Known as the bible of biomedical engineering, The Biomedical Engineering Handbook, Fourth Edition, sets the standard against which all other references of this nature are measured. As such, it has served as a major resource for both skilled professionals and novices to biomedical engineering. Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals, the first volume of the handbook, presents material from respected scientists with diverse backgrounds in physiological systems, biomechanics, biomaterials, bioelectric phenomena, and neuroengineering. More than three dozen specific topics are examined, including cardiac biomechanics, the mechanics of blood vessels, cochlear mechanics, biodegradable biomaterials, soft tissue replacements, cellular biomechanics, neural engineering, electrical stimulation for paraplegia, and visual prostheses. The material is presented in a systematic manner and has been updated to reflect the latest applications and research findings.
Gale Ebooks (formerly named Gale Virtual Library or GVRL) provides a wealth of full-text reference and general subject books in a wide variety of subjects.
Sources offered in the GVRL include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company histories, consumer health references and history compilations. A wide variety of subjects are covered including arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural, religion and science.
Find topics to discuss and research. This current events database covers topics such as politics, social and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics
Find topics to discuss and research in TOPICsearch. This current events database covers topics such as politics, social and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics. Includes 40,000 documents including selected full-text articles from public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information and nearly 100 U.S. newspapers. Search the database by keyword, subject, topic, or natural language.
Provides citations and abstracts for life science literature.
Biological Abstracts is one of the foremost indexes on life science journal literature. The database indexes over 4,000 international journals and contains over 14 million archival records from as far back as 1926, with more than 370,000 citations added each year related to vital biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Subjects covered includes: agriculture, anatomy, bacteriology, behavioral sciences, biomedicine, bioengineering, biotechnology, botany, ecology, cell biology, clinical medicine, genetics, immunology, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, radiation and systematic biology, toxicology, virology, and zoology. Updated regularly.
Covers engineering research literature, containing references to citations from global engineering journals and conferences. To access, choose from "Select a database" drop-down list
Comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to millions of citations from thousands of engineering journals and conferences. Includes global information for technical professionals, researchers and managers in the engineering field.
A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. PMC is provided by the U.S. National Institutes of Health and the National Library of Medicine
A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. PMC is provided by the U.S. National Institutes of Health. All journals in PMC provide free access to full text though sometimes on a delayed basis. A variety of search options are available.
Full access to all IOP journal content with coverage starting in 1874. Includes these titles relevant to Bioengineering: Biofabrication, Bioinspiration & Biomimetics, Biomedical Materials, Biomedical Physics & Engineering Express, Physical Biology, Physics in Medicine & Biology, Progress in Biomedical Engineering
A collection of databases that index the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions across the globe.
Abstracts and citations in ISI's Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Searches by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation; also for articles that cite an author or work. Along with an article's abstract, its cited references (bibliography) are listed for further searching.
Science Cinema highlights scientific videos featuring leading-edge research from the U.S. Department of Energy. Using innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research, Science Cinema allows users to search for specific words and phrases spoken within video files.
Science Cinema uses innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research to allow users to quickly find video files produced by the Department Of Energy National Laboratories, other DOE research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). Users can search for specific words and phrases, and precise snippets of the video where the search term was spoken will appear along with a timeline. Users can then select a snippet or a segment along the timeline to begin playing the video at the exact point in the video where the words were spoken. Over 3,000 speech-indexed videos are currently available in ScienceCinema, and the database will continue to grow as new R&D-related videos are produced by DOE Laboratories and other research facilities.
Provides full-text access to the complete contents of the ASM (American Society for Metals) Handbook and several additional resources.
ASM Handbooks Online provides electronic access to the complete contents of the ASM Handbook published by the American Society for Metals (ASM). This resource, often referred to as The Metals Handbook, features extensive information and data about the selection, processing, performance, and analysis of all types of structural materials, including ferrous and non-ferrous metals. In addition to the ASM Handbook, users have access to: the ASM Handbook Supplements, the Engineered Materials Desk Edition, the Metals Handbook Desk Edition, the Reference Information Library, and the ASM Handbook Archive. Content for all of these resources is only available in HTML (web) format. Updated regularly.
Provides full-text access to journals, special technical publications, manuals, books, proceedings, bulletins, and standards published by the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM).
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast full-text collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information published by the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). The collection includes journals, special technical publications, manuals, books, data series, proceedings, bulletins, and standards. ASTM standards, which include test methods, specifications, accepted practices, and accepted terminology, are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance safety, facilitate market access and trade, and build consumer confidence. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical engineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, environmental engineering, geological engineering, health and safety engineering, industrial engineering, materials science engineering, mechanical engineering, nuclear engineering, petroleum engineering, soil science and irrigation engineering, and solar engineering. Updated regularly.
Search and browse publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)Mobile Version
Search and browse publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET, successor to the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE)). IEEE Xplore contains all of the IEEE and IET publications: Journals, transactions, magazines, conference and colloquia proceedings, and IEEE Standards.
SciTech Connect makes available over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.
SciTech Connect contains nearly 3 million citations, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites. It also has more than 445,000 full-text DOE-funded STI documents.
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world. Multilingual WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.
Currently, approximately 100 databases and portals from over 70 countries are searchable through WorldWideScience.org. Users get the most current findings in fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment, and basic sciences, including access to scientific and numeric data sources. Much of the information accessed via this gateway is freely available and public domain.
A digital collection of UTA theses and dissertations published in Dissertation Abstracts, Master’s Abstracts, and Proquest Digital Dissertations.
A digital collection of UTA theses and dissertations published in Dissertation Abstracts, Master’s Abstracts, and Proquest Digital Dissertations. This database allows searching citations (author, title, advisor, etc.) and abstracts, viewing 24 page previews, and downloading the full text of dissertations and theses included. This is also a gateway site for searching dissertations from other universities published since 1997.
Contains citations & abstracts for theses and dissertations from institutions in the North America and Europe. Many are available in full text.
The Dissertations Abstracts database contains citations for dissertations and theses from institutions in the North America and Europe. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include abstracts. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include abstracts. Titles published from 1997 forward have 24 page previews and are available as full text PDF documents.
OpenDissertations.org is a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs that brings an innovative approach to increasing traffic and discoverability of ETD research.
The program is free for authors and participating institutions with the desired end of making significant open-access content more readily discoverable to end-users within and beyond academic institutions.
A database of material properties with data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials."
The Data CAVE provides support and services centering on data-driven research, e-science, and digital humanities data analysis. Services include teaching and consultation on working with data, data management, and data visualization; partnering with researchers in use and visualization of data through charts, infographics, and other tools; publishing datasets in Mavs Dataverse and other repositories; and reviewing data management plans.
An online search tool that provides information and instruction on research methods. It is aimed at university students, researchers, and faculty and is designed to answer methods questions that arise during the various steps of the research process, including the literature search, review, research design, data collection, analysis, and write up.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book”, the "Little Blue Book” series, two major works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.