Subject and Course Guides: Education: Educational Leadership and Policy Studies: Find Resources

Background Information

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks (formerly named Gale Virtual Library or GVRL) provides a wealth of full-text reference and general subject books in a wide variety of subjects.
Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Source provides a series of articles representing multiple controversial viewpoints. This resource can be used as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.
Points of View Reference Source is a full-text database which provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Topics covered include such as: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, the Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardizing testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, etc.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides reports focused on topics of current interest covering a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. A great tool to use for discovering research topics and gathering background information.

Research Resources

The Great Brain Race by Ben Wildavsky
ISBN: 0691154554
Publication Date: 2012-08-26
Learn why Dr. Maria Trache recommended this book for the UTA Libraries' collection.
Increasing Access to College by William G. Tierney (Editor); Linda Serra Hagedorn (Editor)
ISBN: 9780791453643
Publication Date: 2002-03-21
Learn why Dr. Leaf Zhang recommended this book for the UTA Libraries' collection.
Higher Education in America by Derek Bok
ISBN: 0691165580
Publication Date: 2015-03-22
Learn why Dr. Barbara Tobolowsky recommended this book for the UTA Libraries' collection.
The Art and Science of Portraiture by Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot; Jessica Hoffmann Davis
ISBN: 9780787962425
Publication Date: 2002-10-17
Learn why Dr. Casey Brown recommended this book for the UTA Libraries' collection.

Data Sources
A list of some Texas, local, and national datasets.
National Center for Education Statistics
The NCES located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
United States Education Dashboard
To monitor the Country's progress towards reaching our goal, the U.S. Department of Education presents the United States Education Dashboard. The Dashboard is intended to spur and inform conversations about how to improve educational results.
UTA Libraries Day Family Research Lab
The UTA Libraries Day Family Research Lab (DFRL) is a hub of research support at UTA Libraries. The DFRL supports and partners with researchers through all aspects of the research cycle, from literature reviews to data management plans to digital dissemination. Support includes teaching and consultation on working with data, data management, data visualization, publishing datasets in Mav Matrix and other repositories, reviewing data management plans, and leveraging metrics such as bibliometric and altmetrics to measure research impact.

All Subject Specific Databases

Search by Citation Information

Find a specific journal article, journal, or book using citation information, such as a title, ISBN, or DOI.

Request materials not owned by UTA Libraries

ILL (InterLibrary Loan)
Use ILL to get materials not owned by UTA Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Borrowing From Other Libraries
You have access to other libraries in Texas and elsewhere.
Distance Education & Disability Services
We will mail books and resources to you that are held in UTA Libraries.

Can't access library resources?

Connecting from Off-Campus
by Walter Betts Last Updated May 10, 2024 9597 views this year