Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Texas History: Texas

This guide focuses on resources useful in studying Texas history

Start Here: Texas Resources

Begin by searching for your topic in The Handbook of Texas Online. You will find an entry that gives an overview of your topic and a bibliography at the end of the entry to get you started on your research. If you do NOT find an entry, try to broaden your topic.

How to Research Small Towns

  • When searching for information about Texas towns, we suggest The Handbook of Texas. The Handbook provides an overview and bibliography with sources for further research. Many local histories have been compiled on towns, families, and counties that touch on local history and town founders. You can find many such resources in UTA Libraries Special Collections.
  • You can visit a town's local public library for help. For towns in the DFW Metroplex area, click here.
  • City and county offices and historical societies may also have historic data. Always call before making a trip and check whether the office has any information, whether you can see it, and what their hours are.

How to do research locally

Search the UTA Library Catalog for materials in UTA's Special Collections (6th floor, Central Library). Special Collections specializes in materials which document Texas and Dallas-Fort Worth area history. Special Collections materials on your research topic.

Find local resources for Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex History.

Online Sources

Librarian