Provides reports focused on topics of current interest covering a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. A great tool to use for discovering research topics and gathering background information.
The Almanac of American Philanthropy by
Philanthropy in America is a giant undertaking--every year now, more than $350 billion is voluntarily given by individuals, foundations, and businesses to a riot of good causes. Donation rates are two to ten times higher in the U.S. than in comparable nations, and privately funded efforts to solve social problems, enrich culture, and strengthen society are among the most significant undertakings in the United States. Until now, though, there has been no definitive book on America's distinctive philanthropy. This authoritative, highly readable new reference fills that hole. In a single volume, it chronicles the greatest achievements of American private giving, profiles the most influential donors, collects the essential statistics, and summarizes the best ideas on charitable assistance that have been written or spoken. Readers attracted to fascinating history, quirky biographies, and true Americana will enjoy the lively narrative of this meaty new book.
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Bloomberg Businessweek Magazine Archive is the digital version of the Businessweek backfile. With coverage starting at the magazine’s first issue in 1929, the archive contains more than 65 years' worth of content.Content Includes coverage from 1929 to 2000.
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Provides access to full-text, peer-reviewed business publications, as well as indexing and abstracts for many scholarly business journals.
Includes over 1,020 top educational publications, including more than 640 of the titles in full text. Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database offers complete text and images from journals such as: Childhood Education, College Teaching, Harvard Educational Review, Journal of Athletic Training, and Educational Theory.
Research findings from the National Bureau of Economic Research
Provides subject access to public policy issues of concern to governments, including economic, political, and social background information and statistics. The scope is international
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Provides full text for 550 peer-reviewed journals covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
This database is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
The Nonprofit Sector by
The nonprofit sector has changed in fundamental ways in recent decades. As the sector has grown in scope and size, both domestically and internationally, the boundaries between for-profit, governmental, and charitable organizations have become intertwined. Nonprofits are increasingly challenged on their roles in mitigating or exacerbating inequality. And debates flare over the role of voluntary organizations in democratic and autocratic societies alike. The Nonprofit Sector takes up these concerns and offers a cutting-edge empirical and theoretical assessment of the state of the field. This book, now in its third edition, brings together leading researchers--economists, historians, philosophers, political scientists, and sociologists along with scholars from communication, education, law, management, and policy schools--to investigate the impact of associational life. Chapters consider the history of the nonprofit sector and of philanthropy; the politics of the public sphere; governance, mission, and engagement; access and inclusion; and global perspectives on nonprofit organizations. Across this comprehensive range of topics, The Nonprofit Sector makes an essential contribution to the study of civil society.
Understanding Nonprofit Organizations by
J. Steven Ott's Understanding Nonprofit Organizations: Governance, Leadership, and Management is a collection of the most insightful and most recent readings about the challenges of managing a nonprofit organization in the United States. The anthology examines the distinctiveness of nonprofit organizations through the writing of scholars, consultants, and practicing executives. It focuses on governing, leading, and managing nonprofit organizations and how nonprofit organizations differ from both the public and private sectors. The 37 chapters speak to the most important functions, contextual factors and internal functions, concepts, and issues that face today's leaders and managers of nonprofit organizations. Understanding Nonprofit Organizations: Governance, Leadership, and Management is an ideal text for use in graduate and upper-division undergraduate survey courses on nonprofit organizations and management.
Nature of the Nonprofit Sector by
The Non-Profit Sector: An Overview is a collection of the most insightful and accessible writings about the nonprofit sector in the U.S. and its organizations. The book discusses everything from Andrew Carnegie's turn-of-the-century philosophy of philanthropy, to the most recent writings by current scholars and practitioners. Accordingly, the book contains previously published articles, chapters, and encyclopedia entries that present the most influential theories, concepts, and issues associated with the nonprofit sector.Furthermore, each chapter opens with a framing essay that identifies the central themes and issues presented within the chapter and provides an overview of sometimes competing points of view. Each framing essay also briefly summarizes the significance of the contribution of each writing to the development of knowledge in the field.
Philanthropy in Education by
Challenging commonly held perceptions of philanthropic organisations, this book brings together a range of interdisciplinary contributors from across the globe to explore the most pressing issues facing those working in and with philanthropy and education. It focuses on the increasing influence of new philanthropic actors on the global education sector, offering a thorough insight into the topic. This engaging book explores actor relationships in philanthropic and educational spaces, and examines different types of philanthropy, including corporate, family and state giving, as well as examining the latest trends in the field. Chapters build on research from the Global North/Global South, offering a wide range of perspectives on philanthropy and education in Africa, South America, North America and the Middle East. New actors, new partnerships and new roles emerging in philanthropic engagement with the education sector are highlighted, offering insight into innovative approaches to finance and the impact of public-private partnerships. Suggesting key areas of discussion for future research, this discerning book is a vital read for development studies, philanthropy and globalisation scholars. It also contains critical analysis of the role of philanthropic organisations working in the education space for policy-makers looking to understand the field in more depth.
