Subject and Course Guides: Mathematics: Find Resources

Background Information

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks (formerly named Gale Virtual Library or GVRL) provides a wealth of full-text reference and general subject books in a wide variety of subjects.
Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.

The A to Z of Mathematics: a Basic Guide by Thomas H. Sidebotham
Call Number: EBSCOhost e-book version
ISBN: 1280366990
Publication Date: 2002
In this age of cheap calculators and powerful spreadsheets, who needs to know math? The answer is: everyone. Math is all around us. We confront it shopping in the supermarket, paying our bills, checking the sports stats, and working at our jobs. It is also one of the most fascinating-and useful-subjects. Mastering math can make a difference in your career, your studies, and your daily life.
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences (online) by N. Balakrishnan, Samuel Kotz; Campbell B. Read, Brani Vidakovic (Editors)
Call Number: Wiley Online Library e-book version
ISBN: 0471150444
Publication Date: 2005
The online version of the Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences, the most indispensable reference for statistical content, includes the full text of the second print edition, the entire original edition, plus supplements and updates all rolled into one fully searchable site.

Research Resources

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of mathematic publications from 1940 up to the present
Continuing the tradition of Mathematical Reviews, MathSciNet includes reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification.
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
An open access e-prints service in the fields of physics, astrophysics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is an open access electronic pre-prints (e-prints) service that provides access to over 350,000 pre-publication scholarly works in physics and related disciplines, including: astrophysics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, computational linguistics, neuroscience, quantitative finance, statistics, and quantitative biology. It is operated and primarily funded by Cornell University. While not traditionally peer reviewed, arXiv.org uses an automated endorsement system: current members of arXiv.org scientific communities endorse new submitters. The database can be searched by keyword, as well as browsed by subject or date. Updated regularly.
Project Euclid This link opens in a new window
Theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics scholarly journals, conference proceedings, and monographs.
Designed by Cornell University Library to meet the needs of mathematicians and statisticians, and the requirements of librarians, for a cost-effective analog to conventional and costly serials and services. UT Arlington licenses the Euclid Prime package. See list of journals: http://projecteuclid.org/DPubS?Service=UI&version=1.0&verb=Display&handle=euclid&page=browse
SIAM Journals and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text access for Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics' journals as well as SIAM Ebooks.
Full-text and graphics access to all the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics' journals. In addition, Locus, SIAM's online journal archive, provides full-text access to holdings for 1953-1996. Also available are over 500 ebooks.

ScienceCinema This link opens in a new window
Science Cinema highlights scientific videos featuring leading-edge research from the U.S. Department of Energy. Using innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research, Science Cinema allows users to search for specific words and phrases spoken within video files.
Science Cinema uses innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research to allow users to quickly find video files produced by the Department Of Energy National Laboratories, other DOE research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). Users can search for specific words and phrases, and precise snippets of the video where the search term was spoken will appear along with a timeline. Users can then select a snippet or a segment along the timeline to begin playing the video at the exact point in the video where the words were spoken. Over 3,000 speech-indexed videos are currently available in ScienceCinema, and the database will continue to grow as new R&D-related videos are produced by DOE Laboratories and other research facilities.

