Texas History: Special Collections&
Historical Agencies

This is the index to the microfilm collection, Texas as Province and Republic, 1795-1845.

(TARO) contains Special Collections' detailed guides compiled specifically to describe the arrangement and contents of a collection and to comment on its research potential. (SEARCH FOR: University of Texas at Arlington Library, Special Collections in drop down menu)

"Since 2003, the treasures of Special Collections have been highlighted in a weekly feature in the Sunday edition of the Arlington Star-Telegram."

"The greatest strength of The Texas Collection Library is the extensive and comprehensive collection of published books and periodicals in which Texas and Texans are represented. The following list represents the major holdings or most frequently requested materials.
Agriculture and Texas; Arts and Architecture in Texas; Biographies of Texans; Dissertations and Theses; Education and Texas; Ethnic Groups of Texas; Genealogy of Texans; History of Texas and Texans; Law and Law Enforcement of Texas; Literature of Texas and by Texans; Medicine in Texas; Politics in Texas; Regional Culinary Arts in Texas; Religion and Texas; The Sciences in Texas; Sports in Texas"

Collects, preserves, and makes available for research those records of individuals and organizations engaged in work reflecting the goals of the Catholic Church in Texas.

The Dallas Historical Society collects, preserves and exhibits the unique heritage of Dallas and Texas. Holdings include books, manuscripts, and photographs.

Preserves and protects collections of written, visual and audible materials that document the history of the Dallas Jewish community, and to make these materials available to the public and researchers.

Archives relating to the city of Dallas. Includes Kennedy assassination materials.

The collection of materials at the Texas/Dallas History & Archives Division is one of the largest of its kind in the nation. Our holdings span many aspects of the diverse history of not only Dallas and the surrounding area, but the entire state of Texas.

The Fort Worth Public Library has approximately 10,000 items pertaining to the history of Fort Worth and Tarrant County. These items include city and county government documents, newspapers, directories, cemetery association records, maps as well as popular and scholarly books written by local authors or about local subjects.

"The DeGolyer Library is the principal repository at SMU for special collections in the humanities, the history of business, and the history of science and technology. Great strengths of the DeGolyer Library include early voyages and travels, especially those bearing on the European discovery and exploration of the New World. The collection of Western Americana is numbered among the finest in the country, and the library also has exceptionally well-developed collections in the fields of business history and transportation history, in particular the history of railroads."

"With approximately 35 million records dating back to 1720, including approximately 80,000 maps, sketches and plat maps, the present-day [GLO] Archives collection continues to serve as the repository for the history of Texas land."

The Atlas features nearly 300,000 site records, including data on Official Texas Historical Markers and National Register of Historic Places properties in Texas.

"The Texas Historical Commission (THC) is the state agency for historic preservation. THC staff consults with citizens and organizations to preserve Texas' architectural, archeological and cultural landmarks. The agency is recognized nationally for its preservation programs." Topics include archeology, cemeteries, courthouses, historic markers, and military history.

Located at the University of North Texas, TSHA publishes the Handbook of Texas and the Southwestern Historical Quarterly, two crucial publications to those interested in Texas history.

The Texas State Archives preserves and documents the heritage and culture of Texas by identifying, collecting, and making available for research the permanently valuable official records of Texas government, as well as other significant historical resources. Maintaining the official history of Texas government, the State Archives includes archival government records dating back to the 18th century, as well as newspapers, journals, books, manuscripts, photographs, historical maps, and other histo

Includes material focused on the life of women in Texas and the Southwest. Also has a renowned cookbook collection and collections documenting Women Airforce Service Pilots (WASPs).

Includes collections of Larry McMurtry and Anson Jones.

"The History of Aviation Collection is the largest section of the department, consisting of a world-class aeronautical archive and library. The Wineburgh Philatelic Research Library is an outstanding regional resource for both philatelic and postal history. The Louise B. Belsterling Library holds an extraordinary collection of rare botanical books, including the library's oldest volume."

The mission of the Dallas Way is to gather, store, organize,
and present (in a variety of mediums) the complete GLBT history of Dallas, Texas.