Subject and Course Guides: Film Studies: Find Resources

Background Information

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks (formerly named Gale Virtual Library or GVRL) provides a wealth of full-text reference and general subject books in a wide variety of subjects.
Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides reports focused on topics of current interest covering a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. A great tool to use for discovering research topics and gathering background information.

Research Resources

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMCC) covers areas related to communication and mass media.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMCC) covers areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. Along with indexing and abstracting of communication content, CMMC includes full text for over 450 journals.
Art Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for articles, art reproductions, biographies, conference reports, dissertations, exhibitions, reviews, and more. Some resources provide full-text access. NOTE: Only 4 simultaneous users allowed.
Art Index provides indexing for more than 600 periodicals and 13,000 dissertations published throughout the world covering all subject areas related the arts, as well as 200,000 reproductions of works of art within publications. Resources are primarily available in English with some available in foreign languages, including Spanish, German, and French. In addition to scholarly and commercial articles, this database contains citations for bibliographies, biographies, conference reports, exhibitions, obituaries, reviews, and more. Some resources published from 1997 to present provide PDF full-text access. Subjects covered include art history and criticism, architecture and architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles, and much more. This is an ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers. Updated regularly.

NOTE: Only 4 simultaneous users allowed.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.

Film Theory by Felicity Colman
Call Number: electronic resource
ISBN: 9780231850605
Publication Date: 2014-09-16
Film Theory addresses the core concepts and arguments created or used by academics, critical film theorists, and filmmakers.
Understanding Movies by Louis Giannetti
Call Number: PN1994 .G47 2011, Central Library 5th floor
ISBN: 9780205737543
Publication Date: 2010-01-21
This book is organized around the elements of film and provides readers valuable insight into how movies communicate and convey meaning to their audiences.
How to Read a Film by James Monaco
Call Number: PN1994 .M59 2009, Central Library 5th floor
ISBN: 9780195321050
Publication Date: 2009-05-08
A new edition of a genuine classic in film studies, featuring a new preface and several new sections.

American Film Scripts This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 1,000 screenplays from significant films.
American Film Scripts contains over 1,000 scripts from significant films in the conventional screenplay format whenever possible. Many of the scripts have never been published before. The primary focus is on the written work, not the film itself, thus allowing scholars to study character development, structure of the film, plots, and scenes. The database can be searched by writers, scenes, characters, years, and subjects. It supports numerous disciplines, including film studies, history, sociology, and literature. Updated regularly.
America's News This link opens in a new window
It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information here for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure). Details to establish the full-tunnel connection can be found here.
America's News diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. The database contains 1,250 sources from 53 states and territories and has 10 source types. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 - 2019) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2019) Historical Papers: The New York Times (1851-2019) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue
ProQuest Historical Newspapers---The New York Times is a full-image archive that brings the entire historical run of The New York Times, the definitive voice of American journalism since 1851.

Library of Congress: Historic American Newspapers

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Digital Theater Plus provides users with the ability to: watch high quality films of leading theater productions, discover how plays are brought to the stage in interviews with the creative teams, learn about interpretive choice through detailed analysis of play texts, and teach key plays with stimulating and relevant support.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video brings together more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays,together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.
Theatre in Video contains hundreds of titles of the world's leading playwrights, actors, and directors, including all 37 of the legendary BBC Shakespeare productions. Film documentaries, online in streaming video, and live performances cover pre-eminent names in the theatre: Henrik Ibsen, Eugene O'Neill, Arthur Miller, Samuel Beckett, Konstantin Stanislavsky, Tennessee Williams, and many more.
Alexander Street Collections This link opens in a new window
Provides access to music, video, books, music scores, primary source materials and more across a wide variety of subjects and disciplines.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience with selected titles available.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Provides over 6,000 videos to stream, including more than 3,000 documentaries, related to American history.
American History in Video allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through documentaries, commercial and governmental newsreels and archival and public affairs footage. The collection currently contains over 6,000 videos, including more than 3,000 documentaries. It is the only online source for the full runs of newsreels from the United News and Universal Newsreel; important documentaries and series from The History Channel®; and archival footage. The collection covers all eras of American history, from the American Revolution to the Sixties. It can be searched/browsed by title, subject, topic/theme, publisher, and/or content type. Updated regularly.

NOTE: Users can register for a personal account to create custom clips, shareable playlists, folders, and more.
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Important opera performances, interviews and documentaries captured on video and available for streaming.
Opera in Video covers the full range of operatic composition from the Baroque to the Twentieth Century and presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas. Selections recorded represent the world’s best performers, conductors and opera houses. Specially developed controlled vocabularies let users browse by composer, genre, performer, ensemble, time period, and role.

Library of Congress: Film & Video
Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
IMDb (Internet Movie Database)
A searchable database of more than 100 million data items including more than 2 million movies, TV and entertainment programs and more than 4 million cast and crew members.
Prelinger Archives
Holding approximately 11,000 digitized and videotape titles (all originally derived from film) and a large collection of home movies, amateur and industrial films.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences, encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures.
ARTstor is a nonprofit, digital library comprised of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. The database encompasses artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. It is designed to be used by art historians, as well as researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images. The database can be searched by keyword, or, through the advanced search, by creator, title, location, repository, subject, material, style or period, work type, culture, description, technique, and/or number. A suite of software tools also allow users to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Updated regularly.

NYPL Digital Collections
Provides access to numerous digital images from the collections of the New York Public Library.
The MET
The Metropolitan Museum of Art creates, organizes, and disseminates a broad range of digital images and data that document the rich history of the Museum, its collection, exhibitions, events, people, and activities.
pixabay
Download royalty free photos and videos and share your own pictures as public domain with people all over the world.

All Subject Specific Databases

Request materials not owned by UTA Libraries

ILL (InterLibrary Loan)
Use ILL to get materials not owned by UTA Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Borrowing From Other Libraries
You have access to other libraries in Texas and elsewhere.
Distance Education & Disability Services
We will mail books and resources to you that are held in UTA Libraries.

Can't access library resources?

Connecting from Off-Campus
by Walter Betts Last Updated Jan 6, 2025 2679 views this year

Citation Linker

Find a specific journal article, journal or book by citation information.