Background and reference information can be very helpful when preparing to do research. It can help you narrow your topic into something you can research for a paper. It can also provide key names, dates, and terms for you to focus on.
This reference center with 7,628 posts is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and the history of more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world.
Oxford Bibliographies in African Studies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
Gale Ebooks (formerly named Gale Virtual Library or GVRL) provides a wealth of full-text reference and general subject books in a wide variety of subjects.
Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.
Includes more than 49,500 bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full-text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers. Additional titles are added to the collection as back files are digitized. Subject areas include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Folklore, History, History of Science Technology, Language Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Public Policy Administration, Science, Slavic Studies, Sociology, Statistics.
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics
Project Muse offers full text articles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from quality journal titles provided by scholarly publishers. This database covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Browse the list of available journals and view tables of contents.
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; provides abstracts of journal articles (1952 to present) and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1800 serial publications, including books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Provides links to UTA holdings including full text articles in journals to which UTA has licensed access.
Covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
Academic Search Complete is the world's largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. It provides access to more than 8,500 full-text journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 books, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Subjects covered include: anthropology, arts and literature, computer sciences, education, engineering, ethnic studies, humanities, language and linguistics, law, medical sciences, social sciences, etc. Most content is available in printer-friendly, searchable PDFs. Updated daily.
The collection is nearly two million pages of internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP’s work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. The collection holds the distinction of being the most heavily used collection in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress.
A diverse range of primary source material is showcased in this collection that focuses on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community.
This website contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom: Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860); The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877); Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932); The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945); The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975); The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
Chicago Defender is a newspaper which tracks the advancement of blacks in America.
The Chicago Defender has been a leading voice of the black community, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. A full-image is provided for the newspaper, Chicago Defender. It also includes an archive of the following titles: Chicago Daily Defender (Big Weekend Edition) (1966-1973); Chicago Daily Defender (Daily Edition) (1960-1973); The Chicago Defender (Big Weekend Edition) (1905-1966); Chicago Defender (Big Weekend Edition) (1973-1980); Chicago Defender (Daily Edition) (1973-2010); The Chicago Defender (National edition) (1921-1967); Daily Defender (Daily Edition) (1956-1960); and the Weekend Chicago Defender (1980-2008).
Discover a wealth of primary source material on the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination and racial theory in America during three pivotal decades of the twentieth century.
For scholars and students researching this important period in American history, culture, and politics.
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 contains diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Spanning 1960 to 1974, The Sixties is centered on key themes that provide insight into the issues that shaped America and that still resonate in today's debates: Arts, Music, and Leisure; Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Environmental Movement; Gay and Lesbian Rights; Law and Government; Mass Media; New Left and Emerging Neo-Conservative Movement; Science and Technology; Student Activism; Vietnam War; and Women's Movement.
Contains records of 27,233 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866
Contains records of 27,233 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. Format allows users to track information by time period and geographic region, and includes interactive maps that allow viewers to chart the trans-Atlantic connections. The accompanying data contains materials about people on board, owners and captains, ships' characteristics, and the geographic trajectory of each voyage.
The culmination of more than 10 years of organizing and collecting materials, the African American Historical Serials Collection is a centralized and accessible resource of formerly fragmentary, widely-dispersed and endangered materials originating from various institutions and sources—including some that had not
previously participated in preservation projects.
Now compiled and accessible to researchers in one digital collection, this unique resource documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.
A collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion.
The Publication of the Afro-Latin/American Research Association (PALARA) is a multi-disciplinary journal that publishes research and creative works relevant to African Diaspora Studies in the Americas. Currently, the journal is a partnership between the University of Texas at Arlington and Mount Holyoke College.
PALARA is the journal of the Afro-Latin/American Research Association (ALARA). ALARA is a dynamic organization of individual scholars working in the field of Afro-Latin American Studies. A majority of the membership are college/university professors trained in Latin American studies (literature, linguistics, sociology, political science, cultural studies, communication studies, history, etc.) whose research and/or teaching interests focus on cultural production and materiality of Africa descendants in North, Central and South America, the Caribbean basin and Equatorial Guinea (West Africa).
When searching for books in the UTA Libraries catalog, I recommend using the Advanced Search function and take advantage of the multiple search lines to capture different concepts rather than using a phrase.
For example, rather than doing a search for "reparations for Black Americans," you can search for
reparations
[AND] Black OR "african american" OR "african americans"
Then under Content type, you can click Book/ eBook to limit your search to only books in our collection on your topic.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States
Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is one of the best-known statistical reference publications. As a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people.
In print, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Online it is 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets), both searchable and browsable. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history, a compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources. Includes over 37,000 data series and topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. Users can graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
A mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Works best with Firefox or Safari. There are known compatibility issues with Chrome when accessing off-campus or through campus WiFi. NOTE: Only 5 simultaneous users allowed.If experiencing issues accessing while off-campus, please try using the full-tunnel VPN option. See instructions for full-tunnel set up for Pulse Secure.
SimplyAnalytics (was SimplyMap) provides users the most current demographic, business, and marketing data available. It provides the following nation-wide data: Demographic Variables: Population, Age, Race, Income, Ancestry, Marital Status, Housing, Employment, Transportation, Families, and more. Historical census data: including 1980, 1990 & 2000, plus current year census estimates and 5 year projections. Business Variables: Detailed Consumer Expenditure, Business & Employee Counts by Industry (by NAICS Code), Consumer Price Index, Quality of Life & Consumer Profiles, and Market Segments. Life Stage Clusters are a neighborhood classification system based on the crucial factors (84 Possible Life Stages based upon: Age of Head of Households; Marital Status; and Household Income) that determine life's key decisions. EASI/Mediamark Research Inc. (MRI) Propensity Data: Produces current estimates of usage and consumption (propensity) for thousands of very specific and detailed products, including actual brand data, details of frequency of usage, and more; annually prepares estimates for about 3,000+ MRI categories of propensities using updated demographic estimates; and Propensity Data incorporates the following data: Automotive, Beverages, Sports, Ailments/Remedies, Apparel, Appliances, Attitudes/Lifestyles, Baby, Computers, Electronics, Family Restaurants, and Fast Food, Financial, Grocery, Insurance, Internet, Leisure, Media, Personal Care, Pets, Purchasing, Telephony, Travel. Health: Answers to frequently asked questions about disease, health status, doctor visits and more; Health Questions Age 18+ & under 18; and Death Causes Since there is some training required in order to understand a few concepts related to mapping, we highly recommend that you watch our 6 minute tutorial to get the most out of SimplyAnalytics. The tutorial can be accessed by clicking on the "Tutorial" link in the top right corner of SimplyAnalytics.
