Videos - Research Process :: Step by Step - Subject and Course Guides at University of Texas at Arlington

To restrict your catalog search results to videos, select the "DVD," "streaming video," and "videorecording" options in the "show content type" box located in the filter column on the left-side of the catalog search screen.

Search for films @ UTA Libraries

Databases with Video Resources

Film Databases

Texas Archive of the Moving Image
Archive includes home movies, amateur films, advertisements, local television, and industrial and corporate productions, as well as Hollywood and internationally produced moving images of Texas.
JustWatch
A free streaming guide, designed to help you find where to watch your favorite movies and shows online.

Alexander Street Collections This link opens in a new window
Provides access to music, video, books, music scores, primary source materials and more across a wide variety of subjects and disciplines.
Alexander Street Press Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 17,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street, all with a predictable annual cost. The massive breadth of content in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience with selected titles available.
C-SPAN Video Library This link opens in a new window
A gateway to the C-SPAN Archives where all programs aired since 1987 are indexed and available for immediate online viewing.
C-SPAN Video Library is a gateway to C-SPAN Archives where all programs aired since 1987 are immediately available to be viewed online for free. Programs are indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Digital Theater Plus provides users with the ability to: watch high quality films of leading theater productions, discover how plays are brought to the stage in interviews with the creative teams, learn about interpretive choice through detailed analysis of play texts, and teach key plays with stimulating and relevant support.
American Film Scripts This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 1,000 screenplays from significant films.
American Film Scripts contains over 1,000 scripts from significant films in the conventional screenplay format whenever possible. Many of the scripts have never been published before. The primary focus is on the written work, not the film itself, thus allowing scholars to study character development, structure of the film, plots, and scenes. The database can be searched by writers, scenes, characters, years, and subjects. It supports numerous disciplines, including film studies, history, sociology, and literature. Updated regularly.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Provides over 6,000 videos to stream, including more than 3,000 documentaries, related to American history.
American History in Video allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through documentaries, commercial and governmental newsreels and archival and public affairs footage. The collection currently contains over 6,000 videos, including more than 3,000 documentaries. It is the only online source for the full runs of newsreels from the United News and Universal Newsreel; important documentaries and series from The History Channel®; and archival footage. The collection covers all eras of American history, from the American Revolution to the Sixties. It can be searched/browsed by title, subject, topic/theme, publisher, and/or content type. Updated regularly.

NOTE: Users can register for a personal account to create custom clips, shareable playlists, folders, and more.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Upgraded to Anthropology Resource Library
Streaming video collection for the visual study of human culture and behavior, including works by world-famous pioneers in the field. It is global in scope with previously unpublished footage from anthropologists & ethnographers.
Streaming video collection for the visual study of human culture and behavior, including works by world-famous pioneers in the field. It is global in scope with previously unpublished footage from anthropologists & ethnographers.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video brings together more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays,together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.
Theatre in Video contains hundreds of titles of the world's leading playwrights, actors, and directors, including all 37 of the legendary BBC Shakespeare productions. Film documentaries, online in streaming video, and live performances cover pre-eminent names in the theatre: Henrik Ibsen, Eugene O'Neill, Arthur Miller, Samuel Beckett, Konstantin Stanislavsky, Tennessee Williams, and many more.
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Important opera performances, interviews and documentaries captured on video and available for streaming.
Opera in Video covers the full range of operatic composition from the Baroque to the Twentieth Century and presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas. Selections recorded represent the world’s best performers, conductors and opera houses. Specially developed controlled vocabularies let users browse by composer, genre, performer, ensemble, time period, and role.