A Guide to Early Images of Africa at UTA (Under Construction): Home

Citation: Hartmann Schedel. Secunda etas mundi; secunda etas müdi [Mappa mundi]. Nuremberg: Schedel, 1494; first published 1493. The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections

Accession and Location: 220004  Bin 13

Citation: Workshop of Michael Wohlgemut, Alexandria, woodcut engraving with letter press on paper, 43.8 x 30.5 cm., from Hartmann Schedel, Liber Chronicarum [a.k.a The Nuremberg Chronicle] (Nuremberg; Anton Koberger, 1493).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-161  115/1

Citation: Workshop of Michael Wohlgemut, Damiata, woodcut engraving with letter press on paper, 33.5 x 22.5 cm., from Hartmann Schedel, Liber Chronicarum [a.k.a The Nuremberg Chronicle] (Nuremberg; Anton Koberger, 1493).  The University of Texas at  Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-156  115/1

Citation: Workshop of Michael Wohlgemut, Carthago, woodcut with letterpress on paper, from Hartmann Schedel, Liber Chronicarum [a.k.a. The Nuremberg Chronicle] (Nuremberg: Anton Koberger, 1493).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke
Accession and Location: 2020-161 117/7

Citation: Martin Waldseemüller, Tabula Moderna Primae Partis Aphricae, woodcut engraving with applied color on paper, 41.5 x 57 cm., from Supplementum to Claudius Ptolemy, Geographiae (Strasbourg: Waldseemüller, 1513).  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-150  115/1

Citation: Sebastian Münster, Africa, woodcut engraving on paper, 16 x 23.7 cm., in Gaius Julius Solinus, Polystor [and] Pompeus Mela, De Situ Orbis (Basel: Johann Camers, 1538), p. 83.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections

Call Number and Location: G113 .S7 1538  Map Rm.  

Citation:  Sebastian Münster, Aphricae Tabula III, woodcut engraving with applied color on paper, 26 x 34 cm., from Münster, Geographia (Basel, 1571; first published in 1540).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-171  115/1

Citation:  Sebastian Münster, Tavola & discrizzione universale di tutta l'Africa, distesa anche piu la che i termini di Tolomeo, woodcut with applied color on paper, from La Geographia (Basel: Munster, 1558 Italian edition; first published in Latin in 1540).  UT Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-181  115/1

Citation: Johann Honter, Universalis Cosmographia, engraving (hand colored), Zurich, 1546. The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections

Accession and Location: 2007-358  GA 50/3

Citation: Gemma Frisius, Carta Cosmographica, con los nombres, propriedad, y virtud de los vientos. Antwerp: Juan Bellero, 1574; first published 1544. UTA Libraries Special Collections

Call Number and Location: GA6 .A5 1575  Map Rm

Citation: Sebastian Münster, [Africa], woodcut engraving on paper, 13 x 16i cm., from Münster, Cosmographei (Basel, 1550).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-389  GA50/8 

Citation:  Sebastian Münster, [Algiers], woodcut engraving on paper, 15 x 18.5 cm. from Münster, Cosmographei (Basel, 1558; first published in 1550), p. 1290.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-336  GA50/9

Citation:  Sebastian Münster, Egyptenlandt, woodcut engraving with applied color on paper, 18 x 16.5 cm., in Münster, Cosmographey oder Breschreibung aller Laender...(Basel, 1588; first published in 1550), p.892.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-305  GA50/15

Citation:  Girolamo Ruscelli after Claudius Ptolemy, Tabula Africae III, engraving on paper, 18.8 x 25 cm., from La Geografia di Tolomeio (Venice: Ruscelli, 1574; first published in 1561).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-222  GA50/13

Citation: Girolamo Ruscelli. Orbis Descriptio. engraving on paper, from La Geografia di Claudio Tolomeo. Venice, 1561.  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Virginia Garrett

Accesson and Location:  00388@128/13

Citation: Girolamo Ruscelli, Egitto Nuova Tavola, engraving on paper, 22 x 29 cm., from Ruscelli, La Geografia di Tolomeo (Venice: Ruscelli, 1561).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-220  GA50/11

Citation: Girolamo Ruscelli, Africa Minor Nuova Tavola, engraving on paper, 22 x 29 cm., from Ruscelli, La Geografia di Tolomeo (Venice: Ruscelli, 1574; first published in 1561).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-221  GA50/12

