Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases and Reference Sites
UTA Subject Course Guide - Hispanic Culture
Course guide for Hispanic Heritage. Includes listings of recommended databases, articles, books, primary sources, United Fruit Workers (UFW) resources, and research assistance.
Catalogo de las Fotocopias de los Documentos y Periodicos Yucatecos en la Biblioteca de la Universidad de Texas en Arlington
A digital catalog of documents and periodicals from the State of Yucatan, Mexico, that are stored in microfilms at the Special Collections.
A Continent Divided: The US - Mexico War
UT Arlington Library's Special Collections serves as the repository for one of the most comprehensive archives relating to the U.S. - Mexico War in either the United States or Mexico. The core of these holdings was acquired by Fort Worth attorney Jenkins Garrett, who in 1973 donated to UT Arlington his collection of more than 10,000 discrete items on Texas and the war with Mexico, including broadsides, sheet music, manuscripts, maps and graphic materials. In 1995, Garrett and Special Collections librarian Kit Goodwin compiled a bibliography of the collection entitled The Mexican-American War of 1846-1848: A Bibliography of the Holdings of the Libraries. Garrett continued to add to the collection until his death in 2010. The UT Arlington Library is continuing to expand these holdings.
Border Land: The Struggle for Texas, 1820-1879
This project maps sites of conflict between Native Americans and Euro-Americans in Texas from the creation of the First Mexican Republic to the outbreak of the U.S.-Mexico War (1821-1846).
A selection of maps from UTA's collection of original maps. Maps of Texas and the Southwest, Mexico, Europe, and Africa.
Handbook of Texas: Mexican Americans
The Handbook of Texas
is a digital state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA) that is free and accessible on the Internet for students, teachers, scholars, and the general public. The Handbook consists of overview, general, and biographical entries focused on the entire history of Texas from the indigenous Native Americans and the Prehistoric Era to the state’s diverse population and the Modern Age. These entries emphasize the role Texans played in state, national, and world history. The TSHA continuously expands the Handbook through multi-year spinoff projects that focus on diverse topics to preserve all Texans’ history.
Latin American Network Information Center
Trusted Internet portal for Latin American Studies content since 1992. Includes resource guides by subject, such as education, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes resource guides by region and digital initiatives.
Civil Rights in Black and Brown
Covering the period since the onset of the Civil Rights era, the interviews with African American, Mexican American, and white activists located throughout Texas adds new depth to the study of “black/brown” and multicultural relations past and present. The project recovers the role of local people in the black civil rights and Chicano/a movements in Texas and sheds new light on the relationships between local, state, and national actors. It provides fresh insights into inter-ethnic collaboration, conflict, and everything in between—all grounded in the lived experiences of the grassroots organizers and participants in the two intersecting freedom struggles.
Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Collection
The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Collection is within the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), a cooperative digital library for newspapers from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. dLOC continues to add historical and current newspapers through ongoing digitization and born-digital curation, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers.
REFUSING TO FORGET
Between 1910 and 1920 ethnic Mexicans living on the Texas-Mexico border were targets of state-sanctioned violence. Although historians estimate that several thousand Mexican nationals and American citizens were killed, this period of violence has received little public attention. Refusing to Forget, an award-winning educational non-profit, hopes that in bringing public awareness to this often forgotten period, we can also raise the profile of a struggle for justice and civil rights that continues to influence social relationships today.
Onda Latina: The Mexican-American Experience
The Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" on the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.
A group of women are seen with a plate of tamales during the Mexican Independence Day fiesta at Marine Park in Fort Worth, September 1986. From the Fort Worth Star-Telegram Collection.
Mexican Presbyterian Center entertainers at the International program. The girls, left to right, Misses Elizabeth Walls, Leonor Ramirez and Juanita Rodriquez are wearing fiesta costumes for their rendition of Mexican music, May 1944. From the Fort Worth Star-Telegram Collection.
Encyclopedias and References
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture
2 volume English language encyclopedia covering topics regarding Mexican culture and ethnicities, history, notable people, folklore, and other relevant topics. This text was a collaborative work of over 300 scholars and contains over 500 entries. Arranged alphabetically.
F 1210 .E63 1997
Encyclopedia of the Mexican American civil rights movement
Contains alphabetically arranged entries that provide information on Mexican Americans' struggle for civil rights and equality.
E 184.M5 M458 2000
500 años del pueblo chicano = 500 years of Chicano history in pictures
A photo essay of Chicano history compiled through the perspective of the Chicano Rights movement. Originally written in 1976, revised in 1991.
E 184 .M5 A16 1991
The Mexican American Family Album
The American Family Album series tells the often heroic stories of American immigrant groups, largely through their own words and pictures. Like any family album, the pages contain period photographs, memorabilia, selections from diaries, letters, memoirs, and newspapers. Each book is a pictorial and written record of the country left behind, the journey to America, and the group's contributions to the United States. 142 illustrations.
E 184 .M5 H66 1994
Tejano leadership in Mexican and Revolutionary Texas
Jesús F. de la Teja and ten other scholars examine the lives, careers, and influence of many long-neglected but historically significant Tejano leaders who were active and influential in the formation, political and military leadership, and economic development of Texas.
F 395.M5 T453 2010
Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America
The heart of the collection is the recordings, both audio and video, in a wide range of genres: narratives, chants, oratory, conversations, songs, and more. Many recordings are transcribed and translated into Spanish, English or Portuguese. The archive also contains a wealth of language documentation materials: grammars, dictionaries, ethnographies, and field notes. The collection includes teaching materials for bilingual education and language revitalization programs. The Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America is committed to serving the Indigenous Peoples of Latin America and the scholars who study their languages.