Skip to main content

Cartographic Connections: Home

Scroll down by column in chronological order....

Schedel, Secunda etas mundi...1493 (1494)

Citation: Hartmann Schedel. Secunda etas mundi; secunda etas müdi. Nuremberg: Schedel, 1494; first published 1493. UTA Libraries Special Collections

Accession and Location: 220004@Bin 13

Fries/Waldseemuller, Tabula Terra Nova 1513 (1541)

Citation: Laurent Fries after Martin Waldseemüller. Tabula Terra Nova. Strasbourg: Michael Servetus, 1541; originally published in 1513. UTA Libraries Special Collections

Accession and Location: 240045@13

Munster, Tabula Novarum Insularum...1540

Citation: Münster, S. Tabula Novarum Insularum, quas Diversisi Respectibus Occidentales & Indians Vocant. [Amsterdam]: S. Münster, 1540.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00566@128/12

Frisius/Apian, Carta Cosmographica... 1544 (1575)

Citation: Gemma Frisius, Carta Cosmographica, con los nombres, propriedad, y virtud de los vientos. Antwerp: Juan Bellero, 1574; first published 1544. UTA Libraries Special Collections

Accession: GA6 .A5 1575

Munster, Typus Orbis Universalis 1550

Citation: Sebastian Münster. Typus Orbis Universalis. Basel: Münster, 1550.  UTA Libraries Special Collections

Accession and Location: 2000-576@67/5

Ruscelli, Orbis Descriptio 1561

Citation: Girolamo Ruscelli. Orbis Descriptio. from La Geografia di Claudio Tolomeo. Venice, 1561.  UTA Libraries Special Collections

Accesson and Location:  00388@128/13

Ruscelli, Nueva Hispania Tabula Nova 1561

Citation: Girolamo Ruscelli. Nueva Hispania Tabula Nova. Venice: Ruscelli, 1561.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00384@128/12

Ortelius, America Sive Novi Orbis 1570

Citation: Abraham Ortelius. America Sive Novi Orbis. Amsterdam: A. Ortelius, 1570. UTA Libraries Special Collections

Accession and Location: 220022@24/4

Ortelius, America sive Novi Orbis 1587

Citation: Abraham Ortelius. America Sive Novi Orbis.

Antwerp: Abraham Ortelius, 1587.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 900036@Bin 12

Ortelius, Maris Pacifici 1589

Citation: Abraham Ortelius. Maris Pacifici. Antwerp: Ortelius, 1589. UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location:  00567@132/6

 

Mercator, America Sive India Nova 1595

Citation: Michael Mercator. America Sive India Nova. Amsterdam: Jodius Hondius, 1595.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00051@132/2

Hondius/Jansson, America Septentrionalis 1636

Citation: Henrik Hondius and Jan Jansson et al. America Septentrionalis. Amsterdam: Jansson, 1636.  Accession and Location: Bin 14 82-337 

Sanson, Amerique Septentrionale, 1650

Citation: Nicholas Sanson. Amerique Septentrionale. Paris: Sanson d'Abbeville, 1650.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00062@132/2

Coronelli, America Settentrionale, 1688

Citation: Vincenzo Maria Coronelli. America Settentrionale. Paris: V. Coronelli, 1688.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00568@142/7

Delisle, Mappe-Monde, 1700

Citation: Guillaume Delisle. Mappe-Monde. engraved by Berey, Paris, with cartouches by Charles Simonneau. Paris: Delisle, 1700.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00467@135/1

Delisle, Carte du Mexique et de la Floride... 1703 (1745)

Citation: Guillaume Delisle, Carte du Mexique et de la Floride des Terres Angloise et des Isles Ant. Paris: Philippe Buache, 1745; originally published in 1703. UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and location: 00468@141/3

Homann, Planiglobii Terrestris Cumutroq Hemisphaerio Caelesti Generalis Exhibitio... 1707