Citation: Girolamo Ruscelli, Marmarica Nuova Tavola, engraving on paper, 22 x 29 cm., from Ruscelli, La Geografia di Tolomeo (Venice: Ruscelli, 1574; first published in 1561).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-219  GA50/10

Citation: Paolo Forlani (fl. 1560-1571) after Giacomo Gastaldi (1500-1566), La Descrittione dell'Africa, engraving on paper, (Venice: Paolo Forlani, 1562).19 x 25 1/4 inches sheet, 30 1/4 x 37 inches framed. UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke 

Accession and Location: 2020-950  116/1​

Citation: Abraham Ortelius, Africae Tabula Nova, copperplate engraving with applied color on paper, 37.7 x 50.6 cm., (Antwerp, probably between 1570-1581). UT Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Citation: Tommaso Porcacchi, S. Lorenzo [Madagascar], engraving with applied color on paper, 11 x 15 cm., engraved by Girolamo Porro, from Porcacchi, L'Isole pu Famose del Mondo (Venice: A. Brigonci, 1686; first published in 1572).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-299  GA50/18 

Citation:  Heinrich Bünting, Africa Tertia Pars Terrae, woodcut engraving on paper, 26.5 x 35.5 cm., from Bünting, Itinerarum Sacrae Scripturae (1580).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-159  

Citation: Heinrich Bünting, Die eigentliche und Warhafftige gestalt der Erde und des Meers, woodcut with applied color on paper, from Cosmographia Universalis (Magdeburg: Bünting, 1581 or later).   The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections 

Accession and Location: 2020-953  64/7

Citation: Sebastian Henricpetri after Sebastian Münster, Africae Tabula Nova / Africa, Lybia, Morenlandt, mit allen Konigreichen so jetziger Zeit darumb gefunden werden, woodcut with letter press with applied color on paper, 31 x 36 cm. (Basel, 1598).  UT Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Citation:  Abraham Ortelius, Presbiterii Johannis, sive Abissinorum Imperrii Descriptio,engraving with applied color on paper, x cm, from Ortelius, Theatrum Orbis Terrarum (Antwerp: Christoph Plantin, 1584).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections

Accession and Location: 

Citation:  Matthãus Merian after Giovanni Battista Boazio, [Sir Francis Drake's Attack on Santiago, Cape Verde Islands], engraving with applied color on paper, 15.5 x 18.5 cm. on sheet 33.3 x 20.6 cm., from Theodore DeBry, Grosse Reisen [Grand Voyages], colophon 59 Historia Antipodum (Frankfurt am Main: Merian, 1655; first printed between 1590 and 1634), p. 350.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-328  GA50/14

Citation: Sebastian Hinricpetri after Claudius Ptolemy, Africa, engraving on paper, in Pomponii Melae De Orbis Situ Libri III & C. Iulli Solini, Polyhistor (Basel: Sebastian Hinricpetri, 1595). The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections

Call Number and Location:  PA6512 .A2 1595 SpCo  

Citation:  Pietro Maria Marchetti after Abraham Ortelius, Africae Tabula Nova, engraving with applied color on paper, 8 x 10.5 cm., from Marchetti, Il Theatro del Mondo di Abraamo Ortelio (Brescia: La Compagnia Bresciana, 1598).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-279  GA50/16

Citation: Philipp Clüver, Mauritania et Africa Propria nunc Barbaria, engraving on paper, 13.8 x 22.5 cm., Leiden, ca.1624.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-380  GA50/20

Citation:  Joan Jansson (Johannes Janssonius) after Gerard Mercator, Barbarie [Barbaria, Carthaginensis Sinus, Aegyptus], engraving on paper, 15 x 19.5 cm. (Amsterdam: Jansson, 1633).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-291  GA50/17

Citation: Willem Janszoon Blaeu, Aethiopia Superior vel Interior, vulge Abissinorum sive Prespiteri Joannis Imperium, engraving with applied color on paper, 39 x 50 cm. (Amsterdam: Blaeu, 1640).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-200  115/2

Citation:  Johannes Jansson, Guinea, engraving with applied color on paper, 38.5 x 52 cm., Amsterdam: Jansson, 1645.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-250  11

