Subject and Course Guides: Genealogy & Family History: Home

Welcome!

This guide provides information and resources to help you research your family history.

Many of the resources presented in this guide are available on the free web.
For off-campus access to library databases, you must be UTA faculty, staff or an enrolled student.
For guest access to UTA library databases, you will need to visit the UTA Central Library.
Additionally, your local public library is a great resource for genealogy research, resources, and individualized help.

Recommended Resources

Ancestry.com (Texas residents)
Free access to records that have been digitized by Ancestry is available to Texas residents. This access requires you to create a free Ancestry.com Texas account.

HeritageQuest This link opens in a new window
Focused on genealogy this database consists of family and local history books along with U.S. Federal census images and name indices
This database consists of family and local history books along with U.S. Federal Census images and name indices. Information from the 50 states as well as Canada, England, and Ireland is featured. It is a combination of ProQuest's "Genealogy & Local History Online" database and "Heritage Quest." "Heritage Quest" is the largest genealogical data, products, supplies and equipment provider in the United States. It is growing to include the complete "U.S. Federal Census" from 1790-1930, the "Periodical Source Index (PERSI), the "Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files" and the "Freedman's Bank Records."

FamilySearch
A free service that gathers, preserves, and shares genealogical records worldwide.
Find A Grave
Find details about cemeteries and individual memorials. Memorials generally include birth, death and burial information and may include pictures, biographies, and family information.

America: History and Life (Full-Text) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural literature, from prehistory to present. NOTE: Only 6 simultaneous users allowed.
America: History and Life is a comprehensive source for U.S. and Canadian history and culture, from prehistoric times to the present. The database contains indexing, abstracts, and full-text for over 1,700 journals as well as books, book reviews, theses/dissertations, and film project reviews. A strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including English abstracts of articles published in more than 40 languages. This database is an excellent bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of American history, Canadian history, popular culture, American studies, literature/folklore, genealogy, women's studies/gender studies, multicultural studies, anthropology, sociology, and the history of science. The database corresponds to the print America: History and Life, which is produced by ABC-CLIO. Updated regularly.

NOTE: Only 6 simultaneous users allowed.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections This link opens in a new window
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. This content is not available for acquisition in digital form from any source other than EBSCO Publishing, and keyword searching is available on all titles.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections exists as a series of five databases created from a comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1876. These databases include 6,500 titles featuring more than 10 million pages of content from the seventeenth century through the late nineteenth century. The collection also contains titles in more than
two dozen languages including French, German, Norwegian, Spanish, and more.