Subject and Course Guides: Engineering Sciences: Mechanical and Aerospace: Databases and Journals

Databases

Contrails Database
Contrails' focus is on United States Air Force technical reports from 1949 through the 1980s, which are much less consistently available online when compared to those issued by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and its predecessor, the National Advisory Committee on Aeronautics (NACA). The bulk of the Contrails' digital collection consists of pdf files of published technical reports scanned from paper originals.

more... less...

The Contrails database can be searched by title, author, laboratory, or any of the identification numbers assigned to a report (e.g., AD number, Task number, etc.).

DTIC Online

U.S. Defense Technical Information Center's gateway to unclassified technical reports and specifications. Formerly DITC Public STINET.

U.S. Defense Technical Information Center's technical reports and specifications, mostly in fields related to aerospace engineering and aerodynamics. STINET MultiSearch allows simultaneous searching of up to 34 databases including NASA, NIH, DOE, EPA, FDA, and USDA.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)

The database provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, images, and videos. The types of information included are: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.

The NTRS integrates the following three NASA collections and enables search and retrieval through a common interface:
• NACA Collection: Citations and reports from the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics period lasting from 1915 to 1958, with information dating back to 1900.
• NASA Collection: Citations and documents created or sponsored by NASA starting in 1958 and continuing to the present.
• NIX Collection: Citations and links to the images, photos and movies once contained in the NASA Image eXchange as well as other collections currently curated by NASA and its various centers.
SciTech Connect
SciTech Connect makes available over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.

SciTech Connect contains nearly 3 million citations, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites. It also has more than 445,000 full-text DOE-funded STI documents.

TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)

ASTM Compass
Provides full-text access to journals, special technical publications, manuals, books, proceedings, bulletins, and standards published by the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). NOTE: Please select the 'My Subscription' button below the search box to retrieve search results that we subscribe to.

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast full-text collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information published by the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). The collection includes journals, special technical publications, manuals, books, data series, proceedings, bulletins, and standards. ASTM standards, which include test methods, specifications, accepted practices, and accepted terminology, are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance safety, facilitate market access and trade, and build consumer confidence. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical engineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, environmental engineering, geological engineering, health and safety engineering, industrial engineering, materials science engineering, mechanical engineering, nuclear engineering, petroleum engineering, soil science and irrigation engineering, and solar engineering. Updated regularly.
Engineering Village

Engineering Village is a platform for searching the most comprehensive body of engineering literature available in any one place. UT Arlington subscribes to two major databases on the Engineering Village platform: Compendex and Inspec.

Compendex (formerly Engineering Index) is the broadest and most complete engineering literature index in the world, with over 20 million records from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. Inspec, created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), is one of the world's most definitive bibliographic indexes, containing over 15 million records in the areas of physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, mechanical, production engineering and information technology. Engineering Village allows you to search both of these exhaustive databases simultaneously.

UTA Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Dissertations & Theses
Includes T&D archived on UT Arlington's Research Commons since 2007. This database supersedes the Proquest Database, below, but you may find pre-2007 T&D in that database.

Dissertations and Theses at University of Texas - Arlington

A digital collection of UTA theses and dissertations published in Dissertation Abstracts, Master’s Abstracts, and Proquest Digital Dissertations.

A digital collection of UTA theses and dissertations published in Dissertation Abstracts, Master’s Abstracts, and Proquest Digital Dissertations. This database allows searching citations (author, title, advisor, etc.) and abstracts, viewing 24 page previews, and downloading the full text of dissertations and theses included. This is also a gateway site for searching dissertations from other universities published since 1997.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT Global)

Contains citations & abstracts for theses and dissertations from institutions in the North America and Europe. Many are available in full text.

The Dissertations Abstracts database contains citations for dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include abstracts. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include abstracts. Titles published from 1997 forward have 24 page previews and are available as full text PDF documents.
EBSCO Open Dissertations

OpenDissertations.org is a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs that brings an innovative approach to increasing traffic and discoverability of ETD research.

The program is free for authors and participating institutions with the desired end of making significant open-access content more readily discoverable to end-users within and beyond academic institutions.

Thesis & Dissertation Information
Information about preparing and submitting your thesis or dissertation

MatWeb-Material Property Data
A database of material properties with data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials."
NSF Science & Engineering Statistics
"Publications, data, and analyses about the nation's science and engineering resources"

more... less...

Links to a wealth of statistical tables in many disciplines
More Data Sources
A list of some Texas, local, and national datasets.
UTA Libraries Day Family Research Lab
The UTA Libraries Day Family Research Lab (DFRL) is a hub of research support at UTA Libraries. The DFRL supports and partners with researchers through all aspects of the research cycle, from literature reviews to data management plans to digital dissemination. Support includes teaching and consultation on working with data, data management, data visualization, publishing datasets in Mav Matrix and other repositories, reviewing data management plans, and leveraging metrics such as bibliometric and altmetrics to measure research impact.

