Subject and Course Guides: KINE 3415 Research Assignment: Research Paper

Research Paper Guidelines

Detailed Instructions, Templates & Examples
These are the detailed writing assignment instructions, and templates for every step of the process. Students are responsible for reading this document entirely, following all the instructions, and using the templates provided.

Basic Search Plan Worksheet
A worksheet to help in developing and refining a search strategy.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 21 million MEDLINE citations and over 3 million additional life science journal article citations.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources, including links to molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A major resource for indexing and full text for sports, fitness & sports medicine journals and other literature
SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is a comprehensive, international database covering sport, fitness and sports medicine literature. The database is derived from periodical articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and other sources. It covers sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education, and other sport and fitness related topics. Includes several specialized databases such as the French sports database Heracles, the SIRLS database, and the Sport History Project. Abstracts are provided for recent research articles. Provides full text for over 450 journals and magazines.

PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro is a free database of over 30,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality.

Physical Education Index (1970 - Current) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting of peer-reviewed journals, trade magazines, popular magazines and other materials. Covers all areas of physical education
Provides indexing and abstracting (since 2001) of peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, and articles from the popular press. Subject areas covered include physical education curricula, kinesiology, sports medicine, sport law, coaching and training, sport sociology/psychology, recreation, and dance. Provides links to some full text articles.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Database for scientific research that includes journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.

Use a citation management tool to create personalized databases of your source references.

Citation management applications will allow you to:

Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.

Zotero Guide
by Morgan Rowe-Morris Last Updated Jun 6, 2024 5105 views this year

Zotero
Zotero is an open-source online citation management tool (CMT). It is a fully fledged CMT that enables users to create, manage, and format all of their citations from books, journal articles, websites, and other types of sources. It is especially well suited to Internet-based research. For UTA's guide to using Zotero, please see:

Connecting from Off-Campus
by Walter Betts Last Updated May 10, 2024 9597 views this year