Mexican, Mexican-American, Chicano, and Latinx History in the Archives

GA16 -17
1878-1964, bulk 1878-1907
2 boxes

Adina de Zavala was the granddaughter of Lorenzo de Zavala, a prominent figure in early Texas history. She was heavily involved in efforts to preserve historical Texas sites and landmarks throughout her life. The Adina de Zavala Papers contain correspondence, manuscripts, literary works, printed material, and ephemera that document her preservation activities and her interest in Texas and family history.
There are four series consisting of 39 folders. Series I consists of handwritten letters that Adina de Zavala received from various individuals from 1878 to 1957. Series II contains literary works written by Adina de Zavala or works collected by her. Series III contains newspaper clippings dating from 1905 to 1964. Series IV of the collection is a miscellaneous series.

AR 173
1971-1975; 1991-1993
8 folders

This collection contains newsletters, a directory, correspondence, printed material, and campaign materials. Newsletters include El Alacran, 1972-1975, and AMAS Newsletter, 1991-1992, both published by AMAS, and pertain to campus events and local and national news events concerning Mexican-Americans. A directory of members of the UTA organization is present. Materials pertaining to the Raza Unida Party and the Ramsey Muniz campaign include correspondence, printed material, and campaign memorabilia. Printed materials include platform resolutions, agendas, flyers, and brochures; and campaign memorabilia include bumper stickers, ribbons, and buttons.

AR 639
1903-2000
3 boxes

This collection includes correspondences, manuscripts, maps, photographs, oral history interviews, clippings, press releases, newsletters, printed materials, research notes and files, and artifacts regarding the research of Cement City by Alexander M. Troup and associates. Cement City was an independent town later incorporated into Dallas, and was located in West Dallas in a neighborhood now called Ledbetter or Eagle Ford. The area was built around the Trinity Portland Cement Company. Materials include information on burial locations for Mexicans and Mexican-Americans in West Dallas, the history and preservation of El Camposanto de Cemento Grande Cemetery, also known as Cement City Cemetery or Trinity Portland Cemetery, and information on local cemeteries such as Horton Cemetery, Eagle Ford Cemetery, Fish Trap/Old French Cemetery, and the West Dallas/Western Heights Cemetery.
Collection includes Beginnings and Evolution of the Mexican-American Hispanic Communities in Dallas County: People, Places and Folklore by Alexander M. Troup & Associates, 1998. Publication includes history of Cement City, burial information, and genealogical research of the family of Henry Martinez Sr., whose brother, Eladio Martinez, was killed during WWII and is the last recorded burial at El Camposanto de Cemento Grande.

GA 29
1846-1905
1 Folder

The collection contains the papers of Sabás García, who lived in Tacubaya, Mexico City, Mexico. Papers include correspondence, records of his military service, including his time during the U.S. War with Mexico, government employment, and his ownership of the mine called Guadalupe Espíritu Santo. Specific documents of note are a certificate of valor awarded to Sabás in 1857, a summary of his military record and civil service created in 1895, and a certified copy of the award for bravery given to Sabás in 1847. Mentioned in the collection are: Manuel García y Pacheco, father of Sabás, Hugo Risse, and G. A. Stein.

GA 137
1846-1848
2.5 inches of correspondence

This collection consists of correspondence received by the office of José María Parás, mayor of Montemorelos, Nuevo León, Mexico. The correspondence was largely written during the U.S. occupation of Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico. Correspondence includes information on political, civil, and judiciary internal affairs of the region, complaints and reports on the behavior and actions of the occupying American soldiers, and interactions between the State Municipal Authorities and the temporary Military American governing body.

GA 132 - 137
1593-1798
6 boxes

This collection consists of documents and transcriptions related to the political and religious governance of Linares, Nuevo León, Mexico, and various regions in Mexico. Also includes legal records, election records, Royal orders, and land purchases.
Collection includes records regarding Indigenous Cuatepeque land, 1599, Linares marriage licenses, 1730-1731, Linares elections, and correspondences.

Full listing of materials is available.

GA 138, GO 30
1847-1900
1 folder, 1 OS folder

This collection contains broadsides and pamphlets regarding religious leadership, opinions, and announcements, as well as political announcements and events. These materials are from Honduras, Guatemala, and El Salvador.
Full listing of materials is available.

AR339
1588-1910
4 boxes

A collection of miscellaneous Mexican manuscripts and papers collected by Frank Madis. Includes correspondence, legal and financial documents, religious imprints, newspapers, broadsides, royal and government decrees, and state government documents. Most of the documents originated in Coahuila, Durango, Mexico City, Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Puebla, and Zacatecas.