Citation: Willem Janszoon and Joan Blaeu, Africae Nova Descriptio, engraving with applied color on paper, 41 x 55.3 cm. (Amsterdam: Blaueu, 1650).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-160

Citation:  Pierre Du Val, L'Afrique, engraving with applied color on paper, 15.5 x 21.5 in. (Paris, 1664).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-167

Citation: Philip Chetwind after Henry Seile, Africae Descriptio Nova Impensis, engraving on paper, 35 x 43.5 cm., 1666, engraved by William Trevethen, in Peter Heylyn, Cosmography in Four Books Containing the Chorography and History of the Whole World... (London: Philip Chetwind, 1674; first published in 1652).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections

Call Number and Location:  G114 .H62 1675 SpCo Oversize

Citation:  Nicolaes Visscher, Africae Accurata Tabula, engraving on paper, 43.5 x 54 cm., Amsterdam, 1677.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-345  116/1

Citation: Vincenzo Maria Coronelli, L'Africa divisa nelle sue Parti..., engraving with applied color on paper, 61 x 45 cm., Venice: Coronelli, 1692.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-349a & b

Citation: Jean Nicolas Du Tralage, Sieur de Tillemon and Vincenzo Coronelli, Afrique, engraving with applied color on paper, 45.5 x 59.5 cm., Paris: J. B. Nolin, 1692.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-162

Citation:  Jacques Peeters, Africae, engraving with applied color on paper, 15.5 x 19 cm., engraved by Harrewyn, from L'Atlas en abrégé ou Nouvelle Description du Monde (Antwerp, 1692).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-298  GA50/19

Citation: Alexis Hubert Jaillot, L'Afrique divisée suivant l'estendue de ses principales parties..., engraving with applied color on paper, 45 x 63.4 cm., Paris: Jaillot, 1695.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-346

Citation: Edward Wells, A New Map of Libya or Old Africk Shewing Its General Divisions, Most Remarkable Countries or People, Cities...&c. Dedicated to his Highness William Duke of Gloucester, engraving with applied color on paper, 37 x 49 cm., engraved by Robert Spofforth, 1699, from.Edward Wells, A New Sett of Maps Both of Antient and Present Geography (Oxford: Wells, 1700).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-241  115/3

Citation:  Herman Moll, Africa, engraving with applied color on paper,  15.5 x 18.5 cm. (trimmed), from Joan Luyts, "A General and Particular Description of Africa," in Herman Moll, A System of Geography (London: Moll, 1701), part 2, p. 99.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-237  GA50/21

Verso: 

Citation:  Herman Moll, Barbary and Bildulgerid, engraving with applied color on paper, from Joan Luyts, "A General and Particular Description of Africa," in Herman Moll, A System of Geography (London: Moll, 1701), part 2, p. 99.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-237  GA50/21

Citation:  Herman Moll,  Map of Zaara, Negro-Land, Guinea &c., engraving with applied color on paper, from Joan Luyts, "A General and Particular Description of Africa," in Herman Moll, A System of Geography (London: Moll, 1701), part 2, p. 99.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-237  GA50/21

Citation: Nicolas de Fer, Partie Occidentale d'Afrique out se trouve les Isles Canaries et du Cap Verd dans la Mer Atlantique les Etats du Roy de Maroc, les Royaumes d'Alger et de Tunis, le Biledulgerid et le Saara en Barbarie, La Nigritie, et la Guinee, engraving on paper, from De Fer, Cartes et Descriptions Generales et Particulieres pour Intelligence des Affaires du Temps au Sujet du Succession de la Couronne d 'Espagne, en Europe, en Asie, Afrique, et Amerique (Paris: de Fer, 1701).  UT Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke​

Citation: Nicolas Sanson, L'Afrique divisée en ses Principales Parties, engraving with applied color on paper, 45.5 x 52.5 cm. (Paris: Sanson, 1704).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-287  115/4

Citation:  Pieter van der Aa, Andries Battels Scheeptogt na Brasile; door een XVIII Jarige Gevangenschap, in d'Africaanse gewesten van Angola en Loango Voleynde, engraving with applied color on paper, from Voyage par Mer d'Andre Battel au Bresil, fini par Angola et Loango, during XVIII ans qu'il a ete esclave en Afrique... (Leiden: Pierre van der Aa, 1706).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-206  115/4

Citation: Heinrich Scherer, Mappa Geographica exhibens Religionem Catholicam alicubi per Africam sparsam, engraving with applied color on paper, (1719).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-163  115/5

Citation: Jacques Chiquet, L'Afrique Dressee suivant les Auteurs les plus nouvea et sur les Observations de Messieurs de l'Academie Royale des Sciences. engraving with applied color on paper, 17 x 23 cm. (Paris: chez J. Chiquet, 1719).