Citation: Johann Baptist Homann. Planiglobii Terrestris Cumutroq Hemisphaerio Caelesti Generalis Exhibitio. Nürnberg: J. B. Homann, 1707.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00705@132/7

Delisle, Carte de la Louisiane et du Cours du Mississipi 1718

Citation: Guillaume Delisle. Carte de la Louisiane et du Cours du Mississipi. Paris: Delisle, 1718.  UTA Libraries Special Collections

Accession and Location: 220001 Bin 13

Homann, Regni Mexicani seu Novae Hispaniae, Ludovicianae... ca.1712-1730

Citation: Johann Baptist Homann and Heirs. Regni Mexicani seu Novae Hispaniae, Ludovicianae, NAngliae, Carolinae, Virginiae, et Pensylvaniae, Necnou Insularvm Archipelagi Mexicani in America Septentrionali Accurta Tabula.. Nuremberg: Homann Heirs, between 1712 and 1730.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00453@133/2

Nuevo Santander, Mexico

Citation: Joseph de Haro(?). Nuevo Santander, Mexico. [Mexico, after 1770].

Accession and Location: 86-255@50/1

Note: The ribbon in the upper right hand corner (attachment) was added long after this map was produced.

Humboldt, A Map of New Spain

Citation: Alexander von Humboldt. A Map of New Spain. London: Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme and Brown, 1810.

Accession and Location: 90-1687@53/9

Pike, A Map of the Internal Provinces of New Spain…1810

Citation: Zebulon Montgomery Pike. A Map of the Internal Provinces of New Spain…. Philadelphia: , 1810.

Accession and Location: 310162@27/9

Poirson and Humboldt, Carte du Mexique et pays limitrophes situés au nord et à l'est, 1811

Citation: J. B. Poirson and Alexander von Humboldt. Carte du Mexique et pays limitrophes situés au nord à l'est. Paris: F. Schoell, 1811. UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00217@140/1

Melish, United States of America... 1818

Citation: John Melish. United States of America Compiled from the Latest and Best Authorities. Philadelphia: Murray Draper Fairman & Co., 1818.

Accession and Location: 00792@134/1

Robinson, A Map of Mexico, Louisiana, and the Missouri Territory, 1819

Citation: A Map of Mexico, Louisiana, and the Missouri Territory. Philadelphia: John H. Robinson, 1819.

Accession and Location: 3327@framed in VGCHL

 

White, Gallaher & White, Mapa de los Estados Unidos de Méjico... 1828

Citation: Mapa de los Estados Unidos de Méjico.... New York: White, Gallaher & White, 1828.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 141/7 00640

Lizars, Mexico & Guatimala, 1833

Citation: Daniel Lizars. Mexico & Guatimala. Edinburgh: D. Hamilton, successor to D. Lizars, 1833.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00337@132/2

Dufour, République Fédérative des États-Unis Mexicains 1835

Citation: Auguste-Henri Dufour.  République Fédérative des États-Unis Mexicains. Paris: chez Basset, 1835.  UTA Libraries Special Collections

Accession and Location: 2005-80@80/9

Certificate for Map of Texas Shewing the Grants in Possession of the Colorado and Red River Land Comp[an]y 1835

Citation: Konen Marché (?). Certificate for Map of Texas Shewing the Grants in Possession of the Colorado and Red River land Compy. Brussells: K. Marché?, 1835.

Accession and Location: 00692b@142/7

Note: This certificate is associated with a map.

Map of Texas Shewing the Grants in Possession of the Colorado and Red River Land Comp[an]y 1835

Citation: Konen Marché. Map of Texas Shewing the Grants in Possession of the Colorado and Red River land Compy. Brussells: K. Marché, 1835.

Accession and Location: 00692@142/7

Note: This map is associated with a certificate.

Bradford, Texas, 1835

Citation: Thomas G. Bradford. Texas. Boston: T.G. Bradford, 1835.