Encyclopedia of Optimization, 2nd Edition (online) by Christodoulos A. Floudas, Panos M. Pardalos (Editors)
Call Number: SpringerLink e-book version
ISBN: 0387747591
Publication Date: 2009
The goal of the Encyclopedia of Optimization is to introduce the reader to a complete set of topics that show the spectrum of research, the richness of ideas, and the breadth of applications that has come from this field.
Facts on File Geometry Handbook by Catherine A. Gorini
Call Number: QA445.2 .G67 2003
ISBN: 0816048754
Publication Date: 2003
Located in the Science and Engineering Library reference collection (non-circulating)
Handbook of Applied Optimization by Panos M. Pardalos (Editor); Mauricio G. C. Resende (Editor)
Call Number: QA402.5 .H334 2002
ISBN: 0195125940
Publication Date: 2002
Located in the Science and Engineering Library reference collection.
Handbook of Green's Functions and Matrices by V. D. Seremet
Call Number: QA371 .S395 2003
ISBN: 185312933X
Publication Date: 2003
Located in the Science and Engineering Library reference collection.
Handbook of Mathematics for Engineers and Scientists by Andrei D. Polyanin; Alexander V. Manzhirov
Call Number: QA40 .P65 2007
ISBN: 1584885025
Publication Date: 2007
Located in the Science and Engineering Library reference collection.
Schaum's Mathematical Handbook of Formulas and Tables, 2nd Edition (online) by Murray R. Spiegel
Call Number: QA41 .S75 1999
ISBN: 0070382034
Publication Date: 1999
Located in the Science and Engineering Library reference collection. Students and research workers in mathematics, physics, engineering and other sciences will find this compilation of more than 2000 mathematical formulas and tables invaluable. All the information included is practical -- rarely used results are excluded. Topics range from elementary to advanced-from algebra, trigonometry and calculus to vector analysis, Bessel functions, Legendre polynomials and elliptic integrals. Great care has been taken to present all results concisely and clearly.
Transforms and Applications Handbook, 3rd Edition by Alexander D. Poularikas
Call Number: QA601 .T73 2010
ISBN: 9781420066524
Publication Date: 2010

UTA Department of Mathematics Dissertations & Theses
Includes T&D archived on UT Arlington's Research Commons since 2007. This database supersedes the Proquest Database, below, but you may find pre-2007 T&D in that database.

Dissertations and Theses at University of Texas - Arlington This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of UTA theses and dissertations published in Dissertation Abstracts, Master’s Abstracts, and Proquest Digital Dissertations.
A digital collection of UTA theses and dissertations published in Dissertation Abstracts, Master’s Abstracts, and Proquest Digital Dissertations. This database allows searching citations (author, title, advisor, etc.) and abstracts, viewing 24 page previews, and downloading the full text of dissertations and theses included. This is also a gateway site for searching dissertations from other universities published since 1997.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT Global) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations & abstracts for theses and dissertations from institutions in the North America and Europe. Many are available in full text.
The Dissertations Abstracts database contains citations for dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include abstracts. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include abstracts. Titles published from 1997 forward have 24 page previews and are available as full text PDF documents.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
OpenDissertations.org is a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs that brings an innovative approach to increasing traffic and discoverability of ETD research.
The program is free for authors and participating institutions with the desired end of making significant open-access content more readily discoverable to end-users within and beyond academic institutions.

Thesis & Dissertation Information
Information about preparing and submitting your thesis or dissertation

NSF Science & Engineering Statistics
"Publications, data, and analyses about the nation's science and engineering resources"
more...less...
Links to a wealth of statistical tables in many disciplines
Data Sources
A list of some Texas, local, and national datasets.
UTA Libraries Data CAVE (Center for Data Creation, Analysis, Visualization, and Exploration)
The Data CAVE provides support and services centering on data-driven research, e-science, and digital humanities data analysis. Services include teaching and consultation on working with data, data management, and data visualization; partnering with researchers in use and visualization of data through charts, infographics, and other tools; publishing datasets in Mavs Dataverse and other repositories; and reviewing data management plans.

All Subject Specific Databases

View more results...

Request materials not owned by UTA Libraries

ILL (InterLibrary Loan)
Use ILL to get materials not owned by UTA Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Borrowing From Other Libraries
You have access to other libraries in Texas and elsewhere.
Distance Education & Disability Services
We will mail books and resources to you that are held in UTA Libraries.

Can't access library resources?

Connecting from Off-Campus
by Walter Betts Last Updated May 10, 2024 9082 views this year

Citation Linker

Find a specific journal article, journal or book by citation information.