Accession and Location:  2019-278  GA50/30

Citation:  Alan Mallet, Afrique Ancienne / Das Alte Africa, engraving on paper,  15 x 11 cm., from Beschreibung des ganzen Welt Kreises... (Frankfurt am Main, 1719).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-365  GA50/29

Citation: Henri Chatelain, Carte de L'Afrique selon les auteurs anciens enrichie de remarques historiques, engraving with applied color on paper, 18 x 50 cm., from Chatelain, Atlas Historique (7 vols.; Amsterdam: chez Honoré & Chatelain Libraires, 1705-1721),vol. 6 (1719), plate 1.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-347  115/4 

Citation:  Henri Chatelain, Carte de la Barbarie, Nigritie et de la Guinée, avec les Pays Voisins, engraving on paper, 41 x 52 cm., from Chatelain, Atlas Historique (7 vols.; Amsterdam, 1705-1721), vol. 6 (1719), no. 3.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-224  115/4

Citation: Henri Chatelain, Coutumes Moeurs & Habillemens des Peuples qui Habitent aux Environs du Cap de Bonne Esperance, avec une descripcion des animaux et reptiles qui se trouve dans de pais, engraving with applied color on paper, 39 x 45 cm., from Chatelain,  Atlas Historique...(7 vols.; Amsterdam: chez Honoré & Chatelain Libraires,  1705-1721), vol. 6 (1719).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-249  115/4

Citation: Henri Abraham Chatelain, Vue & Description de la Ville de Lovango dans le Royaume de Congo avec plusieurs particularitez curieuses touchant les moeurs & les habillemens des Indiens du pais, engraving with applied color on paper, 39 x 44 cm., from Chatelain, Atlas Historique (7 vols.; Amsterdam: chez Chatelain, 1720).

Accession and Location:  2019-256  115/4

Citation:  Pieter Van der Aa, De Stadt Alexandrie of Scanderik / La Ville de Alexandrie ou Scanderik, en Egypte, engraving on paper, 27 x 36 cm. (Leiden, United Provinces: chez Van der Aa, ca.1720).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-247  115/4

Citation: Christoph Weigel, the elder, and Johann Christoph Weigel, Africa Tabula, engraving with applied color on paper (Nuremberg, 1720).  UT Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-153  115/5

Citation: Christoph Weigel, the elder, and Johann Christoph Weigel, Africa Vetus..., engraving with applied color on paper (Nuremberg, 1720).  UT Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-215  115/5

Citation:  John Senex, A New Map of Africa from the Latest Observations , engraving with applied color on paper,  in Senex, A New General Atlas (London: John Senex and Daniel Brown, 1721).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections

Call Number and Location:  G1015.S57 1721  SpCo Oversize

Citation: Guillaume Delisle, Carte d’Afrique, dressé pour l’usage du Roy…, engraving with applied color on paper, 47 x 62 cm.  (Paris: Delisle, 1722).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections  

Accession and Location:  2002-527  107/7

Citation: Abbé Nicolas Lenglet-Dufresnoy, Carte de l'Afrique, engraving on paper, 25 x 39 cm., engraved by Pierre Filloeul, from abbé Lenglet-Dufresnoy, Méthode pour étudier l'histoire... nouvelle ed. augmentée et ornée de cartes géographiques (4 vols.; Paris: chez Pierre Gandouin, 1713-1729), p. 363.   The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-171  115/6

Citation:  Herman Moll, Africa, engraving with applied color on paper, 21 x 27 cm., in Moll, Atlas Minor (London: Printed for John Bowles, 1763; first printed in 1729).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections

Call Number and Location:  G1015 .M6 1763 Map Rm

Citation: Johann Georg Schreiber, Africa, engraving with applied color on paper, 16.5 x 24.5 cm., from J. Schreiber, Atlas Selectus von allen Kõnigreichen und Ländern der Welt (Leipzig, 1730).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-238  GA50/31

Citation: Johann Matthias Haas, Africa Secundum legitimas Projectionis Stereographicae regulas..., engraving with applied color on paper, 46 x 55 cm., Nuremberg: Homann Heirs, 1737.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-190  115/7

Citation:  Matthäus Seutter, Africa juxta navigationes et observat recentissimas aucta correcta et in sua Regna et Status divisa..., engraving with applied color on paper,  (Augsburg: Tobias Conrad Lotter, 1744).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-169  GA50/33

Citation:  Thomas Kitchin, Map of the Countries bordering on the Rivers Sanaga & Gambra, engraving with applied color on paper, 23 x 15.5 cm., from Thomas Astley, ed.,  A New General Collection of Voyages and Travels (London: Printed for T. Astley, 1745-1747), vol. 2, p. 27, plate 47.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

 Accession and Location:  2019-364  GA50/32

Jacob van der Schley after Nicolas Bellin, Verfolg van de Kust van Guinee... [or] Suite de la Coste de Guinee..., engraving with applied color on paper, 23.5 x 43 cm., from Abbe F. Prevost, Histoire generale des Voyages (Amsterdam, 1748, 1749; first published in Paris in 1747).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-325  115/6 

Citation: Jacques Nicolas Bellin, Plan de l'Isle de Goré, engraving with applied color on paper, 21 x 29  cm. (Paris, 1749).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-240  115/7

Citation: Jean Baptiste Bourguignon d’Anville, Afrique publiée sous les auspices de Monseigneur le duc d’Orléans, prémier Prince du Sang…, engraving with applied color on paper (two sheets joined), 99.06 x 98 cm., engraved by Guillaume Delahaye (Paris: d’Anville, 1749).  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-151 100/7

Citation: Didier Robert de Vaugondy, Les Isles du Cap-Verd, engraving with applied color on paper, 17 x 19.5 cm., from Gilles Robert de Vaugondy, Atlas Portatif Universel et Militaire (Paris: Durand & Pissot, 1748-1749).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-295  GA50/34

Citation: Isaak Tirion after Guillaume Delisle, Nieuwe Kaart van Africa na de alderlaatste ondekking, engraving with applied color on paper, 13 x 33 cm. (Amsterdam: Tirion, ca.1750).  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-199  115/7

Citation: Giambattista Albrizzi, Carta Generale dell'Africa, engraving on paper, 34 x 43.5 cm., from Albrizzi, Atlante Novissimo (2 vols.; Venice: Albrizzi, 1740-1750).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-322  115/7

Citation:  R. W. Seale, A New & Correct Map of the Coast of Africa, from Cape Blanco, to the Coast of Angola: Exhibiting all the European Forts and Settlements, engraving with applied color on paper, from J. Hinton, ed., Universal Magazine (London, 1750).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-310  115/7

Citation:  Leonhard Euler, Tab. Geogr. Africae ad Emendatiora..., engraving with applied color on paper, 32.5 x 40.5 cm., by Johann Ernst Gericke, Berlin, from Euler, Atlas Geographicus...(Berlin: Royal Academy of Sciences, 1753).  UTA LIbraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-180  115/7

Citation:  Malachy Postelthwayt, A New and Correct Map of Africa from Cape Blanco to the Coast of Angola..., engraving with applied color on paper, 1755, by William Seale, from Malachy Postelthwayt, Dictionary of Trade & Commerce (2 vols.; London, 1755-1774).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-211

Citation:  George Rollos, An Accurate Map of Barbary, engraving with applied color on paper, from Fenning, A New System of Geography (1760).  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:

Citation:  Tobias Lobeck, Africa, engraving with applied color on paper, engraved by Tobias Conrad Lotter, 10 x 13 cm., from Atlas Geographicus Portabilis (Augsburg: Lotter, 1760).   The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections

Accession and Location:  2019-288  GA50/35

Citation:  Claude Buy de Mornas, Description Generale de l'Afrique, engraving with applied color on paper, 36.5 x 52.5 cm., from Buy de Mornas, Atlas Méthodique et Elémentaire de Géographie et d'Histoire (Paris: Louis-Charles Desnos, 1761).