Accession and Location: 00003@125/1

Austin/Tanner, Map of Texas With Parts of the Adjoining States 1836

Citation: Stephen F. Austin and Henry S. Tanner. Map of Texas With Parts of the Adjoining States. Philadelphia: H. S. Tanner, 1836.

Accession and Location: 00693@131/--

Hooker, Map of the State of Coahuila and Texas 1836

Citation: William Hooker. Map of the State of Coahuila and Texas. Lexington, Ky.: J. Clark, 1836.

Accession and Location: 310160@27/9

Maps continue chronologically at the top of the next column....

Mitchell/Young, New Map of Texas with the Contiguous American & Mexican States 1835-1836

Citation: Young, J. H. New Map of Texas with the Contiguous American & Mexican States. Philadelphia: Augustus Mitchell, 1836. UT Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Kitene Kading

Accession and Location: 91-389@52/6

Bradford Texas 1838

Citation: T. G. Bradford. Texas. Boston: T. G. Bradford, 1838. UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00491@126/16

Bradford Texas 1838

Citation: T. G. Bradford, Texas, engraved by G. W. Boynton, 1838, in T. G. Bradford, An Illustrated Atlas... (Philadelphia: Bradford, 1838). UTA Libraries Special Collections

Accession Number: 96-771

Arrowsmith Map of Texas 1841

Citation: Arrowsmith, John. Map of Texas. London: J. Arrowsmith, 1841. UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00574@135/3

Emory, Map of Texas and the Countries Adjacent... 1844

Citation: Emory, W. H. Map of Texas and the Countries Adjacent: Compiled in the Bureau of the Corps of Topographical Engineers; From the Best Authorities, For the State Department. Washington, D.C.: War Department, 1844.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00110@142/7

Burr, The State of Texas 1836-1845

Citation: Burr, David H. The State of Texas 1836-1845. New York: R. S. Fisher, 1845.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Bibliographic reference: Martin, James C. and Robert Sidney Martin. Maps of Texas and the Southwest, 1513-1900. Hong Kong: Texas State Historical Association, 1999.
Page[s] 53, 122 and 123.

Accession and Location: 00793@framed

Size: 24 x 17 in.

Tanner, A Map of the United States of Mexico 1846

Citation: Tanner, H. S. A Map of the United States of Mexico. New York: H. S. Tanner, 1846.

Accession and Location: 00587@131/--

S.D.U.K., Central America II. Including Texas, California and the Northern States of Mexico, 1846

Citation: Society for the Diffusion of Useful Knowledge. Central America II. Including Texas, California and the Northern States of Mexico. London: Charles Knight and Co., 1846. UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00327@126/12

Disturnell, Mapa de los Estados Unidos de Mejico 1846

Citation: J. Disturnell. Mapa de los Estados Unidos de Mejico. Nueva York: L. Publican J. Disturnell, 1846.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Bibliographic reference: Martin, James C. and Robert Sidney Martin. Maps of Texas and the Southwest, 1513-1900. Hong Kong: Texas State Historical Association, 1999.
Page[s] 137-139.

Accession and Location: 00559@142/2

Size: 29 x 41 in.

Map of Mexico Including Yucatan & Upper California Exhibiting the Chief Cities and Towns

 

Citation: Mitchell, S. A.. Map of Mexico Including Yucatan & Upper California Exhibiting the Chief Cities and Towns. Philadelphia: S. A. Mitchell, 1847. UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00481@133/5

Map of Mexico Including Yucatan & Upper California Exhibiting…

Citation: Mitchell, S. A. Map of Mexico Including Yucatan & Upper California Exhibiting…. Philadelphia: Mitchell, S. A., 1847.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00560@142/8

Karte des Staates, Texas 1849

Citation: Badeker, J. Karte des Staates, Texas. Elberfield: J. Badeker, 1849.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00517@127/9

Roemer's map of Texas 1849

Citation: Ferdinand Roemer. Topographisch-geognostische Karte von Texas... Bonn: Henry & Cohen, 1849. UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Jenkins Garrett

Accession and Location: 2004-697@51/9

Adelsverein, Karte des Staates Texas 1851

Citation: Karte des Staates, Texas. : , 1851.

