It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Endangered Languages: Articles
Use this research guide to find information resources on endangered languages and language revitalization and documentation.
A comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
Anthropology Plus is a comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. As a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases, this database offers worldwide indexing of core and lesser-known periodicals from the early 19th century to present. It includes extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries. Updated quarterly.
The eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database of primary materials containing information on all aspects of cultural and social life, over a long period of time.
The eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains primary information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is an archive collection of over 620 full-text scholarly journals primarily from university presses and professional society publishers. Additional titles are added to the collection as back files are digitized. Subject areas include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Botany, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Folklore, History, History of Science Technology, Language Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Public Policy Administration, Science, Slavic Studies, Sociology, Statistics.
Focused on the nature and use of language. Covers research in linguistics; research in language; and research in speech, language and hearing pathology
Focusing on the nature and use of language, LLBA covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language (speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language forms, spelling, phonetics); and research in speech, language and hearing pathology. Document types indexed are bibliographies, books, conferences, journal articles, and book reviews. Coverage is international.
The essential database for identifying scholarly and critical studies of literature and folklore around the world and from all time periods. It includes related fields, such as linguistics, film, and popular culture.
Provides access to citations from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts in addition to the historical aspects of printing and publishing. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from JSTOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Anthropology Commons is a repository of open primary sources critical to the study of anthropology and the history of the field. It includes approximately 8,000 pages from the Ruth Fulton Benedict Archive (held at the Vassar College Archive) which have been digitized, including notes from various field expeditions to the American Southwest in the 1930s.
Oral History Online is a database of English language oral histories.
Oral History Online contains more than 34,000 pages of full-text content including Ellis Island oral history narratives and rare Black Panther Party interviews. It is also an index to free oral history information on the Web. Indexed oral histories represent information from archives, repositories, and individuals around the world.
Contains citations & abstracts for theses and dissertations from institutions in the North America and Europe. Many are available in full text.
The Dissertations Abstracts database contains citations for dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include abstracts. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include abstracts. Titles published from 1997 forward have 24 page previews and are available as full text PDF documents.
This database is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
The American Psychological Association's abstracts of scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Indexing and abstracting of articles from nearly 10,000 journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Links to full text in the PsycARTICLES database as well as other full-text EBSCOhost databases.
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; provides abstracts of journal articles (1952 to present) and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1800 serial publications, including books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Provides links to UTA holdings including full text articles in journals to which UTA has licensed access.
"The official journal of the Australian Linguistic Society, [the journal] is concerned with all branches of linguistics, with preference given to articles of theoretical interest. The journal maintains an international focus, while at the same time encouraging articles on Australian languages, Australian English, and language in Australian society."
"A world forum for the study of all the languages native to North, Central, and South America. Inaugurated by Franz Boas in 1917, IJAL concentrates on the investigation of linguistic data and on the presentation of grammatical fragments and other documents relevant to Amerindian languages."
"An international forum for interdisciplinary research that is grounded in theory and of interest to scholars and policymakers. This journal seeks cutting-edge interdisciplinary research from around the world, reflecting diverse theoretical and methodological frameworks and topical areas."
Promotes sociolinguistics as a thoroughly linguistic and thoroughly social-scientific endeavour. The journal is concerned with language in all its dimensions, macro and micro, as formal features or abstract discourses, as situated talk or written text.
NOTE: This link takes you to the homepage of this open-access journal, which is "devoted to work pursuing formal approaches to the study of South Asian Languages. We conceive of South Asian Languages broadly to cover the languages of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Tibet and that of the South Asian diasporas."
"LD&C publishes papers on all topics related to language documentation and conservation, including, but not limited to, the goals of language documentation, data management, fieldwork methods, ethical issues, orthography design, reference grammar design, lexicography, methods of assessing ethnolinguistic vitality, archiving matters" etc.
"The only journal devoted exclusively to the study of the indigenous languages of the Oceanic area and parts of Southeast Asia. The thousand-odd languages within the scope of the journal are the aboriginal languages of Australia, the Papuan languages of New Guinea, and the languages of the Austronesian (or Malayo-Polynesian) family."
"A forum within community of African language scholars for discourse on issues of direct concern to the field of African linguistics. Seeks to publish African language data and analysis of potential theoretical interest."