Accession and Location:  2019-223  115/8

Citation:  Louis Brion de la Tour, L'Afrique Dressee pour l'etude de la Geographie, engraving with applied color on paper, in Charles Desnos, Atlas General Methodique et Elementaire, pour l'Etude de la Geographie et d'Histoire Moderne... (Paris: chez Desnos, 1766).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Murray Hudson

Citation: Louis Brion de la Tour, Partie de l'Afrique en deça de l'Équator, engraving on paper, (Paris: chez Desnos,1766).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:

Citation:  Isaak Tirion after J.B. Sieur d'Anville, Kaart van Afrika, engraving with applied color on paper, 35.5 x 35.5 cm. (Amsterdam: Tirion, 1763).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-331  115/9

Citation: Thomas Jefferys, Africa, engraving on paper, 18.5 x 24.5 cm. from Thomas Salmon, Modern Gazetteer (5th edition; London, 1763).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Access and Location:  2019-179  GA50/36

Citation:  Thomas Kitchin, Africa, engraving on paper, 34.5 x 37.5 cm., 1770, possibly from A General Atlas or Description at Large of the Whole Universe (London: Kitchin and Jefferys, 1773).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-303  115/10

Citation: 

Ben Huseman, Cartographic Archivist 

phone: (817) 272-0633

e-mail: huseman@uta.edu

         Special Collections Reference

phone: (817) 272-3393

e-mail: spcoref@uta.edu

Citation: Didier Robert de Vaugondy, L'Afrique, engraving with applied color on paper, 24 x 28 cm., from Nouvel Atlas Portatif...(Paris: Robert de Vaugondy, 1778).  UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Citation:  Thomas Conder, Africa Agreeable to the Most Approved Maps, engraving with applied color on paper, 33 x 38 cm., from John Hamilton Moore, New and Complete Collection of Voyages and Travels" (London: printed for the proprietors and sold by A. Hogg, 1778).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:   2019-170

Citation:  Paolo Santini and Rigobert Bonne, Carte de la Guinée contenant les Isles du Cap Verd, le Senegal, la Côte de Guinée proprement die, les Royaumes de Loango, Congo, Angola et Benguela ... [and inset:] Côte d'Or par le Sr. D'Anville, engraving with applied color on paper, 45 x 61 cm. (Venice: Santini, 1779).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-293  116/3

Citation: Thomas Kitchin, Africa Drawn from the Latest Authorities. engraving with applied color on paper, 34 x 37 cm., from William Guthrie, A New System of Modern Geography (London: C. Dilly and G. Robinson, 1780).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-166

Citation:  Rigobert Bonne, Partie Occidentale de l'Ancien Continent, depuis Lisbonne jusqu'à la Riviere de Sierra Leona, engraving with applied color on paper, 33 x 22 cm., from Raynal, Atlas de Toutes les Parties Connues du Globe Terrestre (Paris, 1782).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-314  115/11

Citation: After Thomas Kitchin, Africa, agreeable to the most approved Maps and Charts, engraving on paper, from Baldwin's New Complete & Universal System of Geography (London, 1782).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-304  115/11

Citation: A. van Krevelt and Jan Barend Elwe, Nieuwe Generale Kaart van Africa Volgens de Laatste Ontdekkingen van Capt. Cook, engraving with applied color on paper, 18.5 x 21.5 cm., probably from Elwe and D. M. Langeveld, Compleete Zak-Atlas...(Amsterdam: Elwe, 1786).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-209  GA50/38

Citation:  Louis Brion de la Tour, L'Afrique Dreßée pour l'étude de la Géographie, engraving with applied color on paper, 28.5 x 31.5 cm., from Brion de la Tour, Atlas General Civil, Ecclesiastique et Miltaire, Methodique et de l'Histoire (Paris, 1786).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Access and Location:  2019-225  115/8

Citation: Laurie and Whittle, Africa, engraving on two sheets, UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Citation: Jedidiah Morse, Africa, engraving with applied color on paper, 17.1 x 21 cm., engraved by John Allen, from Morse, The American Universal Geography (Boston: Thomas & Andrews, 1796).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-306  GA50/39