Accession and Location: 310104@framed

Map Illustrating the Disputed Boundary Between the United States and Mexico 1853

Citation: Schrofer, G. Map Illustrating the Disputed Boundary Between the United States and Mexico. New York: Disturnell & Schroete, 1853. UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00156@127/12

Phillips & Son, Mexico & Texas 1853

Citation: Phillips, George. Mexico & Texas. Liverpool: George Phillips & Son, 1853.

Accession and Location: 00282@133/9

Colton's Map of the United States of America 1855

Citation: Colton, J. H. Colton's Map of the United States of America. New York: Johnson & Browning, 1855.

Accession and Location: 00179@136/2

Colton, Texas 1856

Citation: Colton, J. H. and Co. Texas. New York: J. H. Colton and Co., 1855.

Accession and Location: 82-63@46/8

Note: Lithograph.

Size: 12.9 X 15.9 in.

Richardson's New Map of the State of Texas Including Part of Mexico 1859

Citation: Richardson's New Map of the State of Texas Including Part of Mexico. Philadelphia: Charles DeSilver, 1859.

Accession and Location: 95-31@83/3

Colton's Texas 1861

Citation: Colton, Joseph H. Colton's Texas. New York: J. H. Colton & Co., 1861.

Accession and Location: 00594@131/--

H.H. Lloyd & Co's Campaign Military Charts showing the Principal Strategic Places of Interest 1861

Citation: Viele, Egbert L and Charles Haskins. H.H. Lloyd & Co's campaign military charts showing the principal strategic places of interest. New York: J.D. Terry, 1861.

Accession and Location: 400022@73/2

Johnson's New Military Map of the United States showing Forts, Military Posts, &c 1861

Citation: Johnson's New Military Map of the United States showing Forts, Military Posts, &c. New York: Johnson & Ward, 1861. UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accession and Location: 00162@136/9

Richardson's New Map of Texas including Part of Mexico 1861

Citation: Richardson, C. S. Richardson's New Map of Texas including Part of Mexico. Philadelphia: Charles Desilver, 1861.

Accession and Location: 270023@77/11

Lloyd's Map of the Southern States.... 1861

Citation: James T. Loyd. Lloyd's Map of the Southern States, Showing all the Railroads, their Stations & Distances also the Counties, Towns, Villages, Harbors, Rivers, and Forts.  New York, Louisville, and London: J. T. Lloyd, 1861.

Accession and Location:  Henry W. Benham Family Collection, AR388-7-14.

Lloyd's Map of the Southern States Showing All the Railroads, their Stations and Distances…1862

Citation: Lloyd, James T. Lloyd's Map of the Southern States Showing All the Railroads, their Stations and Distances….. New York: J. T. Lloyd, 1862.

Accession and Location: 800318@99/3

Map of the United States Showing Territory in Possession of the Federal Union, January 1864

Citation: Map of the United States Showing Territory in Possession of the Federal Union, January 1864. London: Bacon & Co., 1864.

Accession and Location: 800546@18/1

Department of the Gulf, Map No. 59. Texas. 1865 (ca.1927 copy)

Citation: Anthony (Anton) R. Roessler. Copy of Engineer's Office, Department of the Gulf, Map No. 59. Texas. Prepared by Order of Maj. Gen. N. P. Banks under Direction of Capt. P.C. Hains, U.S. Engr. & Chief Engr., Department of the Gulf. April 1865. Diazotype or blueline cyanotype on paper, 1927. Originally drawn on stone by Helmuth Holtz and Baron Ludwig von Reizenstein. UTA Libraries Special Collections  Accession and Location: 139/10 2013-268

Pressler, Traveller's Map of the State of Texas, 1867

Citation: Pressler, Charles W.. Traveller's Map of the State of Texas, 1867. New York: Charles W. Pressler, 1868.

