Subject and Course Guides: Texas History: TX Government Resources

Texas State & Local Government

These sites contain links to local, county, and state government resources.

City of Houston
Tons of information and links to a wide variety of Houston resources.
Harris County
Link to county government and information.
Legislative Reference Library
Legislative information, research tools, and resources for citizens.
State & Local Government on the Web
Choose Texas or any of the other state to find links to state, county, and city government sites.
Texas Government on the Web
A very comprehensive site that includes links to state and local government offices. Updated frequently.
Texas Legislature Online
Find out about pending legislation in the House and Senate, look up bills and voting records, contact your local legislator, and look at other options.
Texas Municipal League
Over 18,000 mayors, councilmembers, city managers, city attorneys, and city department heads are member officials of the League.

Texas Veterans

Texas Veterans Research
Tasked with accessing local veterans counts as well as a variety of other demographics? Well this guide is designed for you.

Online Texas Resources

Federal agencies hold much information relevant to Texas.

The U.S. Government collects many statistics. U.S. Government websites end in the domain names .gov .mil or .fed. You can use Google's Advanced Search to search within only those domains.

TexasOnline: Official Portal of Texas
The official eGovernment site of the state
Texas Natural Resources Information Systems (TNRIS)
The mission of TNRIS is to provide a "centralized information system incorporating all Texas natural resource data, socioeconomic data related to natural resources, and indexes related to that data that are collected by state agencies or other entities."
All About Texas Department of Criminal Justice

National Archives Southwest Region in Fort Worth, Texas

National Archives Southwest Region in Fort Worth, Texas
This branch, located in Fort Worth, holds historical records that date from the 1800s to the late 1900s and include letters, photographs, maps, architectural drawings, and other documents received from over 100 Federal agencies and courts in Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas. Highlights include NASA's records and records of the Dawes Act.
Southwest Regional Archives
The National Archives (NARA) Southwest Region in Fort Worth, Texas, is one of the National Archives' 11 Regional Archives. The Archival Research Catalog (ARC) includes descriptions of records held by the Regional Archives.
Guide to Archival Holdings at the National Archives Southwest Region (Fort Worth)
This guide provides record group level descriptions for archival holdings maintained at NARA's Southwest Region in Fort Worth. A record group, the basic unit of archival control, is a body of organizationally related records designated by a number and the name of the federal agency, bureau, or activity that created or received them. NARA's Southwest Region in Fort Worth has 86 record groups, representing Federal agencies, bureaus, or other administrative units including federal courts in Arkansa