Genealogy & Family History

NINES vets freely-available digital objects in nineteenth-century studies for scholarly integrity and aggregates metadata (or descriptive information) about them in a faceted search-and-browsing interface. The objects themselves are accessible via links to the federated websites that have contributed them.
Included are traditional texts and documents as well as “born-digital” materials. Also there are software tools that aid collation and comparative analysis and enable pedagogical applications.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers---The New York Times is a full-image archive that brings the entire historical run of The New York Times, the definitive voice of American journalism since 1851.

Collection features large-scale maps of 436 Texas towns and cities. These maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, planners, and environmentalists. The scale for these maps is 50 feet to an inch.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. BIPNA contains more than 350,000 citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia. Dates of coverage for content range from the sixteenth century to the present. The database is an essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, linguists, theologians, and policy makers. BIPNA will appeal to anyone interested in exploring the contributions and lived experiences of North America's Indigenous peoples. Updated regularly.

European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750, is an authoritative bibliography. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846 is a foremost repository of rare books and materials.

American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans, from the early colonial period to the civil rights movement of the twentieth century. This database contains materials from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection, one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world. Materials in this database span from the early 16th century to the mid-20th century and include: manuscripts, artwork, speeches, petitions, diaries and travel journals, correspondences, linguistic and ethnographic studies, photographs, maps and atlases, rare printed books, and American Indian newspapers.

NOTE: Users can register for a personal account to store searches, create image slideshows, and create a document library.

Contains records of 27,233 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. Format allows users to track information by time period and geographic region, and includes interactive maps that allow viewers to chart the trans-Atlantic connections. The accompanying data contains materials about people on board, owners and captains, ships' characteristics, and the geographic trajectory of each voyage.

European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750, is an authoritative bibliography. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846 is a foremost repository of rare books and materials.

Now compiled and accessible to researchers in one digital collection, this unique resource documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.