Philanthropy in Democratic Societies by
Philanthropy is everywhere. In 2013, in the United States alone, some $330 billion was recorded in giving, from large donations by the wealthy all the way down to informal giving circles. We tend to think of philanthropy as unequivocally good, but as the contributors to this book show, philanthropy is also an exercise of power. And like all forms of power, especially in a democratic society, it deserves scrutiny. Yet it rarely has been given serious attention. This book fills that gap, bringing together expert philosophers, sociologists, political scientists, historians, and legal scholars to ask fundamental and pressing questions about philanthropy's role in democratic societies. The contributors balance empirical and normative approaches, exploring both the roles philanthropy has actually played in societies and the roles it should play. They ask a multitude of questions: When is philanthropy good or bad for democracy? How does, and should, philanthropic power interact with expectations of equal citizenship and democratic political voice? What makes the exercise of philanthropic power legitimate? What forms of private activity in the public interest should democracy promote, and what forms should it resist? Examining these and many other topics, the contributors offer a vital assessment of philanthropy at a time when its power to affect public outcomes has never been greater.
Generation Impact by
An insider's guide to the coming philanthropic revolution Meet the next generation of big donors--the Gen X and Millennial philanthropists who will be the most significant donors ever and will shape our world in profound ways. Hear them describe their ambitious plans to revolutionize giving so it achieves greater impact. And learn how to help them succeed in a world that needs smart, effective donors now more than ever. As "next gen donors" step into their philanthropic roles, they have not only unprecedented financial resources, but also big ideas for how to wield their financial power. They want to disrupt the traditional world of charitable giving, and they want to do so now, not after they retire to a life of philanthropic leisure. Generation Impact pulls back the curtain on these rising leaders and their "Impact Revolution," offering both extensive firsthand accounts and expert analysis of the hands-on, boundary-pushing, unconventional strategies next gen donors are beginning to pursue. This fascinating book also shows another side of the donors in Generation Impact: they want to respect the past even as they transform the future. They are determined to honor the philanthropic legacies and values they've inherited by making big giving more effective than ever before. If they succeed, they can make historic progress on causes from education to the environment, from human rights to health care. Based on years of research and close engagement with next gen donors, Generation Impact offers a unique profile of the new faces of philanthropy. Find out, directly from them: How they want to revolutionize giving to expand its positive impact on our lives and our communities. Which causes interest them, how they want to engage with those causes ... and, perhaps more important, how they do not want to engage. Which new tools and strategies for change excite them most. What they are learning from previous generations, and what they want to bring to their work alongside those generations. How we can all ensure their historic potential is channeled in ways that make our world better. The Impact Revolution will be messy, but it could also result in solutions for some of our most persistent problems. Generation Impact offers targeted, practical advice to parents, families, and their advisors, as well as nonprofit professionals--those who work closest with these next gen donors--on how to engage, nurture, and encourage them as they reshape major giving and make their mark on history. Help them channel their enthusiasm--and their wealth--to make the most positive difference in a world with such great need.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.
It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure). Details to establish the full-tunnel connection can be found here.
Factiva.com offers more than 25,000 of the world's leading news and business sources from 159 countries, 350 geographic regions and in 22 languages.
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Incorporates business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States
Full-text of the Wall Street Journal back to 1984. See also ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2002 ).
Unlimited access to articles on wsj.com. Access with mobile and tablet apps. Informative podcasts, featuring interviews with WSJ editors and notable influencers.
This resource is provided by the UTA College of Business.
Nexis Uni does not require an account, you may create one to save information from your session. To bypass registration, click 'Continue as Guest' located to the right of register/sign in area on the Nexis Uni home screen.
It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure). Details to establish the full-tunnel connection can be found here.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Please note while accessing Nexis Uni, users may experience security issues. Please refer to this guide to add Nexis Uni as a "Trusted Site."
A directory of detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses and 210 million U.S. residents. NOTE: Only 50 simultaneous users allowed.
Policymap is an online data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Data are available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries.
It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure). Details to establish the full-tunnel connection can be found here.
A mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Works best with Firefox or Safari. There are known compatibility issues with Chrome when accessing off-campus or through campus WiFi.
Please note only five simultaneous users are allowed.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities by providing access to a large database of machine-readable social science data sets.
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.
© 2016-23 The University of Texas at Arlington.
University of Texas Arlington Libraries
702 Planetarium Place · Arlington, TX 76019 · 817-272-3000