Subject and Course Guides: Engineering Sciences: Industrial, Manufacturing & Systems : Find Resources

Background Information

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides reports focused on topics of current interest covering a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. A great tool to use for discovering research topics and gathering background information.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks (formerly named Gale Virtual Library or GVRL) provides a wealth of full-text reference and general subject books in a wide variety of subjects.
Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
Find topics to discuss and research. This current events database covers topics such as politics, social and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics
Find topics to discuss and research in TOPICsearch. This current events database covers topics such as politics, social and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics. Includes 40,000 documents including selected full-text articles from public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information and nearly 100 U.S. newspapers. Search the database by keyword, subject, topic, or natural language.

INSPEC (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), Inspec covers the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology.
OnePetro This link opens in a new window
Oil and gas exploration and production (E&P) industry journals and proceedings.
Access to over 100,000 documents produced by 18 publishing partners in the economic geology, petroleum geology, and oil and gas industry worldwide. Search by document ID or normal keyword, periodical title/volume/issue. Organizations contributing content include:Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG), Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), American Petroleum Institute (API), International Society for Rock Mechanics (ISRM), American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA), American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE), Society of Underwater Technology (SUT), International Petroleum Technology Conference (IPTC), NACE International, National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL)
TRID (Transport Research International Documentation) This link opens in a new window
Transportation research, including safety and operations. Primarily U.S.-based with some international links.
Integrated database combining the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's™ International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 940,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions across the globe.
Abstracts and citations in ISI's Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Searches by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation; also for articles that cite an author or work. Along with an article's abstract, its cited references (bibliography) are listed for further searching.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text, peer-reviewed business publications, as well as indexing and abstracts for many scholarly business journals.
Business Source Complete (BSC) is the world's most comprehensive scholarly business database that provides full-text access to almost 4,000 business and scholarly journals, plus indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals dating back as far as 1886. Select journals included in this database are: Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, and Administrative Science Quarterly. Additional full-text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more. BSC is an important resource for researchers interested in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. Updated monthly.

ScienceCinema This link opens in a new window
Science Cinema highlights scientific videos featuring leading-edge research from the U.S. Department of Energy. Using innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research, Science Cinema allows users to search for specific words and phrases spoken within video files.
Science Cinema uses innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research to allow users to quickly find video files produced by the Department Of Energy National Laboratories, other DOE research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). Users can search for specific words and phrases, and precise snippets of the video where the search term was spoken will appear along with a timeline. Users can then select a snippet or a segment along the timeline to begin playing the video at the exact point in the video where the words were spoken. Over 3,000 speech-indexed videos are currently available in ScienceCinema, and the database will continue to grow as new R&D-related videos are produced by DOE Laboratories and other research facilities.

ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to the complete contents of the ASM (American Society for Metals) Handbook and several additional resources.
ASM Handbooks Online provides electronic access to the complete contents of the ASM Handbook published by the American Society for Metals (ASM). This resource, often referred to as The Metals Handbook, features extensive information and data about the selection, processing, performance, and analysis of all types of structural materials, including ferrous and non-ferrous metals. In addition to the ASM Handbook, users have access to: the ASM Handbook Supplements, the Engineered Materials Desk Edition, the Metals Handbook Desk Edition, the Reference Information Library, and the ASM Handbook Archive. Content for all of these resources is only available in HTML (web) format. Updated regularly.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals, special technical publications, manuals, books, proceedings, bulletins, and standards published by the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). NOTE: Please select the 'My Subscription' button below the search box to retrieve search results that we subscribe to.
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast full-text collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information published by the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). The collection includes journals, special technical publications, manuals, books, data series, proceedings, bulletins, and standards. ASTM standards, which include test methods, specifications, accepted practices, and accepted terminology, are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance safety, facilitate market access and trade, and build consumer confidence. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical engineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, environmental engineering, geological engineering, health and safety engineering, industrial engineering, materials science engineering, mechanical engineering, nuclear engineering, petroleum engineering, soil science and irrigation engineering, and solar engineering. Updated regularly.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Please note that some publications contain reprint articles for which IEEE does not hold copyright.
Search and browse publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
Search and browse publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET, successor to the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE)). IEEE Xplore contains all of the IEEE and IET publications: Journals, transactions, magazines, conference and colloquia proceedings, and IEEE Standards.

SciTech Connect This link opens in a new window
SciTech Connect makes available over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.
SciTech Connect contains nearly 3 million citations, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites. It also has more than 445,000 full-text DOE-funded STI documents.

UTA Department of Industrial, Manufacturing, and Systems Engineering Dissertations & Theses
Includes T&D archived on UT Arlington's Research Commons since 2007. This database supersedes the Proquest Database, below, but you may find pre-2007 T&D in that database.

Dissertations and Theses at University of Texas - Arlington This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of UTA theses and dissertations published in Dissertation Abstracts, Master’s Abstracts, and Proquest Digital Dissertations.
A digital collection of UTA theses and dissertations published in Dissertation Abstracts, Master’s Abstracts, and Proquest Digital Dissertations. This database allows searching citations (author, title, advisor, etc.) and abstracts, viewing 24 page previews, and downloading the full text of dissertations and theses included. This is also a gateway site for searching dissertations from other universities published since 1997.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT Global) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations & abstracts for theses and dissertations from institutions in the North America and Europe. Many are available in full text.
The Dissertations Abstracts database contains citations for dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include abstracts. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include abstracts. Titles published from 1997 forward have 24 page previews and are available as full text PDF documents.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations.org is a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs that brings an innovative approach to increasing traffic and discoverability of ETD research.
The program is free for authors and participating institutions with the desired end of making significant open-access content more readily discoverable to end-users within and beyond academic institutions.

Thesis & Dissertation Information
Information about preparing and submitting your thesis or dissertation

MatWeb-Material Property Data
A database of material properties with data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials."
NSF Science & Engineering Statistics
"Publications, data, and analyses about the nation's science and engineering resources"
more...less...
Links to a wealth of statistical tables in many disciplines
Data Sources
A list of some Texas, local, and national datasets.

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
An online search tool that provides information and instruction on research methods. It is aimed at university students, researchers, and faculty and is designed to answer methods questions that arise during the various steps of the research process, including the literature search, review, research design, data collection, analysis, and write up.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book”, the "Little Blue Book” series, two major works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

Request materials not owned by UTA Libraries

ILL (InterLibrary Loan)
Use ILL to get materials not owned by UTA Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Borrowing From Other Libraries
You have access to other libraries in Texas and elsewhere.
Distance Education & Disability Services
We will mail books and resources to you that are held in UTA Libraries.

Can't access library resources?

Connecting from Off-Campus
by Walter Betts Last Updated May 10, 2024 9575 views this year

Citation Linker

Find a specific journal article, journal or book by citation information.