Subject and Course Guides: Research Help Now: Find a Database

LOOKING FOR A DATABASE?

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Choose a database to start your research.

Here are some of the most popular databases OR Browse the Database A-Z List

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Start with the research guide in your subject area.

Find the research guide in your subject area - Research by Subject

Research guides are created by librarians who pull together the most relevant research resources for the subject area. First, click on the link above and find the most relevant research guide for your subject. Once you are in the guide, click the tabs at the top or side of the research guide to navigate. Look for "find articles" or "recommended databases" to see a list of suggested databases for specific subjects.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Start with an interdisciplinary database covering broad subject areas.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's User Interface (UI) will transition to a new platform on Dec. 12, 2024, which include adjustments to current functionalities. Due to such adjustments, custom folders will not transfer, so it is highly recommended that users with their own MyEBSCO account locally save their content that's currently stored in their custom folders prior to the transition date.
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full-text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers. Additional titles are added to the collection as back files are digitized. Subject areas include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Folklore, History, History of Science Technology, Language Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Public Policy Administration, Science, Slavic Studies, Sociology, Statistics.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions across the globe.
Abstracts and citations in ISI's Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Searches by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation; also for articles that cite an author or work. Along with an article's abstract, its cited references (bibliography) are listed for further searching.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Project Muse offers full text articles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from quality journal titles provided by scholarly publishers. This database covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Browse the list of available journals and view tables of contents.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Want to try a single search across multiple databases?

Your search results will include articles from journals, newspapers, magazines, trade publications, technical reports, newsletters, and book chapters available online, full-text from the last five years. ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Search many of UTA Libraries databases at once.

When searching from off-campus, in Google Scholar click on -- Menu -- Settings -- Library Links. Search for "university of texas at arlington," put a check mark in the box and hit save. Then when you search in Google Scholar you will see "Find It @ UTA" next to some of the results. Clicking on that link will take you to the resource within the UTA Libraries database.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________