensive open health information.

Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health
Authoritative information on consumer health-related questions, such as healthy nutritional guidelines or latest treatments for cancer. The content of Health Source: Includes searchable full text for nearly 190 journals, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Also included is USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and 20 health research books, thousands of essays from Clinical Reference Systems covering 8 major health related subjects such as adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health and sports medicine; Stedman's Medical Dictionary - providing users with access to terminology of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine; and searchable full text for nearly 1,190 health-related pamphlets.

AAFP Conditions
AAFP Conditions A to Z is a handy patient-information tool that’s been written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). The AAFP is a national medical organization representing more than 93,700 family physicians, family practice residents and medical students. Many are also available in Spanish.

Common conditions, treatments and health tips are presented concisely and informatively, and listed alphabetically or cross-searched in STAT!Ref online. Print the information for your patients to enhance understanding and health promotion.
JAMA For Patients
Content from 1998 to present created for patients.
MedlinePlus

Consumer Health Information
Information for patients and consumers

AHFS DI
AHFS DI from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists is a comprehensive source of unbiased and authoritative drug information licensed to respected publishers such as Drugs.com and The National Institute of Health (NIH). Provides drug information specifically written for consumers.
Drugs.com - Consumer Drug Information
Free Alcohol & Drug Rehab Centers - Texas
Provides a toll-free number to speak with a drug or alcohol counselor and provides links to find a rehab center in Texas.

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
The annual County Health Rankings measure vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America. The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play.
Data Sources
A list of some Texas, local, and national datasets.
Google Dataset Search
Search for datasets using a new tool developed at Google.
HealthData.gov
This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
Open Access Data Sets
A variety of links to data sets from the TWU-Denton Nursing LibGuide
U.S. National Center for Health Statistics
"The Nation’s principal health statistics agency"
UTA Libraries Day Family Research Lab
The UTA Libraries Day Family Research Lab (DFRL) is a hub of research support at UTA Libraries. The DFRL supports and partners with researchers through all aspects of the research cycle, from literature reviews to data management plans to digital dissemination. Support includes teaching and consultation on working with data, data management, data visualization, publishing datasets in Mav Matrix and other repositories, reviewing data management plans, and leveraging metrics such as bibliometric and altmetrics to measure research impact.

Subject Specific Databases

Interlibrary Loan

Request materials not owned by UTA Libraries

ILL (InterLibrary Loan)
Use ILL to get materials not owned by UTA Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Borrowing From Other Libraries
You have access to other libraries in Texas and elsewhere.
Distance Education & Disability Services
We will mail books and resources to you that are held in UTA Libraries.

Can't access library resources?

Connecting from Off-Campus
by Walter Betts Last Updated Jan 6, 2025 886 views this year

Citation Linker

Find a specific journal article, journal or book by citation information.