Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Listed below is a short bibliography of books on Mexican Americans, Chicanos, and Latinx in Texas history in Special Collections. It is intended as a starting place for research on this topic. Consult the online library catalog for additional sources.
Nahuatl Manuscript: The original, a Nahua ritual manuscript, consists of 14 pieces of Mexican deer skin of varying length, glued together to form a continuous strip, 10 m. x 27 m., covered with pictograph writing on both sides; it is folded into 39 leaves. The facsimile manuscript is reproduced on a strip of thick paper folded accordion-style into 39 leaves.
F1219.56.B65 C63 2008
Xtol : dance of the ancient Mayan people
Murals from the Temple of the Tigers at Chichén Itzá, Yucatan, Mexico ; eleven block prints. By Octavio Medellin.
F1435.3.A7 M43 1947
A facsimile of a Maya manuscript in two parts, folded accordion fashion and commentary in German by H. Deckert and F. Anders with bibliographical references and preface also in English.
F 1435.3 .P6 C54 1975
Primera parte de los Commentarios reales, que tratan, de el origen de los Incas, reyes, que fueron del Perù, de su idolatria, leyes, y govierno, en paz, y en guerra...
A Royal Commentary addressing the origins of the Inca, their Kings, religion, laws, and government during peacetime and times of war. The text focuses on Inca culture before the arrival of the Spanish. 1723.
F 3442 .G234
Compendio de la historia de la Republica O. del Uruguay : comprende el descubrimiento, conquista y poblacion del Rio de la Plata
Compendium of the history of the Oriental Republic of Uruguay: including the discovery, conquest and population of Rio de la Plata. 1895-1902.
American Serial Register for the year 1829-30, or the Fifty Fourth Year of American Independence
A register of political events and publications relating to the United States and Americas. Includes contemporary descriptions and current events of Mexico, Colombia, Argentina, and the Iberian Peninsula. Relevant public documents published in this text are as follows:
- Treaty Between the United States and Brazil
- Message of President Vicente Guerrero to the Mexican Congress, proclamation of abolishing slavery
- Proclamation of the Liberator (Simon Bolivar) to the Colombians
- Proclamation of General Paez to the Venezuelans
- Speech of the Emperor of Brazil on the opening of the General Assembly
Benito Juarez: Documentos, discursos y correspondencia
A 15-volume set containing reprints of the Benito Juarez papers. Includes correspondence, documents, and speeches.
F 1233 .J885
Seis siglos de historia gráfica de México, 1325-1900
A two-volume pictorial work depicting the history of Mexico from 1325 to 1900.
F 1226 .C37 1962
Historia gráfica de la Revolución Mexicana, 1900-1960.
A four-volume pictorial work depicting the history of the Mexican Revolution and its impact on Mexico, 1900 to 1960.
F 1234 .C425
These three Mexican officials arrived Monday to inspect Fort Worth stockyards and packing plants and obtain ideas which will aid Mexico in its newly-declared war against the Axis, June 1942 From the Fort Worth Star-Telegram Collection.
Tejanos in gray: Civil War letters of Captains Joseph Rafael de La Garza and Manuel Yturri
Gathered for the first time in this book, the forty-one letters and letter fragments written by two Mexican Texans, Captains Manuel Yturri and Joseph Rafael de la Garza, reveal the intricate and intertwined relationships that characterized the lives of Texan citizens of Mexican descent in the years leading up to and including the Civil War. The experiences and impressions reflected in the letters of these two young members of the Tejano elite from San Antonio, related by marriage, provide fascinating glimpses of a Texas that had displaced many Mexican-descent families after the Revolution, yet could still inspire their loyalty to the Confederate flag.
The letters, translated by José Roberto Juárez and with meticulous annotation and commentary by Thompson, deepen and provide nuance to our understanding of the Civil War and its combatants, especially with regard to the Tejano experience.
E 580 .G37 2011
To the Line of Fire! Mexican Texans and World War I
As author José A. Ramírez demonstrates in To the Line of Fire!, the events of World War I and its aftermath would decisively transform the Tejano community, as war-hardened veterans returned with new, broadened perspectives. They led their people in opposing prejudice and discrimination, founding several civil rights groups and eventually merging them into the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC), the largest and oldest surviving Hispanic civil rights organization in the United States.
