Subject and Course Guides: Accounting: Find Resources

Specialties within Accounting

U.S. vs International Accounting Standards Overview
Background information/overview regarding United States Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP) vs International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS)
IFRS vs. U.S. GAAP: What's the Difference?
At the conceptual level, IFRS is considered more of a principles-based accounting standard in contrast to GAAP, which is considered more rules-based.

Research Resources

Bloomberg BNA Tax Management Library This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg BNA Tax database provides more than 550 Tax Management Portfolios with guidance provided by a network of over 1,000 leading experts. Portfolios related to U.S. Income Taxation, Estates & Gift Taxation, and International Taxation are included with links to relevant primary sources. In-depth coverage of Transfer Pricing is provided as well.
Click on the Return to Product button to access the platform if presented with a Bloomberg Law Sign In screen.
Checkpoint This link opens in a new window
To locate Accounting Standards and Regulations in Checkpoint, be sure to use the Drop-down menu in the upper left corner to select Accounting, Audit, and Corporate Finance information.
Provides federal, state, and local tax research information. In addition to the laws themselves, has a newsstand feature which includes a Tax Watch (House and Senate activities), Federal tax updates, state and local tax updates, and international tax updates. Also offers several different types of calculators--Auto, Business, Credit Card, Investment, Loan, Mortgage, Personal, Retirement, Savings, and Tax.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This resource includes a vast array of company financial information as well as a variety of accounting resources

Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB)
The PCAOB is directed by the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 to establish auditing and related professional practice standards for registered public accounting firms to follow in the preparation and issuance of audit reports.
Secuities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
The SEC strives to promote a market environment that is worthy of the public's trust providing free access to public companies' financial information and operations.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Company Financial Statements with data covering up to 25 years, illustrating a company's financial trend over the period. Various Tabs include competitors, company history, etc.
Provides information on U.S. and non-companies including annual reports, financial data, Executive Search, Edgar searching, and Industry Reports. Detailed: U.S. Company Data provides a fully searchable database of 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges. Each company report incorporates up-to-the-minute news items. U.S. Company Archives Data holds the full business descriptions, histories and financial statements for companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996 onward. International Universe provides data on 20,000 non-U.S. companies, while the International Archives provides the latest available financial information on non-U.S. companies that have merged, were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or otherwise disappeared from 1995 forward. Features include: 15 years of detailed financial statements, the ability to customize viewing and output to retrieve precisely the information you need, export company reports and financials into software applications such as Microsoft(r) Word, Microsoft(r) Excel or Adobe(r) Acrobat(r) Reader(r), execute accurate cross-border searches using a variety of financial and text variables, compare multiple companies' reports, view more than 115,000 images of company annual reports.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
In spite of the name of this database, ScienceDirect includes articles from journals that cover accounting and auditing topics.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This resource is an "all purpose" resource, covering scholarly articles as well as articles from popular magazines and/or industry publications. Use available database features to customize a search. Such features include refining by type of source, field options where keywords can be specified to appear only in the article title field or subject field, to enhance quality of results. Length of articles can also be specified, such as greater than> 5 pages to eliminate brief announcements, etc.
Business Source Complete (BSC) is the world's most comprehensive scholarly business database that provides full-text access to almost 4,000 business and scholarly journals, plus indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals dating back as far as 1886. Select journals included in this database are: Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, and Administrative Science Quarterly. Additional full-text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more. BSC is an important resource for researchers interested in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. Updated monthly.

Management Accounting Quarterly
To find articles from this journal: UT Arlington faculty, staff, and students can log in with their NetID to get the password for access to Management Accounting Quarterly. Be patient, several steps are needed: (To get the password, and to use the password).
1 Click on the journal name above and then click to "get password" for this journal by logglng in with your UTA Net ID.
2.When you reach the Management Accounting Quarterly website, look for "Member Login" on the tool bar and then type the password you found.by logging in with your UTA Net ID.
more...less...
If you have trouble, contact a librarian or ask for help on Chat

Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
The private sector organization in the U.S. that establishes financial accounting and reporting standards.
Governmental Accounting Standards Board
An independent private-sector organization that establishes accounting and financial reporting standards for U.S. state and local governments that follow Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP)
American Institute of Certified Public Accountance
The world's largest member association representing the accounting profession setting ethical standards, auditing standards, and develops the CPA Exam.
IFRS Foundation (International Financial Reporting Standards)
The private sector organization in the U.S. that establishes financial accounting and reporting standards.

UTA Libraries Data CAVE (Center for Data Creation, Analysis, Visualization, and Exploration)
The Data CAVE provides support and services centering on data-driven research, e-science, and digital humanities data analysis. Services include teaching and consultation on working with data, data management, and data visualization; partnering with researchers in use and visualization of data through charts, infographics, and other tools; publishing datasets in Mavs Dataverse and other repositories; and reviewing data management plans.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
UTA Faculty and Students may request an account for access to WRDS resources and datasets. Contact a business librarian.for more information.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is an Internet-based data research service from the Wharton School at the University of Pennslvania. WRDS is a comprehensive web-based data management system that allows faculty and students to easily retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources. WRDS is best known for its holdings of historical financial data from CRSP and Compustat. This data covers over 30,000 companies and includes security prices and trading volume, income and balance sheet items.

Audit Analytics This link opens in a new window
UTA faculty and graduate students are able to request a WRDS account for access to Audit Analytics database. Ask the business librarian, Janet Burka for more information.

All Subject Specific Databases

Request materials not owned by UTA Libraries

ILL (InterLibrary Loan)
Use ILL to get materials not owned by UTA Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Borrowing From Other Libraries
You have access to other libraries in Texas and elsewhere.
Distance Education & Disability Services
We will mail books and resources to you that are held in UTA Libraries.

Can't access library resources?

Connecting from Off-Campus
by Walter Betts Last Updated May 10, 2024 9138 views this year

Citation Linker

Find a specific journal article, journal or book by citation information.