Subject and Course Guides: Finance & Real Estate: Find Resources

Finance Background Information

Gale Ebooks
Looking for company histories? Gale Virtual Reference Library includes many volumes of the International Directory of Company Histories, Allows key word searches.
Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.
CQ Researcher
Provides reports focused on topics of current interest covering a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. A great tool to use for discovering research topics and gathering background information.

Encyclopedia of Finance by Alice C. Lee (Editor); Cheng-Few Lee (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387263366
Publication Date: 2008-01-22
This is a major new reference work covering all aspects of finance. Coverage includes finance (financial management, security analysis, portfolio management, financial markets and instruments, insurance, real estate, options and futures, international finance) and statistical applications in finance (applications in portfolio analysis, option pricing models and financial research). The project is designed to attract both an academic and professional market. It also has an international approach to ensure its maximum appeal. The Editors' wish is that the readers will find the encyclopedia to be an invaluable resource.

Research Resources

Academic Search Complete
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
Bloomberg Businessweek Archive
Bloomberg Businessweek Magazine Archive is the digital version of the Businessweek backfile. With coverage starting at the magazine’s first issue in 1929, the archive contains more than 65 years' worth of content.Content Includes coverage from 1929 to 2000.
Regional Business News
Incorporates business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States
Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Fort Worth Business Press, Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
Small Business Source
A comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books. It supports small business owners in all relevant areas from planning, financing and managing a business to exit strategies. Users also have the ability to search within specific ‘Business Topics’ and ‘Business Types’ relevant to their needs.

EBSCO eBook Collection
Online access to full text scholarly, reference and professional e-books (electronic books) from leading university, academic and professional publishers.
Online access to full text scholarly, reference and professional e-books (electronic books) from leading university, academic and professional publishers.
Ebook Central
Online access to full text scholarly, reference and professional e-books (electronic books) from leading university, academic and professional publishers.

Encyclopedia of Finance by Alice C. Lee (Editor); Cheng-Few Lee (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387263366
Publication Date: 2008-01-22
This is a major new reference work covering all aspects of finance. Coverage includes finance (financial management, security analysis, portfolio management, financial markets and instruments, insurance, real estate, options and futures, international finance) and statistical applications in finance (applications in portfolio analysis, option pricing models and financial research). The project is designed to attract both an academic and professional market. It also has an international approach to ensure its maximum appeal. The Editors' wish is that the readers will find the encyclopedia to be an invaluable resource.

Public Company Filings
Use the EDGAR search engine to locate required documents which disclose corporate operations and financials.
What "Going Public" Means
Going public happens when a private company decides to raise capital by offering shares for purchase in what is known as a company's initial public offering (IPO).
Yahoo Finance!
One of the first investment-oriented websites to become free during the dot.com era. Yahoo Finance! still provides individual investors with useful information about companies and performance of their stocks.

ARTstor
Can you find stock market cartoons?
ARTstor is a nonprofit, digital library comprised of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. The database encompasses artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. It is designed to be used by art historians, as well as researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images. The database can be searched by keyword, or, through the advanced search, by creator, title, location, repository, subject, material, style or period, work type, culture, description, technique, and/or number. A suite of software tools also allow users to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Updated regularly.

pixabay
Download royalty free photos and videos and share your own pictures as public domain with people all over the world.

SimplyAnalytics
It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure) and details to establish the full-tunnel connection.
A mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census back to 1980, and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), 2020 election data, and D&B's points-of-interest business file providing detailed information on over 5 million businesses. Additionally, users have access to the premium MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset with data on over 8,000 brands, psychographics, social media habits, daily activities, life events, and MOSAIC market segments. Users also have access to the CDC PLACES health dataset that includes 27 diverse health measures, such as Health Outcomes, Prevention, Risk Behaviors, and Health Status while the Community Lifestages dataset presents data based on Householder Age, Household Income and Household Family Status.. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created. Users may log in as a Guest, or create an account to save their work.
Works best with Firefox or Safari. There are known compatibility issues with Chrome when accessing off-campus or through campus WiFi.
Please note only five simultaneous users are allowed.

SimplyAnalytics (was SimplyMap) provides users the most current demographic, business, and marketing data available. It provides the following nation-wide data: Demographic Variables: Population, Age, Race, Income, Ancestry, Marital Status, Housing, Employment, Transportation, Families, and more. Historical census data: including 1980, 1990 & 2000, plus current year census estimates and 5 year projections. Business Variables: Detailed Consumer Expenditure, Business & Employee Counts by Industry (by NAICS Code), Consumer Price Index, Quality of Life & Consumer Profiles, and Market Segments. Life Stage Clusters are a neighborhood classification system based on the crucial factors (84 Possible Life Stages based upon: Age of Head of Households; Marital Status; and Household Income) that determine life's key decisions. EASI/Mediamark Research Inc. (MRI) Propensity Data: Produces current estimates of usage and consumption (propensity) for thousands of very specific and detailed products, including actual brand data, details of frequency of usage, and more; annually prepares estimates for about 3,000+ MRI categories of propensities using updated demographic estimates; and Propensity Data incorporates the following data: Automotive, Beverages, Sports, Ailments/Remedies, Apparel, Appliances, Attitudes/Lifestyles, Baby, Computers, Electronics, Family Restaurants, and Fast Food, Financial, Grocery, Insurance, Internet, Leisure, Media, Personal Care, Pets, Purchasing, Telephony, Travel. Health: Answers to frequently asked questions about disease, health status, doctor visits and more; Health Questions Age 18+ & under 18; and Death Causes Since there is some training required in order to understand a few concepts related to mapping, we highly recommend that you watch our 6 minute tutorial to get the most out of SimplyAnalytics. The tutorial can be accessed by clicking on the "Tutorial" link in the top right corner of SimplyAnalytics.

NOTE: Only 5 simultaneous users allowed.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
Faculty and graduate students in the College of Business are most often those who are interested in content that is focused on datasets from companies including company financials, and other business-related resources. To apply for an account, go to https://wrds-web.wharton.upenn.edu/wrds/
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is an Internet-based data research service from the Wharton School at the University of Pennslvania. WRDS is a comprehensive web-based data management system that allows faculty and students to easily retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources. WRDS is best known for its holdings of historical financial data from CRSP and Compustat. This data covers over 30,000 companies and includes security prices and trading volume, income and balance sheet items.

Data Sources
A list of some Texas, local, and national datasets.
Data.gov
UTA Libraries Day Family Research Lab
The UTA Libraries Day Family Research Lab (DFRL) is a hub of research support at UTA Libraries. The DFRL supports and partners with researchers through all aspects of the research cycle, from literature reviews to data management plans to digital dissemination. Support includes teaching and consultation on working with data, data management, data visualization, publishing datasets in Mav Matrix and other repositories, reviewing data management plans, and leveraging metrics such as bibliometric and altmetrics to measure research impact.

All Subject Specific Databases

Request materials not owned by UTA Libraries

ILL (InterLibrary Loan)
Use ILL to get materials not owned by UTA Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Borrowing From Other Libraries
You have access to other libraries in Texas and elsewhere.
Distance Education & Disability Services
We will mail books and resources to you that are held in UTA Libraries.

Can't access library resources?

Connecting from Off-Campus
by Walter Betts Last Updated Jan 6, 2025 4810 views this year

Citation Linker

Find a specific journal article, journal or book by citation information.