Accession and Location: 90-1681@99/8

The Traveller’s Map of Texas

"Texas New Yorker" Traveler's Railroad Map of the State of Texas 1872

Citation: "Texas New Yorker" Travelers' Railroad Map of the State of Texas. [New York: George H. Sweet & Co.], 1872.  UTA Libraries Special Collections

Accession and Location: 310013@75/10

Roessler, New Map of Texas 1875

Citation: A. R. Roessler. New Map of Texas Prepared and Published for the Bureau of Immigration of the State of Texas. Austin and New York, 1875.  UTA Libraries Special Collections

Accesssion and Location: 91-152@19/8

Maps continue chronologically at the top of the next column....

Contacts

Ben Huseman, Cartographic Archivist 

phone: (817) 272-0633

e-mail: huseman@uta.edu

         Special Collections Reference

phone: (817) 272-3393

e-mail: spcoref@uta.edu

Gray's New Map of Texas and Indian Territory, 1876

Citation: Gray, Frank A. Gray's New Map of Texas and Indian Territory. Philadelphia: O. W. Gray and Son, 1876.

Accession and Location: 00113@136/4

Williams' New Trans-Continental Map of the Pacific R.R. and Routes of Overland Travel to Colorado, Nebraska, The Black Hills, Utah, Idaho, Nevada, Montana, California and the Pacific Coast, 1877

Citation: Williams, H.T. Williams' New Trans-Continental Map of the Pacific R.R. and Routes of Overland Travel to Colorado, Nebraska, The Black Hills, Utah, Idaho, Nevada, Montana, California and the Pacific Coast. New York: Adam & Bishop, 1877.

Accession and Location: 800643@75/7

International & Great Northern Railroad, Correct Map of Texas, 1878

Citation: Correct Map of Texas. St. Louis: Woodward, Tiernan & Hale, 1878.

Accession and Location: 90-327@82/4

The Texas and Pacific Railway: the Shortest Line to the Great Cotton, Grain and Stock Regions of Texas, 1878

Citation: The Texas and Pacific Railway: the Shortest Line to the Great Cotton, Grain and Stock Regions of Texas. A Geographically Correct Map of the State of Texas Published by the Texas & Pacific Railway Company St. Louis: Woodward, Tiernan & Hale, 1878.

Accession and Location: 90-330@82/4

U.S. General Land Office, Indian Territory, 1879

Citation: United States. Department of Interior. Indian Territory, 1879. Washington: General Land Office, 1879.

Accession and Location: 800324@74/9

Gamble/Mitchell, County Map of the State of Texas...1881

Citation: Gamble, W. H. County Map of the State of Texas Showing also Portions of the Adjoining States and Territories. Philadelphia: S. A. Mitchell, 1881.

Accession and Location: 00781@127/16

A Geographically Correct County Map of the States Traversed by the St. Louis, Iron Mountain and Southern Railway and its Connections 1882

Citation: A Geographically Correct County Map of the States Traversed by the St. Louis, Iron Mountain and Southern Railway and its Connections. St. Louis: Wooward, Tiernan & Hale, 1882.

Accession and Location: 90-329@82/4

Gray's Map of Fort Worth, 1885

Citation: Gray's Map of Fort Worth. Philadelphia: O. W. Gray & Son, 1885.

Accession and Location: 88-329@Bin 14

Map Showing the Location of the Indian Reservations within the Limits of the United States and Territories, 1885

Citation: Brodie, Paul. Map Showing the Location of the Indian Reservations within the Limits of the United States and Territories. Washington, D. C.: U. S. Dept. of the Interior, 1885.

Accession and Location: 800621@75/5

Map of Texas and Part of New Mexico, 1857 (1887)

Citation: United States Army Bureau of Topographic Engineers.. Map of Texas and Part of New Mexico, 1857. Washington, D.C.: Julius Bien & Co., 1887.