Citation:  Franz Ludwig Güßefeld, Charte von Africa, engraving with applied color on paper, 46.5 x 52 cm. (Nuremberg:  Homann Heirs, 1797).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-175  115/12

Citation:  Johann Walch, Afrika, engraving with applied color on paper, 18.5 x 22 cm., from Walch, Allgemeiner Atlas nach den bewährsten Hülfsmitteln und astronomischen Ortsbestimmungen (Augsburg, 1812).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location: 2019-308  GA50/41

Citation:  W. H. and Daniel Lizars, Part of Africa [Northwest], engraving with applied color on paper, 29.5 x 46 cm. (Edinburgh: Lizars, ca.1825).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-152 1 of 4  115/14

Citation:  Anthony Finley, Africa, engraving with applied color on paper, in Anthony Finley, A New General Atlas (Philadelphia: Anthony Finley, 1830). The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections

Accession and Location:  

Citation:  J. & C. Walker and the Society for the Diffusion of Useful Knowledge, [Africa, Southern Europe, and the Eastern Coast of Brazil], engraving with applied color on paper, 28.5 x 29 cm. (London: Baldwin & Gradock, June 1831).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-402  115/15

Citation:  Thomas G. Bradford, Africa, engraving on paper, in Bradford, A Comprehensive Atlas Geographical, Historical & Commercial (Boston: J. H. Wilkins & R. B. Carter, 1835).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections.

Accession and Location:  G1019 .B8 SpCo

Citation:  Cartographer Unknown, Colony of Liberia, on the West Coast of Africa, engraving on paper, in Address to the Managers of the American Colonization Society to the People of the United States, Adopted at their Meeting, June 19, 1832  (Georgetown, D.C.: James C. Dunn, printer, 1832).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Jenkins Garrett

Call Number and Location:  E448 .A525  Garrett

Citation: Thomas Starling, Western Africa, engraving with applied color on paper, 9.5 x 15 cm., from Queen Victoria's Royal Cabinet Atlas (London: Bull Hollas, 1840).  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:  2019-366  GA50/42

Citation: John Rapkin and H. Winkles, Western Africa, engraving, 26 x 37 cm., by Rapkin and E. Radclyffe. London: John Tallis & Company, 1850. UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:

Citation: John Rapkin and H. Winkles, Western Africa, engraving, 26 x 37 cm., by Rapkin and E. Radclyffe. London: John Tallis & Company, 1850. UTA Libraries Special Collections, Gift of Dr. Jack Franke

Accession and Location:

Citation: W. & A. K. Johnston, Africa & Arabia, engraved transfer color lithograph on paper, from Alexander Keith Johnston, Atlas of General and Descriptive Geography (Edinburgh and London: William Blackwood and Sons, 1852), plate 17.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections

Call Number and Location:  G1019 .J64 1852  SpCo Oversize

Citation: G. H. Colton and A. J. Johnson, Africa, from Johnson's New Illustrated Steel-Plate Family Atlas, with Descriptions Geographical, Statistical, and Historical (New York:  Johnson & Browning, 1862), pp. 89-90.  The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries Special Collections

Call Number and Location:  G1019 .J57 1862 SpCo Oversize

Citation: John Bartholomew, Africa, from Phillips' Handy General Atlas of the World (Liverpool: George Phillip & Son, 1875).  UTA Libraries Special Collections 

Citation: Übersichtskarte von Afrika [General Map of Africa], engraved transfer color lithograph, 1886, from Richard Andree, Andree's Allgemeiner Handatlas (Bielefeld and Leipzig: Verlag von Velhagen & Klasing, 1887).  UTA Libraries Special Collections.

Citation: Africa, from Alden's Atlas of the World (New York: John B. Alden,1887).

Citation: Übersichstkarte von Afrika [General Map of Africa], engraved transfer color lithograph on paper, from Richard Andree, Andree's Allgemeiner Handatlas (Bielefeld and Leipzig: Verlag von Velhagen & Klasing, 1893).  UTA Libraries Special Collections

Citation: Übersichstkarte von Afrika [General Map of Africa], engraved transfer color lithograph on paper, from Richard Andree, Andree's Allgemeiner Handatlas (Bielefeld and Leipzig: Verlag von Velhagen & Klasing, 1899).  UTA Libraries Special Collections