F 395.M5 R36 2009
Felix Longoria's Wake: Bereavement, Racism, and the Rise of Mexican American Activism
Private First Class Felix Longoria earned a Bronze Service Star, a Purple Heart, a Good Conduct Medal, and a Combat Infantryman's badge for service in the Philippines during World War II. Yet the only funeral parlor in his hometown of Three Rivers, Texas, refused to hold a wake for the slain soldier because "the whites would not like it." Almost overnight, this act of discrimination became a defining moment in the rise of Mexican American activism. It launched Dr. Hector P. Garcia and his newly formed American G.I. Forum into the vanguard of the Mexican civil rights movement, while simultaneously endangering and advancing the career of Senator Lyndon B. Johnson, who arranged for Longoria's burial with full military honors in Arlington National Cemetery. In this book, Patrick Carroll provides the first fully researched account of the Longoria controversy and its far-reaching consequences.
F 395.M5 C37 2003
The Fighting Men of Texas: A History of the Second World War, A Memorial, A Remembrance, An Appreciation
A 5 volume set of photographs and biographies of WWII servicemen and servicewomen compiled in 1948. Mexican-American, Latino, and Hispanic veterans are throughout this set, and can be found via surnames or names in the index in volume 5.
F 385 .H5
Valley vets: an oral history of World War II veterans of the Lower Rio Grande Valley
A collection of oral histories that includes register of citizens of Brownsville, Texas who sacrificed their lives as a result of their military service to their country during WWII.
D 811.A2 A32 1999
Aztlán and Viet Nam : Chicano and Chicana Experiences of the War
Showcasing over sixty short stories, poems, speeches, and articles, Aztlan and Viet Nam is the first anthology of Mexican American writings about the U.S. war in Southeast Asia. The words are startlingly frank, moving, and immensely powerful, as they call to our attention an important and neglected part of U.S. history. Gathered from many little-known sources, the works reflect both the soldiers' experience and the antiwar movement at home. Taken together, they illustrate the contradictions faced by the traditionally patriotic Mexican American community, and show us the war and the grassroots opposition to it from a new perspective--one that goes beyond the familiar dichotomy of black and white America.
D S559.8.M39 A95 1999
At the Wesley House, play cast members, from left, Jesus Arambula, Victoria Lopez, Amparo Ribera, Teadoro Rios, and Lola Rios, November 1939. From the Fort Worth Star-Telegram Collection.
Texas History and Civil Rights
Tejano journey, 1770-1860
In Tejano Journey, 1770-1850, Gerald Poyo and other noted borderlands historians track the changes and continuities within Tejano communities during the years in which Texas passed from Spain to Mexico to the Republic of Texas and finally to the United States. The authors show how a complex process of accommodation and resistance--marked at different periods by Tejano insurrections, efforts to work within the political and legal systems, and isolation from the mainstream--characterized these years of changing sovereignty.
F 395 .M5 T45 1996
Las Tejanas : 300 years of history
The authors have gathered and distilled a wide range of information to create this important resource. They offer one of the first detailed accounts of Tejanas' lives in the colonial period and from the Republic of Texas up to 1900. Drawing on the fuller documentation that exists for the twentieth century, they also examine many aspects of the modern Tejana experience, including Tejanas' contributions to education, business and the professions, faith and community, politics, and the arts. A large selection of photographs, a historical timeline, and profiles of fifty notable Tejanas complete the volume and assure its usefulness for a broad general audience, as well as for educators and historians.
F 395 .M5 A75 2003
Hispanic Texas : a Historical Guide
A large well-illustrated historical guide to the sights and history of Mexican Hispanic culture in Texas: architecture, music, cuisine. The entries are arranged by regions within Texas.
F 387 .H56 1992
No Mexicans, Women, or Dogs Allowed: The Rise of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement
Founded by Mexican American men in 1929, the League of United Latin-American Citizens (LULAC) has usually been judged according to Chicano nationalist standards of the late 1960s and 1970s. Drawing on extensive archival research, including the personal papers of Alonso S. Perales and Adela Sloss-Vento, No Mexicans, Women, or Dogs Allowed presents the history of LULAC in a new light, restoring its early twentieth-century context.
E 184.M5 O775 2009
Chicano!: the history of the Mexican American civil rights movement
Based on the 1996 PBS series of the same name, Chicano! details the struggle of the Mexican-American community for social and legal equality, political and cultural identity. Chicano! focuses on individuals, issues and pivotal events that made up the popular movement known as el movimiento or la causa in the period 1965-1975. In addition, Rosales has carefully documented two centuries of struggle for civil rights by Mexican Americans. The Chicano Movement has been an often ignored aspect of the civil rights struggles in the 1960s; it was nonetheless a landmark period for the second-largest ethnic minority in the U.S.
