Interdisciplinary Studies

Authoritative information on consumer health-related questions, such as healthy nutritional guidelines or latest treatments for cancer. The content of Health Source: Includes searchable full text for nearly 190 journals, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Also included is USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and 20 health research books, thousands of essays from Clinical Reference Systems covering 8 major health related subjects such as adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health and sports medicine; Stedman's Medical Dictionary - providing users with access to terminology of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine; and searchable full text for nearly 1,190 health-related pamphlets.

The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL), is the authoritative resource covering the English language journal literature for nursing and allied health. Material from over 1,600 journals are included in CINAHL; online abstracts are available for more than 1200 of these titles. Publications from the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing are indexed. The database also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.

Provides subject access to policy approaches in areas and issues of concern to governments, including economic, political, and social background information and statistics. The scope is international with access at global, regional, national, and local levels. PAIS International contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. The database includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.

The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010. Highlights of the NHGIS include: State and county aggregate data and boundary files (1790-2010); Census tract aggregate data and boundary files (1910-2010); Census data at all geographic summary levels, including census blocks (1970-2010); Boundary files for metropolitan statistical areas (1950-2010); Boundary files for all standard geographic summary levels (1990-2010); County Business Patterns data (1970-2003); SABINS aggregate data and boundary files for School Attendance Boundary Zones, covering each grade, K-12, for many school districts throughout the nation (2009-2010 academic year).

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of materials held in the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) National Agricultural Library. It contains more than 4.8 million citations for journal articles, books and book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports. It covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, earth sciences, and environmental sciences. Many recent records are linked to online full-text documents. Updated daily

Access the USDA National Agricultural Library directly.

SimplyAnalytics (was SimplyMap) provides users the most current demographic, business, and marketing data available. It provides the following nation-wide data: Demographic Variables: Population, Age, Race, Income, Ancestry, Marital Status, Housing, Employment, Transportation, Families, and more. Historical census data: including 1980, 1990 & 2000, plus current year census estimates and 5 year projections. Business Variables: Detailed Consumer Expenditure, Business & Employee Counts by Industry (by NAICS Code), Consumer Price Index, Quality of Life & Consumer Profiles, and Market Segments. Life Stage Clusters are a neighborhood classification system based on the crucial factors (84 Possible Life Stages based upon: Age of Head of Households; Marital Status; and Household Income) that determine life's key decisions. EASI/Mediamark Research Inc. (MRI) Propensity Data: Produces current estimates of usage and consumption (propensity) for thousands of very specific and detailed products, including actual brand data, details of frequency of usage, and more; annually prepares estimates for about 3,000+ MRI categories of propensities using updated demographic estimates; and Propensity Data incorporates the following data: Automotive, Beverages, Sports, Ailments/Remedies, Apparel, Appliances, Attitudes/Lifestyles, Baby, Computers, Electronics, Family Restaurants, and Fast Food, Financial, Grocery, Insurance, Internet, Leisure, Media, Personal Care, Pets, Purchasing, Telephony, Travel. Health: Answers to frequently asked questions about disease, health status, doctor visits and more; Health Questions Age 18+ & under 18; and Death Causes Since there is some training required in order to understand a few concepts related to mapping, we highly recommend that you watch our 6 minute tutorial to get the most out of SimplyAnalytics. The tutorial can be accessed by clicking on the "Tutorial" link in the top right corner of SimplyAnalytics.

NOTE: Only 5 simultaneous users allowed.

A directory of detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses and 210 million U.S. residents. Researchers can search by company name, geographic area, business type or by combinations of these criteria. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, parent and subsidiary information, SIC and NAICS codes, competitors, and public filings information.

NOTE: Only 50 simultaneous users allowed.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) in a not-for-profit organization providing social sciences quantitative data sets. Subjects in this database include: political science, sociology, demography, history, economics, communication, international relations, gerontology, public health, criminal justice, and education. The archives include almost all major social science studies, including American National Election Study, Eurobarometer, General Social Survey and International Social Survey Program, decennial Census of Population and Housing, Voter News Service exit polls, US Congressional and UN roll call votes, National Crime Victimization Survey, and public opinion polls. Numeric data sets and documentation are contributed by government agencies, organization, research centers, and individual researchers.

This database has interdisciplinary coverage for urban affairs, business, international studies, education, nursing, etc. Specific themes listed include: Arms Control, the Commonwealth of Independent States, Democratization, the Department of Defense, Economic Policy, Education Policy, the European Union, Global Economics and International Trade, Health Policy and Health Care Reform, Human Rights, Immigration, Intelligence, Latin America, Science and Technology Policy, State and Local Issues, Terrorism, and Urban Policy. PolicyFile collects data from world renowned public policy think tanks including the American Enterprise Institute, Brookings Institution, Cato Institute, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Economic Strategy Institute, Heritage Foundation, Hoover Institute, Hudson Institute, International Monetary Fund, RAND Corporation, Urban Institute and the World Bank; university research program and publishers. Dozens of sources are combined to provide the user with a database of thousands of abstracts, fully searchable and linked via the World Wide Web. It includes information addressing virtually all aspects of public policy.

Provides subject access to policy approaches in areas and issues of concern to governments, including economic, political, and social background information and statistics. The scope is international with access at global, regional, national, and local levels. PAIS International contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. The database includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.

These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Independent Voices is made possible by the funding support received from libraries and donors across the U.S., Canada and the U.K. Through their funding, these libraries and donors are demonstrating their commitment to open access digital collections.

Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Fort Worth Business Press, Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.