Subject and Course Guides: Research Help Now: Find Data &amp; Statistics

LOOKING FOR DATA?

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Choose a database to start your research.

Below are just a few of the many databases you can choose from to find data and statistics. For a complete list, visit the Database A-Z list for data related databases.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities by providing access to a large database of machine-readable social science data sets.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) in a not-for-profit organization providing social sciences quantitative data sets. Subjects in this database include: political science, sociology, demography, history, economics, communication, international relations, gerontology, public health, criminal justice, and education. The archives include almost all major social science studies, including American National Election Study, Eurobarometer, General Social Survey and International Social Survey Program, decennial Census of Population and Housing, Voter News Service exit polls, US Congressional and UN roll call votes, National Crime Victimization Survey, and public opinion polls. Numeric data sets and documentation are contributed by government agencies, organization, research centers, and individual researchers.
Cooperative Data Program This link opens in a new window
The CDP includes GIS data layers, land use data, census data, development monitoring information, population estimates and small-area estimates for the North Central Texas region.
The following information on the North Central Texas region is included:
GIS data layers - Census geographies, major developments and features, road and boundary files

Land Use - Inventory of land based on use, such as residential, commercial, and industrial

Census data - Processed decennial and American Community Survey data

Development Monitoring - Identification and tracking of developments with at least 80,000 square feet , 80 housing units, or 80 employees on site

Population Estimates - Annual, current-year estimates of population and housing for cities and counties

Small-Area Estimates - Estimates of population and jobs by industry sector for sub-county areas such as Census tracts

UTA is bound by license to include a credit reference to NCTCOG in any publications that make use of the Content, Data and Services of the CDP in substantial conformity with the following: Content, Services, and Data from the North Central Texas Council of Governments Cooperative Data Program were used in the preparation of these materials.
Historical Statistical Abstracts of the United States, 1970-2012 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
In print, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Online it is 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets), both searchable and browsable. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
iPoll This link opens in a new window
The largest archives of public opinion polls with over 500,000 questions and answers asked in the U.S. since 1935. Available only to Faculty, Staff, and Students of UT Arlington.
iPOLL is the largest archives of public opinion polls with over 500,000 questions and answers asked in the U.S. since 1935. Topics include: economic issues/policy; education; elections, political parties/figures; government institutions; health issues; international affairs; news media/coverage; personal characteristics, beliefs, and lifestyles; polls and polling; science & technology; social issues; and U.S. defense & foreign policy. Also included are several thousand polls taken in some 70 foreign countries with emphasis on Latin America.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Start with the research guide in your subject area.

Find the research guide in your subject area - Research by Subject

Research guides are created by librarians who pull together the most relevant research resources for the subject area. First, click on the link above and find the most relevant research guide for your subject. Once you are in the guide, click the tabs at the top or side of the research guide to navigate. Look for "find articles" or "recommended databases" to see a list of suggested databases for specific subjects.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Visit the dataCAVE

The dataCAVE provides support and services centering on data-driven research, e-science, and digital humanities data analysis. Services include teaching and consultation on working with data, data management, and data visualization; partnering with researchers in use and visualization of data through charts, infographics, and other tools; publishing datasets in Mavs Dataverse and other repositories; and reviewing data management plans.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Need in-depth, personalized help?

Contact our Research Data Services team.

We are happy to assist faculty and student researchers at every step of a project, from discovery to presentation to publishing.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________