AccessEngineering

Please ensure your Access Profile is up to date. Starting October 14, 2025, users who have Access Profiles will be required to sign into their Profile with an email address. If you have an Access Profile, please ensure you have a current email address on file, as you will need it to sign in to your Access Profile going forward.
AccessEngineering is a reference tool that contains textbooks targeted for upper level and elective courses, a series of Schaum’s Outlines exercise drills and professional handbooks for engineers in all disciplines. With over 750 titles, you will find supplemental material (including videos, charts, calculators, etc) that can be incorporated into courses, ingraining in students the foundational background they are required to understand in order to execute the hands-on projects in their Senior Design courses, internships and future professional work.
Aerospace Database (1962 - Current)
See SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest).
AIAA ARC: Aerospace Research Central

It is highly recommended to utilize full tunnel VPN for Wi-Fi and off-campus access. See information for VPN installation with Ivanti (formerly known as Pulse Secure) and details to establish the full-tunnel connection.
Contains full-text access to AIAA Journal and meeting papers published by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics from 1963 to present. Also includes current subscriptions to Journal of Aircraft (2003-present), Journal of Guidance, Control, and Dynamics (2003-present), Journal of Propulsion and Power (2003-present), Journal of Spacecraft and Rockets (2005-present), and Journal of Thermophysics and Heat Transfer (2003-present).

Subscription does not include access to AIAA Standards or Books.
ASME Digital Collection

Provides abstracts and select full-text access to journals published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). NOTE: Access is limited to selected titles and excludes Conference Proceedings.

The ASME Digital Collection (formerly ASME Digital Library) provides select full-text access to journals published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). This collection contains some of the most important technical materials related to the fields of mechanical engineering, gas turbines, manufacturing science, solar energy, nanotechnology, biomechanical engineering, fluids engineering, and more. Updated weekly.

NOTE: Excludes Conference Proceedings.
Compendex (Engineering Index)

Covers engineering research literature, containing references to citations from global engineering journals and conferences. To access, choose from "Select a database" drop-down list.
Comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to millions of citations from thousands of engineering journals and conferences. Includes global information for technical professionals, researchers and managers in the engineering field.
Web of Science

A collection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions across the globe.

Abstracts and citations in ISI's Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Searches by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation; also for articles that cite an author or work. Along with an article's abstract, its cited references (bibliography) are listed for further searching.

ASM Handbooks Online
Provides full-text access to the complete contents of the ASM (American Society for Metals) Handbook and several additional resources.

ASM Handbooks Online provides electronic access to the complete contents of the ASM Handbook published by the American Society for Metals (ASM). This resource, often referred to as The Metals Handbook, features extensive information and data about the selection, processing, performance, and analysis of all types of structural materials, including ferrous and non-ferrous metals. In addition to the ASM Handbook, users have access to: the ASM Handbook Supplements, the Engineered Materials Desk Edition, the Metals Handbook Desk Edition, the Reference Information Library, and the ASM Handbook Archive. Content for all of these resources is only available in HTML (web) format. Updated regularly.
ASTM Compass
Provides full-text access to journals, special technical publications, manuals, books, proceedings, bulletins, and standards published by the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). NOTE: Please select the 'My Subscription' button below the search box to retrieve search results that we subscribe to.

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast full-text collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information published by the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). The collection includes journals, special technical publications, manuals, books, data series, proceedings, bulletins, and standards. ASTM standards, which include test methods, specifications, accepted practices, and accepted terminology, are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance safety, facilitate market access and trade, and build consumer confidence. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical engineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, environmental engineering, geological engineering, health and safety engineering, industrial engineering, materials science engineering, mechanical engineering, nuclear engineering, petroleum engineering, soil science and irrigation engineering, and solar engineering. Updated regularly.
IEEE Xplore
Please note that some publications contain reprint articles for which IEEE does not hold copyright.
Search and browse publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).

Search and browse publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET, successor to the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE)). IEEE Xplore contains all of the IEEE and IET publications: Journals, transactions, magazines, conference and colloquia proceedings, and IEEE Standards.

SAE Handbook on CD-ROM by Society of Automotive Engineers
Call Number: TL151 .S62, Reserve

Publication Date: 2010

Includes all SAE ground vehicle standards current as of 2010. Available at the Science and Engineering Library Reserves Desk.

SAGE Research Methods

An online search tool that provides information and instruction on research methods. It is aimed at university students, researchers, and faculty and is designed to answer methods questions that arise during the various steps of the research process, including the literature search, review, research design, data collection, analysis, and write up.

SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book”, the "Little Blue Book” series, two major works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

ScienceCinema

Science Cinema highlights scientific videos featuring leading-edge research from the U.S. Department of Energy. Using innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research, Science Cinema allows users to search for specific words and phrases spoken within video files.

Science Cinema uses innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research to allow users to quickly find video files produced by the Department Of Energy National Laboratories, other DOE research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). Users can search for specific words and phrases, and precise snippets of the video where the search term was spoken will appear along with a timeline. Users can then select a snippet or a segment along the timeline to begin playing the video at the exact point in the video where the words were spoken. Over 3,000 speech-indexed videos are currently available in ScienceCinema, and the database will continue to grow as new R&D-related videos are produced by DOE Laboratories and other research facilities.

Interlibrary Loan

Request materials not owned by UTA Libraries

ILL (InterLibrary Loan)
Use ILL to get materials not owned by UTA Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Borrowing From Other Libraries
You have access to other libraries in Texas and elsewhere.
Distance Education & Disability Services
We will mail books and resources to you that are held in UTA Libraries.

Can't access library resources?

Connecting from Off-Campus
by Walter Betts Last Updated Jan 6, 2025 8937 views this year

Citation Linker

Find a specific journal article, journal or book by citation information.