It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Endangered Languages: Web Resources
Use this research guide to find information resources on endangered languages and language revitalization and documentation.
"National Geographic's Enduring Voices Project (conducted in collaboration with the Living Tongues Institute for Endangered Languages) strives to preserve endangered languages by identifying language hotspots—the places on our planet with the most unique, poorly understood, or threatened indigenous languages—and documenting the languages and cultures within them." Enduring Voices YouTube Channel
"The Endangered Languages Project, is an online resource to record, access, and share samples of and research on endangered languages, as well as to share advice and best practices for those working to document or strengthen languages under threat."
"A non-profit organization dedicated to the documentation, revitalization, and maintenance of endangered languages" run by Gregory D.S. Anderson and K. David Harrison (made famous in the documentary film, "The Linguists").
"Welcome to Native Languages of the Americas! We are a small non-profit organization dedicated to the survival of Native American languages, particularly through the use of Internet technology. Our website is not beautiful. Probably, it never will be. But this site has inner beauty, for it is, or will be, a compendium of online materials about more than 800 indigenous languages of the Western Hemisphere and the people that speak them."
"This site offers a glimpse into a vibrant tribal languages movement that embodies the indomitable spirits and love of our Indigenous ancestors, and the power of our ancient languages to continue to shape our contemporary lives and cultural survival as Native peoples." --Jennifer Weston
The Endangered Languages Documentation Programme (ELDP) was founded in 2002 as part of the Hans Rausing Endangered Language Project (HRELP) with a donation of £20 million from the Arcadia Fund to SOAS University of London, UK.
The Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies holds "the world's largest collection dedicated to Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and histories. Our collection is highly significant both as a keeping place for culturally significant objects, and as a resource for anybody looking to improve their knowledge of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander history and culture."
"A digital archive of recordings and texts in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America. Access to archive resources is free of charge. Most of the resources in the AILLA database are available to the public, but some have special access restrictions."
"A catalog and online archive of the indigenous languages of California, western North America, and the Americas. A collaboration between the Survey of California and Other Indian Languages and the Berkeley Language Center (BLC), both archives at the University of California, Berkeley."
"A resource center for researchers, educators, and language advocates of Native American languages. Begun in 2002, it consists of a growing number of audio and video recordings, manuscripts, books, and teaching curriculum, lesson plans and materials representing over 72 languages."
"In 2000 the Volkswagen Foundation started the DOBES programme in order to document languages that are potentially in danger of becoming extinct within a few years time. In 2000 the pilot phase was started with seven documentation teams and one archiving team, with the intention to come up with recommendations of how language documentation can work, and how the archiving can best be done."
These archives "collect and preserve historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of anthropology. Their collections represent the four fields of anthropology – ethnology, linguistics, archaeology, and physical anthropology – and include fieldnotes, journals, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, film and video created by Smithsonian anthropologists and other preeminent scholars."
The interviews reflect perspectives of individual tribe members as well as elders. The majority of these interviews are conducted with both members and elders of the Lummi and the Nooksack tribes. Other interviewees include members and elders from the Chinook, Chehalis, Cowlitz, Pachenant, Quinault, Colville, Sinkiuse, and Swinomish tribes. Although the majority of interviews deal with Washington tribes, there is also an interviewee who speaks about her father who was half Nez Perce.
The Northwest Tribal Oral History interviews contains information pertaining to a wide variety of Native American tribes and peoples in Washington State. The interviews reflect perspectives of individual tribe members as well as elders. The majority of these interviews are conducted with both members and elders of the Lummi and the Nooksack tribes. Other interviewees include members and elders from the Chinook, Chehalis, Cowlitz, Pachenant, Quinault, Colville, Sinkiuse, and Swinomish tribes. Although the majority of interviews deal with Washington tribes, there is also an interviewee who speaks about her father who was half Nez Perce, an Idaho tribe. Another audio tape records Nez Perce songs. Some topics discussed in these interviews and recordings include Native American languages and word etymologies, religion, education, genealogy, songs, hunting and fishing as well as politics. Also contained within the collection are recordings of the Northwest Indians Executive Council meetings and conferences held in Spokane, WA in 1973.
"The Pacific and Regional Archive for Digital Sources in Endangered Cultures offers a facility for digital conservation and access to endangered materials from all over the world. Our research group has developed models to ensure that the archive can provide access to interested communities and conforms to emerging international standards for digital archiving. A primary motivation for this project is making field recordings available to those recorded and their descendants."
"A research center in the Department of Linguistics, University of California, Berkeley, supporting the documentation, study, and revitalization of the indigenous languages of California and the Americas."
Nonprofit organization which "aims to promote and improve the teaching and learning of languages, identify and solve problems related to language and culture, and serve as a resource for information about language and culture."
"CoLang offers an opportunity for undergraduate and graduate students, practicing linguists, and indigenous community members to develop and refine skills and approaches to language documentation and revitalization. The Institute is designed to provide an opportunity for a diverse range of participants to become trained in a wide range of skills in community-centered language documentation."
"Provide[s] critical training to strengthen efforts to revitalize and promote the use of Indigenous languages across generations. This is accomplished by engaging educators, schools, Indigenous communities and policy makers nationally and internationally through outreach, transformative teaching, purposeful research and collaborative partnerships."