Subject and Course Guides: Environmental & Sustainability Studies: Additional Resources

Resources

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Covers all aspects of the human impact on the environment. It includes scholarly, government & general interest titles relating to global climate change, green building, renewable energy, pollution and recycling.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to hundreds of peer-reviewed bioscience research journals.
BioOne provides a unique aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact, peer-reviewed bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today's most pressing topics. Most of these journals are published by small scientific societies and non-commercial publishers. The database enables integrated access to interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Articles are available in HTML and printer-friendly PDF formats. Updated weekly.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Database for scientific research that includes journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is a platform for searching the most comprehensive body of engineering literature available in any one place. UT Arlington subscribes to two major databases on the Engineering Village platform: Compendex and Inspec.
Compendex (formerly Engineering Index) is the broadest and most complete engineering literature index in the world, with over 20 million records from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. Inspec, created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), is one of the world's most definitive bibliographic indexes, containing over 15 million records in the areas of physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, mechanical, production engineering and information technology. Engineering Village allows you to search both of these exhaustive databases simultaneously.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary coverage for urban affairs, business, international studies, education, nursing and other fields
This database has interdisciplinary coverage for urban affairs, business, international studies, education, nursing, etc. Specific themes listed include: Arms Control, the Commonwealth of Independent States, Democratization, the Department of Defense, Economic Policy, Education Policy, the European Union, Global Economics and International Trade, Health Policy and Health Care Reform, Human Rights, Immigration, Intelligence, Latin America, Science and Technology Policy, State and Local Issues, Terrorism, and Urban Policy. PolicyFile collects data from world renowned public policy think tanks including the American Enterprise Institute, Brookings Institution, Cato Institute, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Economic Strategy Institute, Heritage Foundation, Hoover Institute, Hudson Institute, International Monetary Fund, RAND Corporation, Urban Institute and the World Bank; university research program and publishers. Dozens of sources are combined to provide the user with a database of thousands of abstracts, fully searchable and linked via the World Wide Web. It includes information addressing virtually all aspects of public policy.

Exposed by Stacy Alaimo
ISBN: 9780816621958
Publication Date: 2016-10-15
The Principles of Sustainability by Simon Dresner
ISBN: 9781844074969
Publication Date: 2008-08-28
Future Earth - Advancing Civic Understanding of the Anthropocene by Diana Dalbotten
ISBN: 9781118854303
Publication Date: 2014-06-23
Adapting to a Changing Environment by Tim R. McClanahan; Joshua E. Cinner
ISBN: 9780199754489
Publication Date: 2011-11-28
Climate and Social Stress by Committee on Assessing the Impact of Climate Change on Social and Political Stresses; Board on Environmental Change and Society Staff; Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education; National Research Council; Jo L. Husbands (Editor); John D. Steinbruner (Editor); Paul C. Stern (Editor)
ISBN: 0309278570
Publication Date: 2013-01-14
Designing for Zero Waste by Steffen Lehmann (Editor); Robert Crocker (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849714358
Publication Date: 2012-01-10

Environment News Service
nvironment News Service exists to provide late-breaking news of the environment from across the United States and around the world.
Earth Negotiations Bulletin
The Earth Negotiations Bulletin (ENB) is a balanced, timely and independent reporting service on United Nations environment and development negotiations. It is the flagship publication of the International Institute for Sustainable Development – Reporting Services Division (IISD-RS).

America's News This link opens in a new window
It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure). Details to establish the full-tunnel connection can be found here.
America's News diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. The database contains 1,250 sources from 53 states and territories and has 10 source types. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Science in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Data Sources
A list of some Texas, local, and national datasets.
UTA Libraries Data CAVE (Center for Data Creation, Analysis, Visualization, and Exploration)
The Data CAVE provides support and services centering on data-driven research, e-science, and digital humanities data analysis. Services include teaching and consultation on working with data, data management, and data visualization.
U.S. Geological Survey Science Data Catalog
The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) provides information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems.
EPA - Envirofacts Warehouse
Retrieve information from multiple sources of Envirofacts' System Data for your area of interest.
USDA:NRCS Geospatial Data Gateway
Data repository developed jointly by the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the Natural Resources Conservation Service. The Geospatial Data Gateway provides one-stop shopping for natural resources or environmental data.
World Energy Council Dynamic Data
Includes World Energy Resources, World Energy Monitor, Energy Trilemma Index, and Energy Efficiency Indicators and Energy Efficiency Policies and Measures.
ClimRR
Understanding future climate conditions in cities and towns across the United States is necessary to prepare for future climate realities. To address this requirement, ClimRR — the Climate Risk and Resilience Portal — empowers individuals, governments, and organizations to examine simulated future climate conditions at mid- and end-of-century for a range of climate perils.

Encyclopedia of Sustainability by Robin Morris Collin; Robert William Collin
ISBN: 9780313352614
Publication Date: 2009-12-09
This three-volume encyclopedia explores the concept of sustainability in the contexts of the environment, economics, and justice.
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization by George Ritzer
ISBN: 1405188243
Publication Date: 2012-03-19
Containing over 600 entries on the essential topics of Globalization, this collection offers the definitive reference resource for students, researchers and academics in the field.
Dictionary of Energy by Cutler J. Cleveland (Editor); Christopher Morris (Editor)
ISBN: 9780080968117
Publication Date: 2014-10-20
The Dictionary of Energy, Second Edition is a comprehensive and authoritative reference on all aspects of energy and its role in society.
Environmental Encyclopedia by Deirdre S. Blanchfield
ISBN: 1414487398
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.

EPA Region 6 (South Central)
Serving Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas and 66 Tribes.
EPA: Toxic Release Inventory (TRI) Program
The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) is a publicly available EPA database that contains information on toxic chemical releases and other waste management activities reported annually by certain covered industry groups as well as federal facilities.
Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN)
CIESIN's mission is to provide access to and enhance the use of information worldwide, advancing understanding of human interactions in the environment and serving the needs of science and public and private decision making.
SEI - Stockholm Environment Institute
Connect science and decision-making to develop solutions for a sustainable future for all.
Bugwood- Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health
Resource from the University of Georgia that provides images, video, and data pertaining to invasive species in the United States.
PLANTS Database- USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. Includes photos, distribution maps, and information sheets.
Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment
The Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment was established by the London School of Economics and Political Science in 2008 to create a world-leading multidisciplinary centre for policy-relevant research and training on climate change and the environment, bringing together international expertise from across LSE and beyond, including on economics, finance, geography, the environment, science, law, international relations, development and political science.

All Subject Specific Databases

Request materials not owned by UTA Libraries

ILL (InterLibrary Loan)
Use ILL to get materials not owned by UTA Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Borrowing From Other Libraries
You have access to other libraries in Texas and elsewhere.
Distance Education & Disability Services
We will mail books and resources to you that are held in UTA Libraries.

Can't access library resources?

Connecting from Off-Campus
by Walter Betts Last Updated May 10, 2024 9169 views this year

Citation Linker

Find a specific journal article, journal or book by citation information.