SPAN 3312 Latin American Culture and Civilization, Dr. Chris Conway

The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections exists as a series of five databases created from a comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1876. These databases include 6,500 titles featuring more than 10 million pages of content from the seventeenth century through the late nineteenth century. The collection also contains titles in more than
two dozen languages including French, German, Norwegian, Spanish, and more.

The Digital National Security Archive contains twenty seven collections of declassified primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945 that led to key policy decisions in the post-World War II era. The documents have been obtained through extensive use of the US Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The collections are fully indexed and cross-referenced with complete chronologies of events, comprehensive glossaries and detailed biographies of the actors in these events.

This full-text work in progress documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. It focuses on personal accounts of traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials. Source materials include narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.

The eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains primary information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

A collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The collection consists of 265 periodicals and 4471 monographs from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand. The ASCII text is searchable by keyword and Boolean operators, and records are linked to the corresponding full-text page images.

This work in progress is composed of the personal narratives of immigrants to North America, including Canada. Included are letters, diaries, autobiographies, and oral histories. This database provides perspectives both on North America and on the immigrants' countries of origin.

Oral History Online contains more than 34,000 pages of full-text content including Ellis Island oral history narratives and rare Black Panther Party interviews. It is also an index to free oral history information on the Web. Indexed oral histories represent information from archives, repositories, and individuals around the world.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 offers full-text access to more than 29,000 titles about the Americas including accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, Native Americans, etc. Primary sources include books, pamphlets, serials, broadsides, and other historical documentation that describe the society, politics, religious beliefs, customs, and momentous events that characterized life in the Americas.

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 contains diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Spanning 1960 to 1974, The Sixties is centered on key themes that provide insight into the issues that shaped America and that still resonate in today's debates: Arts, Music, and Leisure; Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Environmental Movement; Gay and Lesbian Rights; Law and Government; Mass Media; New Left and Emerging Neo-Conservative Movement; Science and Technology; Student Activism; Vietnam War; and Women's Movement.

This database is a repository of primary and secondary documents in the field of U.S. Women's History. Included are a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. Women's History, advertisements, book chapters, diaries, images, legal documents, letters, organizational notes, transcripts of speeches, along with scholarly interpretations.

A unique digital image collection that is accessible by keyword and date searching. It documents major events in Texas, the United States, and the world. Classified and display advertising, photos and graphics are included.

The Chicago Defender has been a leading voice of the black community, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. A full-image is provided for the newspaper, Chicago Defender. It also includes an archive of the following titles: Chicago Daily Defender (Big Weekend Edition) (1966-1973); Chicago Daily Defender (Daily Edition) (1960-1973); The Chicago Defender (Big Weekend Edition) (1905-1966); Chicago Defender (Big Weekend Edition) (1973-1980); Chicago Defender (Daily Edition) (1973-2010); The Chicago Defender (National edition) (1921-1967); Daily Defender (Daily Edition) (1956-1960); and the Weekend Chicago Defender (1980-2008).

ProQuest Historical Newspapers---The New York Times is a full-image archive that brings the entire historical run of The New York Times, the definitive voice of American journalism since 1851.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2002): In 1889, Dow Jones & Company first published The Wall Street Journal (formerly known as the Customers' Afternoon Letter) as a markets-focused newspaper for the country's then-fewer than 200,000 shareholders. Today, it focuses not only on the stock market, but on all aspects of global business, economics, consumer affairs, and trends and issues. Online researchers have access to more than 100 years of The Journal's accurate reporting, exclusive analysis, agenda setting, editorials, and controversial opinions. In addition to the printed stories, researchers also can study the charts, stock tables, graphics, and illustrations featured in the publication. With this resource, users can study the development of industries and companies across decades, monitor the implementation and effects of fiscal policies on the global economy, study opposing viewpoints at critical times in the world's history, and more. This title is especially appealing to those interested in business, finance, economics, and journalism.