Education: Teacher and Administrator Preparation

A multidisciplinary collection of resources for researchers, practitioners and policy makers in child care and early education. Includes citations and some full text for peer-reviewed journal articles, books, research reports, fact sheets and briefs, grey literature, instruments, and government documents. In addition, Research Connections offers data and statistics for download and analysis, and tools for quick online analysis of data.

Provides citations for articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the U.S. and elsewhere dealing with educational topics. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are indexed.

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides extensive access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals previously included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, theses, audiovisual media, directories, monographs and government documents.

Designed for professional educators, this specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals includes more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965.

The American Psychological Association's abstracts of scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Indexing and abstracting of articles from nearly 10,000 journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Links to full text in the PsycARTICLES database as well as other full-text EBSCOhost databases.

It includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.

Abstracts and citations in ISI's Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Searches by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation; also for articles that cite an author or work. Along with an article's abstract, its cited references (bibliography) are listed for further searching.

Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.

Points of View Reference Source is a full-text database which provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Topics covered include such as: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, the Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardizing testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, etc.