Accession and Location: 95-2@63/11

Rand, McNally & Co. Map of Texas 1889

Citation: Map of Texas. Chicago: Rand McNally & Co., 1889.

Accession and Location: 00769@129/3

Sectional Map of Texas Traversed by the Missouri, Kansas & Texas Railway, Showing the crops adapted to each section, with the elevation and annual rainfall 1904

Citation: Sectional Map of Texas Traversed by the Missouri, Kansas & Texas Railway, Showing the crops adapted to each section, with the elevation and annual rainfall. St. Louis: Parker Engraving Co., 1904.

Accession and Location: 310014@26/3

Military Map of the United States of America Showing Location of All Forces in Training 1917

Citation: Military Map of the United States of America Showing Location of All Forces in Training. Chicago: Poole Bros., 1917.

Accession and Location: 2000-94@93/5

Texas in Doubleday, Page & Co's Geographical Manual and New Atlas 1918

Citation: Mawson, C.O. Sylvester. Texas in Doubleday, Page & Co's Geographical Manual and New Atlas. New York: Doubleday, page & Co., 1918.

Accession and Location: G1019@map annex

Note: G1019 M29 1918

Cram, Transcontinental Highways of the United States in Auto Trails and Commercial Survey of the United States 1918

Citation: Transcontinental Highways of the United States in Auto Trails and Commercial Survey of the United States. New York: George F. Cram Co., 1918.

Accession and Location: 93-1088@oversized

Oil Map of Callahan County 1919

Citation: Oil Map of Callahan County. Baird, Tx.: Baird Commercial Club, 1919.

Accession and Location: 900008@76/6

Rand McNally Standard Map of Texas 1921

Citation: Rand McNally Standard Map of Texas. Chicago: Rand McNally & Co., 1921.

Accession and Location: 00757@130/1

Rand McNally Standard Map of the United States, from The Rand McNally New Commercial Atlas of The United States 1921

Citation: Rand McNally Standard Map of the United States, from The Rand McNally New Commercial Atlas of The United States. Chicago: Rand McNally & Co., 1921.

Accession and Location: 00759@130/1

Clason’s Texas Guide Map to Texas and Northern Mexico in Clason's Texas Green Guide 1931

Citation: Clason’s Texas Guide Map to Texas and Northern Mexico in Clason's Texas Green Guide. Chicago: Clason Map Co., 1931.

Accession and Location: 85-189@85-189

 

Cleartype General Map of the World on Mercator's Projection 1940

Citation: Cleartype General Map of the World on Mercator's Projection. New York: American Map Co., Inc., 1940.

Accession and Location: 00544@140/3

 

Rand McNally & Co., Sinclair Road Map of Texas 1941

Citation: Rand Mc Nally & Co. Sinclair Road Map of Texas. Chicago: Rand McNally & Co., 1941.

Accession and Location: 92-213@FMB/3

 

Texas Highway Department Map by R. M. Stene 1941

Citation: Texas Highway Department. Texas Highway Map Compiled and drawn by R. M. Stene. Austin: Texas Highway Department, 1941.

Accession and Location: 91-1621@92/8

 

Texas Highway Department, Official Map 1945

Citation: Texas Highway Department. Official Map. Austin: Texas Highway Map Department, 1945.

Accession and Location: 91-1622@92/10

 

Journal Guide to Texas Oil

Citation: Journal Guide to Texas Oil. Tulsa: Petroleum Publishing Co., 1951.

Accession and Location: 91-1600@98/7

 

Texaco Touring Map of East Texas and Oklahoma/Texaco Touring Map of West Texas and New Mexico

Citation: Texaco Touring Map of East Texas and Oklahoma/Texaco Touring Map of West Texas and New Mexico. Chicago: Rand McNally & Co., 1951.

Accession and Location: 87-47@92/7