Most databases focus on different kinds of subjects; for example, health, business, technology, or literature. Your best resource is our "Subject Guides"; you can find that link on the library homepage, https://libraries.uta.edu/, under "Research." These guides recommend the best databases for that subject, as well as suggesting helpful print materials and websites. You will also find the name and email for the librarian who specializes in that subject.
I am able to enter my NetIDplus to sign in to library databases, but I get errors when searching or nothing happens.
If you see an error message that reads "There was an error accessing this database remotely," use the links on the error page for resolution. If you see a blank page or the page attempts to load but nothing happens, try to connect to a different library database to see if another one is working. If that one works, then there is probably a problem at the vendor's end outside the library, or we need to perform maintenance. Contact the library service desk staff at 817-272-3395 so that we can work with the vendor to solve the problem.
When I try to access the library database or resource from my workplace, I don't see the sign-in page to enter my NetIDplus OR I receive an error message that says something like site blocked, unauthorized, or connection refused.
This is likely an institutional firewall issue. Many workplaces use firewalls and/or proxy servers for network security reasons. If you cannot access things such as Internet banking from your workplace, then it is likely that your employer is blocking access to secure sites. Many problems involving remote access from a school or workplace will require the assistance of the IT staff at those locations. If they are willing, they can contact the UTA Libraries Library Systems & Technology staff, firstname.lastname@example.org, about opening certain ports so that you can have access to the library's databases.
When I try to connect to a library resource that is listed in my Canvas or online course site, I can't access it.
Sometimes the way the course site is set up may be incompatible with how the library has to regulate legal access to databases. Notify the instructor of the problem and ask him or her to contact the subject librarian for the course. We will provide information to correct the links. In the meantime, visit the UTA Libraries website, https://libraries.uta.edu/, for help finding resources. You can get help through the chat service, AskUs/FAQ, or call 817-272-3395.
I clicked the link for a database but it says I am "not authorized to use this database". I've signed in before; why can't I now?
If too many people are using a database at the same time, you will be denied access. The subscriptions that the Library purchases sometimes have limits on how many people can use a database at any one time. The solution is to wait awhile and try again.
When I try to access an article I added to my bookmarks, favorites or e-mailed to myself (persistent article URLs), it doesn't work.
If you are trying to access an article you have bookmarked or added to your favorites and you can't get in, you are probably not going through the EZproxy server, which authenticates you as a valid user. Copy and paste the proxy prefix, https://login.ezproxy.uta.edu/login?url= , in front of the article URL you are trying to access. If that doesn't work, go to the Library's homepage and search for the article by title. If you need help, use the chat service or call 817-272-3395.
I'm in a database and found results but when I try to open an item nothing happens or I get a blank page.