Skip to main content

CHEM 2181: Assignment Help

For CHEM 2181 lab library sessions

How to find a reaction

 

1) Access the SciFinder database from the “Library Databases A-Z” link on the library web page, click "S" and scroll down till you see SciFinder and then click on the link

Click Accept button for license agreement

​2) Under the Substances heading on the left-hand side, Click Chemical Structure link. Then, next to Structure Editor box, under "Search Type" click Exact Search button

*  Best to use the "Java" tab over the Structure Editor box, then click on the drawing box that says “Click to Edit”.      Using the "Non-Java" tab option does allow users to draw structures but some features may not be available thate are in the Java version.  is selected  over the Structure Editor box, then click on the drawing box that says “Click to Edit.” 

* DOWNLOAD Latest Version:  Using the Java-based structure and reaction editor optimized for SciFinder requires a Java JRE (Java Runtime Environment) and the associated Java Plug-in to link JRE to browsers.  A 64-bit version of Java is required for 64-bit browsers.

  • For all supported operating systems and browsers, use Java version 1.6.0_32 or later. 

You have the recommended Java installed (Version 7 Update 40).

  • Security requirements in newer browsers may require the most recent version of Java.
  • Visit the Java test page to test Java version, plug-in and active X on your computer.
  • Information about downloading and installing Java is available at the www.java.com download page. That site also provides for Java testing

3)  DRAW the assigned compound shown on sheet given in class or at lab session

  • Can use the Benzene hexagon icons at the bottom of drawing box or the template icon for a variety of compounds.    Structure can be rotated and/or flipped if needed. 
  • Then click OK and compound will be in box to view and make changes if necessary with “Exact Structure” already selected, then click Search

4)   From the “Substances results” page, click the green Get Reactions button (has a green beaker/flask)

  • Leave at default for All Substances and Product in dialog box and click Get

5)  Choose a reaction that has the compound in the product

6)  Draw the reaction results on assignment sheet

7)  Write down the Steps/Stages used in the reaction below the drawn reaction on assignment sheet

Steps/Stages

1.1

C:Pd(OAc)2, C:Ph2P(CH2)3PPh2, S:(CH2OH)2, 12 h, 60°C

1.2

R:Et3N, S:(CH2OH)2, 24 h, 145°C; 145°C → rt

1.3

R:HCl, S:H2O, 0.5-3 h

8) You must find a journal article citation and the journal must be in English.  Do not choose any literature citations that are a patent or a book/encyclopedia.

  • To be sure you have a journal, click on the article title link; on the following page – right side under “Source” which will tell you if it’s a journal, patent or book
  • To go back to reactions results page, click on the “return arrow” icon (upper left-hand corner) of page

9) If you want to complete the assignment later:

  • put a checkmark in the box of your chosen reaction, then click on the “print” icon and follow normal printing options to retrieve at the print station 
  • be sure and  get the citation information in order to complete that step of the exercise

You will NOT need to print the complete article for this assignment unless otherwise required by the lab instructor.  Usually just the 1st page of the article is required to print and turn in with the assignment.   

  • when printing the article, be sure it's printed in the pdf format, not html. 

 

Citation tips using ACS

Write the citation information in the correct format using the ACS (American Chemical Society) style.

Citation information includes: (authors, title of article, journal name, volume, issue and page numbers, database name, database URL and date accessed if an online journal)

o If a reference has two authors, give both names joined by the word "and." If a reference has more than two authors, give only the first name listed, followed by "et al."  Do not use a comma before et al.; always us a period after al.

 

o   When listing authors, use author’s last name, then first initial (do not spell out first name)

o   Article title is written as listed 

o   Journal title is to be abbreviated - However, one word journal names are not abbreviated

The citation must be a journal article and in English. May not use a patent or e-book (encyclopedia) source

o Be sure and add [Online] after the abbreviated journal title

The publication date follows [Online] and is bolded

o Capitalize all significant words in the article title

o Only volume number is given, omit issue number (usually found in parentheses)

o Database name is: SciFinder

o Database URL to use is: https://scifinder.cas.org

o Add date that article/source is accessed

If you want to complete the assignment later, put a checkmark in the box of your chosen reaction, then click on the “print” icon and follow normal printing options to retrieve at the print station