Subject and Course Guides: Education: Curriculum and Instruction: Find Resources

Recommended Resources

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides references to a broad range of educational topics. Includes articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, reports and standards
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides extensive access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals previously included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, theses, audiovisual media, directories, monographs and government documents.
Education Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations for articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks dealing with educational topics
Provides citations for articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the U.S. and elsewhere dealing with educational topics. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are indexed.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
The American Psychological Association's abstracts of scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Indexing and abstracting of articles from nearly 10,000 journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Links to full text in the PsycARTICLES database as well as other full-text EBSCOhost databases.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals includes more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
Designed for professional educators, this specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals includes more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions across the globe.
Abstracts and citations in ISI's Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Searches by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation; also for articles that cite an author or work. Along with an article's abstract, its cited references (bibliography) are listed for further searching.

Critical Multicultural Analysis of Children's Literature by Maria José Botelho; Masha Kabakow Rudman
ISBN: 0203885201
Publication Date: 2009-05-07
Learn why Dr. Kathryn Pole recommended this book for the UTA Libraries' collection.
Ways with Words by Shirley Brice Heath
ISBN: 9780521273190
Publication Date: 1983-07-07
Learn why Dr. Peggy Semingson recommended this book for the UTA Libraries' collection.
English Teacher's Companion by Jim Burke
ISBN: 9780325028408
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Learn why Dr. Holly Hungerford-Kresser recommended this book for the UTA Libraries' collection.

Data Sources
A list of some Texas, local, and national datasets.
UTA Libraries Day Family Research Lab
The UTA Libraries Day Family Research Lab (DFRL) is a hub of research support at UTA Libraries. The DFRL supports and partners with researchers through all aspects of the research cycle, from literature reviews to data management plans to digital dissemination. Support includes teaching and consultation on working with data, data management, data visualization, publishing datasets in Mav Matrix and other repositories, reviewing data management plans, and leveraging metrics such as bibliometric and altmetrics to measure research impact.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT Global) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations & abstracts for theses and dissertations from institutions in the North America and Europe. Many are available in full text.
The Dissertations Abstracts database contains citations for dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include abstracts. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include abstracts. Titles published from 1997 forward have 24 page previews and are available as full text PDF documents.

All Subject Specific Databases

Search by Citation Information

Find a specific journal article, journal, or book using citation information, such as a title, ISBN, or DOI.

Request materials not owned by UTA Libraries

ILL (InterLibrary Loan)
Use ILL to get materials not owned by UTA Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Borrowing From Other Libraries
You have access to other libraries in Texas and elsewhere.
Distance Education & Disability Services
We will mail books and resources to you that are held in UTA Libraries.

Can't access library resources?

Connecting from Off-Campus
by Walter Betts Last Updated May 10, 2024 9597 views this year

Background Information

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks (formerly named Gale Virtual Library or GVRL) provides a wealth of full-text reference and general subject books in a wide variety of subjects.
Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Source provides a series of articles representing multiple controversial viewpoints. This resource can be used as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.
Points of View Reference Source is a full-text database which provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Topics covered include such as: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, the Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardizing testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, etc.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides reports focused on topics of current interest covering a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. A great tool to use for discovering research topics and gathering background information.