E 184 .M5 R634 1996
Encyclopedia of the Mexican American civil rights movement
The first comprehensive encyclopedia on this aspect of Mexican American history, the book fills a noticeable gap in the literature. It includes more than 300 entries, six appendices, sources of additional information, cross-referencing, and a detailed index that makes the history readily available. The book is a valuable resource for anyone interested in the Mexican American experience.
E 184.M5 M458 2000
The Injustice Never Leaves You: Anti-Mexican Violence in Texas
From 1910 to 1920, Texan vigilantes and law enforcement killed ethnic Mexican residents with impunity. Monica Muñoz Martinez turns to the keepers of this history to create a record of what occurred and how a determined community ensured that victims were not forgotten. Remembering and retelling, she shows, can inscribe justice on a legacy of pain.
The struggle in Black and brown: African American and Mexican American relations during the civil rights era
These essays focus chiefly on the Southwest, where Mexican Americans and African Americans have had a long history of civil rights activism. Among the cases the authors take up are the unification of black and Chicano civil rights and labor groups in California; divisions between Mexican Americans and African Americans generated by the War on Poverty; and cultural connections established by black and Chicano musicians during the period. Together these cases present the first truly nuanced picture of the conflict and cooperation, goodwill and animosity, unity and disunity that played a critical role in the history of both Black-Brown relations and the
battle for civil rights.
E 185.61 .S9148 2011
See also: Fighting their own battles: Mexican Americans, African Americans, and the struggle for civil rights in Texas
North Texas, Dallas, and Forth Worth History
Stories from the Barrio: a History of Mexican Fort Worth
This work offers a new look at the history of Fort Worth. The history of this people includes the stories of early Mexicanos, escaping the hardships of the Mexican revolution, to the attempts of second generation Mexican-Americans to assimilate to their political voice and freedoms. Also available online.
F 394.F7 C84 2003
Yucatecans in Dallas, Texas: Breaching the Border, Bridging the Distance
Through fascinating vignettes and case studies, this unique text illustrates how Yucatecan migrants actively maintain social ties across borders. It also paints a vivid picture of the people and their lives. It places them in the context of current U.S. immigration policy and mesmerizes students by bringing them up to speed on one of the most crucial issues facing the U.S. today.
F 394.D219 M53 2008
Dallas's Little Mexico
Little Mexico was Dallas's earliest Mexican barrio. "Mexicanos" had lived in Dallas since the mid-19th century. The social displacement created by the Mexican Revolution of 1910, however, caused the emergence of a distinct and vibrant neighborhood on the edge of the city's downtown. This neighborhood consisted of modest homes, small businesses, churches, and schools, and further immigration from Mexico in the 1920s caused its population to boom. By the 1930s, Little Mexico's population had grown to over 15,000 people. The expanding city's construction projects, urban renewal plans, and land speculation by developers gradually began to dismantle Little Mexico. By the end of the 20th century, Little Mexico had all but disappeared, giving way to upscale high-rise residences and hotels, office towers of steel and glass, and the city's newest entertainment district. This book looks at Little Mexico's growth, zenith, demise, and its remarkable renaissance as a neighborhood.
F 394.D219 M5 2011
Raza Rising: Chicanos in North Texas
Based on articles written for the Fort Worth Star-Telegram, author Richard J. Gonzales draws on his educational, inner-city and professional life experiences to weave eyewitness testimony into issues facing Chicanos, including economic, health, education, criminal justice, politics, immigration, and cultural issues. Raza Rising presents a personal recounting of a Chicano's struggle with and understanding of the socio-economic policies and historical actions that impact their ascendancy. Raza Rising offers first-hand observations, supported by well-documented scholarly research, of Chicanos' growth and subsequent struggles to participate fully in North Texas' political and economic life.
F 395.M5 G67 2016
White metropolis: race, ethnicity, and religion in Dallas, 1841-2001
In this book, Michael Phillips delves deeply into Dallas's racial and religious past and uncovers a complicated history of resistance, collaboration, and assimilation between the city's African American, Mexican American, and Jewish communities and its white power elite. Exploring more than 150 years of Dallas history, Phillips reveals how white business leaders created both a white racial identity and a Southwestern regional identity that excluded African Americans from power and required Mexican Americans and Jews to adopt Anglo-Saxon norms to achieve what limited positions of power they held. He also demonstrates how the concept of whiteness kept these groups from allying with each other, and with working- and middle-class whites, to build a greater power base and end elite control of the city. Comparing the Dallas racial experience with that of Houston and Atlanta, Phillips identifies how Dallas fits into regional patterns of race relations and illuminates the unique forces that have kept its racial history hidden until the publication of this book.
F 394.D219 A25 2006